Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 01, 2015, 03:01:10 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Need help switching browsers using FARR  (Read 3398 times)

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Niche Review Blogs
    • Donate to Member
Need help switching browsers using FARR
« on: September 22, 2009, 10:50:48 AM »
I can switch default browsers by right clicking system tray icons just fine.

I want to do the same by using FARR. So I set up the following aliases

Browser Tray Switch - Firefox | C:\Program Files\BrowserTraySwitch\BrowserTraySwitch.exe -switch C:\Program Files\BrowserTraySwitch\BrowserFiles\Firefox.btsregfile
Browser Tray Switch - Maxthon | C:\Program Files\BrowserTraySwitch\BrowserTraySwitch.exe -switch C:\Program Files\BrowserTraySwitch\BrowserFiles\Maxthon.btsregfile

Nothing happens when I use the above. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
<a href="http://www.sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,967
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help switching browsers using FARR
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2009, 01:08:13 PM »
try like this:
Browser Tray Switch - Firefox | C:\Program Files\BrowserTraySwitch\BrowserTraySwitch.exe -switch "C:\Program Files\BrowserTraySwitch\BrowserFiles\Firefox.btsregfile"
Browser Tray Switch - Maxthon | C:\Program Files\BrowserTraySwitch\BrowserTraySwitch.exe -switch "C:\Program Files\BrowserTraySwitch\BrowserFiles\Maxthon.btsregfile"

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Niche Review Blogs
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help switching browsers using FARR
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2009, 11:22:15 PM »
Tried. Nothing happens.
<a href="http://www.sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,967
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Need help switching browsers using FARR
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2009, 11:29:10 PM »
ok i'll look into it -- it should work.
you might try running those commands from the commandline to determine if the fault is with FARR or with browsertrayswitch.