Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 02, 2016, 10:40:40 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: How can I force a process to never start more than once (only one instance) ?  (Read 5705 times)

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hi everybody,
I have a few programs (like Outlook) which sometimes have multiple instances showing up in the task manager... against my will.
Are there any utility which could prevent that from happening ?
Thanks.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2009, 08:26:44 PM by Armando »

majoMO

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I  tried Activate with Outlook and it worked well.

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hey ! That was quick. It seems to work. Thanks  a lot.  :Thmbsup:

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Havent tried this Armando but it also sounds like what you looking for
Skrommel's SingleInstance

Quote
Allow only one instance of a program to run.

Features:
- User defined programs.
- Option to detect hidden programs.
- Won't close instances started before SingleInstance.
Tom

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,089
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
- this makes me ask if  Explorer is meant to run twice - the first one at startup, for the taskbar etcetera, and (later) the second one, for my folders (when I open them)??

Eóin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,401
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
- this makes me ask if  Explorer is meant to run twice - the first one at startup, for the taskbar etcetera, and (later) the second one, for my folders (when I open them)??

That could happen if the "Launch folder windows in a separate process" option is checked under "Folder Options >> View"

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Havent tried this Armando but it also sounds like what you looking for
Skrommel's SingleInstance

Quote
Allow only one instance of a program to run.

Features:
- User defined programs.
- Option to detect hidden programs.
- Won't close instances started before SingleInstance.

AH! this is exactly what I wanted. Thanks a lot Tomos !  :-*

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Skrommel is so far ahead that he makes software even before they are requested. :-* :Thmbsup:

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
 :) yup.

Curt

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 7,089
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
- this makes me ask if  Explorer is meant to run twice
That could happen if the "Launch folder windows in a separate process" option is checked under "Folder Options >> View"

- of course! I forgot about that option; Thanks for reminding me ;-)

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How can I force a process to never start more than once (only one instance) ?
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2009, 01:37:56 AM »
Havent tried this Armando but it also sounds like what you looking for
Skrommel's SingleInstance

Quote
Allow only one instance of a program to run.

Features:
- User defined programs.
- Option to detect hidden programs.
- Won't close instances started before SingleInstance.

AH! this is exactly what I wanted. Thanks a lot Tomos !  :-*


Hmmmm... It works well, but uses a certain amount of CPU power which I'm not sure I'm willing to let go for such a small app.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How can I force a process to never start more than once (only one instance) ?
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2009, 03:01:43 AM »
Hmmmm... It works well, but uses a certain amount of CPU power which I'm not sure I'm willing to let go for such a small app.

how much CPU usage? if possible, get the non-compiled ahk as well and compare the cpu usage.

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How can I force a process to never start more than once (only one instance) ?
« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2009, 10:21:31 AM »
Hmmmm... It works well, but uses a certain amount of CPU power which I'm not sure I'm willing to let go for such a small app.

how much CPU usage? if possible, get the non-compiled ahk as well and compare the cpu usage.

Thanks Lanux.
Not much, hovering between 2 and 4%, but still... My computer isn't that powerful, so any app that continuously take CPU resources is considered unfavourably... Unless it's a absolutely essential.
I'll try your suggestion. Thanks !

majoMO

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How can I force a process to never start more than once (only one instance) ?
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2009, 01:26:32 PM »
uses a certain amount of CPU power which I'm not sure I'm willing to let go for such a small app.
Same here. Too CPU usage and an uneeded and wasted background CPU usage.

I'm using Activate. It does the work to me.

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How can I force a process to never start more than once (only one instance) ?
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2009, 01:38:48 PM »
Yes... I might do some further testing with SingleInstance, but activate seems to work... until then.