Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 02:55:54 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Move Start button and Systray  (Read 3259 times)

ovehal

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Move Start button and Systray
« on: September 24, 2009, 02:37:11 AM »
Hi,

I have moved my taskbar from bottom of screen to the left edge of screen so that I could have more programs open. When the taskbar is at the bottom I soon get the two scroll buttons:-(

But it's a bit hard to get used to having the start button at the top left corner so an app that would allow me to:
- Specify location of the start button: top or bottom
- Specify location of the systray: top or bottom
- Specify location of the taskbar buttons: top or bottom (new buttons apper at top or bottom

mvh
Ove B-)

app103

  • That scary taskbar girl
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,666
    • View Profile
    • App's Apps
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Move Start button and Systray
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2009, 09:06:07 PM »
- Specify location of the taskbar buttons: top or bottom (new buttons apper at top or bottom

That can already be done. I have mine in the middle, with toolbars of buttons both above and below.

Just unlock the taskbar and grab the line and drag it below/above the taskbar buttons.

Screenshot - 11_16_2009 , 10_00_37 PM.pngIDEA: Move Start button and Systray


MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 7,290
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Move Start button and Systray
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2009, 09:33:06 PM »
I don't know if this works in XP but in Vista I made my Taskbar double height and used this tweak to have icons rather than buttons:

http://www.vistax64....ar-icons.html?filter[11]=Taskbar Start Menu


You end up with quite a bit of free space in the middle and have plenty of room for Quick Launch and Task Tray.  I use RocketDock and 7stacks to keep the Quick Launch from filling up.

Target

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,606
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Move Start button and Systray
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2009, 10:30:38 PM »
or, depending on your OS, you could try looking at an alternative shell (eg litestep.  A bit of research should turn up several choices)

they usually have a few more options than the standard windows one...

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Move Start button and Systray
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2009, 10:28:14 AM »
am I the only one that got that he wanted to move the location of the start button and tray area, and not just the open windows? I wouldn't think it would be possible to move them, unless you used an alternative shell like target said
[Insert really cool signature here]