Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 02, 2015, 09:34:39 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?  (Read 21345 times)

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #25 on: September 28, 2009, 06:10:19 AM »
SKwire, I just downloaded the v1.0.4 version and I have the same problem. I am running Vista Business SP2 on a Compaq V6306 laptop
PST SS.jpg

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #26 on: September 28, 2009, 06:35:03 AM »
Please post the output of the following command:  powercfg /list

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #27 on: September 28, 2009, 07:16:15 AM »
skwire, I would love to but the window only stays open for a few milliseconds and I can't find an output file anywhere. Brian

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #28 on: September 28, 2009, 07:20:27 AM »
skwire, just thought about it, does this help? Brian
PWR Ops.jpg

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #29 on: September 28, 2009, 07:22:22 AM »
skwire, I would love to but the window only stays open for a few milliseconds and I can't find an output file anywhere. Brian

or you can run the command like this (see pic), then copy the result.

powercfg-list-001.png

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #30 on: September 28, 2009, 07:42:55 AM »
skwire, I would love to but the window only stays open for a few milliseconds and I can't find an output file anywhere. Brian

Click Start, Run, type: cmd (and click OK).  A command prompt will pop up.  Please run the command in there and paste the output here.  Thanks.

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #31 on: September 28, 2009, 07:45:47 AM »
Thanx skwire. Here's the output. Brian
pwrcfg.jpg

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #32 on: September 28, 2009, 07:57:39 AM »
Hmmmm...that seems to be the same as the Vista VM i test on (not that I expected any different).  Two things, please:

1) Do the entries in the PST's drop-downs correspond to the GUIDs you see in that output?
2) Please run the following from the Run box:  powercfg /list > c:\output.txt

Attach the output.txt file to your post.  Thanks.

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #33 on: September 28, 2009, 08:06:36 AM »
skwire, I keep getting the message "Access Is Denied". Brian

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #34 on: September 28, 2009, 08:10:47 AM »
You're getting that message where and when?

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #35 on: September 28, 2009, 08:17:35 AM »
skwire, when I try it from the run box I had the command window pop up for about 3ms. and no file was output, so I ran it in a command window and that's the message I recieved.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #36 on: September 28, 2009, 08:21:40 AM »
if you're on Vista, run the command in a console window like this: powercfg /list | clip. this way, the output will be saved onto your clipboard.

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #37 on: September 28, 2009, 08:24:36 AM »
skwire, when I try it from the run box I had the command window pop up for about 3ms. and no file was output, so I ran it in a command window and that's the message I recieved.

Are you running with administrator rights?  I don't have much experience with Vista and the whole UAC thing...

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #38 on: September 28, 2009, 08:33:24 AM »
skwire, yes it is an admin account, but under Vista it is still a limited rights account. Anything that needs admin rights you have to right click Run As Administrator or set it up permenantly by checking a checkbox in the apps. properties dialogue page. The Run box can't be elevated for some reason. Tried powercfg /list | clip and no go. Brian

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #39 on: September 28, 2009, 08:37:21 AM »
I tried it in a command window and it worked. Here is the output.
Existing Power Schemes (* Active)
-----------------------------------
Power Scheme GUID: 381b4222-f694-41f0-9685-ff5bb260df2e  (Balanced)
Power Scheme GUID: 8c5e7fda-e8bf-4a96-9a85-a6e23a8c635c  (High performance)
Power Scheme GUID: a1841308-3541-4fab-bc81-f71556f20b4a  (Power saver)
Power Scheme GUID: b025c261-9aa8-4255-8c88-ecd28797789b  (Defragmant)
Power Scheme GUID: b9b971cb-db7d-48c9-8013-60b526fcee00  (Maddy) *
Power Scheme GUID: c1bc06b5-1812-42bb-ae93-f6fa32661e3f  (HP Recommended)

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #40 on: September 28, 2009, 08:39:11 AM »
Do you have PST installed under your Program Files directory?  If so, move it out of there and try it somewhere else e.g. c:\apps\pst (or something). 

@Lanux: Are you running Vista?  Does PST work for you?  It works for Paarkhi (he's running Vista) and it works for me under a Vista VM.

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #41 on: September 28, 2009, 08:48:39 AM »
Installed it in Program Files and it works. I was using it from my C:\Users\Briandr67\Downloads\DC Program Setups folder. Bloody temperimental Vista. Thanx skwire, Brian

skwire

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,393
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #42 on: September 28, 2009, 08:58:31 AM »
Phew.   :)  I was testing everything I could think of in my VM.  However, this is no reason it shouldn't have worked from your original directory (unless it's some Vista-specific crap).  I even made the exact same folder path you were trying and it worked fine.  Odd.  At any rate, I'm glad you got it working.   :Thmbsup:
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 09:02:40 AM by skwire »

briandr67

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • A Software Junky
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?
« Reply #43 on: September 28, 2009, 09:10:36 AM »
So am I Jody. Thanks for all your help and your patience. Brian

 :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: DC ROCKS  :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: