Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 05:53:27 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: How to migrate Palm T3 to Vista?  (Read 1790 times)

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,856
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
How to migrate Palm T3 to Vista?
« on: September 17, 2009, 03:41:25 PM »
I'm migrating from my old Win98SE laptop to a Vista Home Premium one.  I also have a Palm T3 (T/3, T|3) which I've used with my old Win98SE laptop.  Unfortunately
the Palm desktop that comes with the T3 (4.something) doesn't work on Vista.  I downloaded the 6.something desktop that comes with the TX and late model Zire, which does work on Vista, but despite HotSynch saying it had synched correctly, nothing showed in the desktop.  Maybe I missed something, of course.  Palm's Web site is useless, "no free support for (your old model)."

Does anyone know, please, how I could migrate the T3 from Win98SE to Vista?

Thanks...


Hirudin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to migrate Palm T3 to Vista?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2009, 10:38:20 PM »
I wonder if you could use Compatibility mode to run Palm Desktop.
This screenshot is from Windows 7 so it may look a lil' different on Vista.
Screenshot - 9_17_2009 , 9_36_51 PM.png

Another idea is to use a virtual machine to run the software which sounds very inconvenient to me, but I bet it would work.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2009, 10:40:38 PM by Hirudin »

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,856
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to migrate Palm T3 to Vista?
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2009, 03:49:52 PM »
Hmmm, that's two interesting thoughts, Hirudin.  I could try the first one without much trouble.  Thanks!   :)

cyberdiva

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How to migrate Palm T3 to Vista?
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2009, 05:04:57 PM »
In case Hirudin's suggestion doesn't do the trick, you might try the Brighthand forums.  There's one specifically for the Tungsten T series, including the T3.  I have no experience with that forum, but I've found the TX forum there invaluable.  I think the URL is http://forum.brighthand.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1076, but if that doesn't work, back up to Palm --> Older Palm Units --> and find the Tungsten T series.

Good luck!