Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 20, 2014, 09:00:16 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2011! Download 30+ custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Toggle Switch with a Global Hotkey to change Power schemes?  (Read 17857 times)
paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: September 08, 2009, 04:40:43 AM »

After seeing the coders here, I know its not hard to code a Toggle utility with a Customized Global Hotkey which changes the power schemes.

When executed if HIGH PERFORMANCE is active then should change to Powersave and vice-versa

Help Here
How to Geek

Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 09:24:47 AM »

Try this:  PowerSchemeToggler

1) Unpack archive to a folder of your choice.

2) Run PowerSchemeToggler.exe and you'll be presented with a small interface
   that will allow you to choose two profiles to toggle between.  Click the
   "Save and exit" button when done.
   
3) Run PowerSchemeToggler.exe with the -toggle parameter to toggle between
   your chosen schemes.

« Last Edit: September 08, 2009, 09:26:20 AM by skwire » Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 06:57:08 AM »

Sorry Late Feedback due to no net connectivity, it doesn't show the names of Power Schemes but only GUID
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2009, 07:05:00 AM »

I would assume you're running something other than XP?  If so, please post the output of the following command and the OS you're running:

powercfg /list
Logged

skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2009, 08:12:07 AM »

Redownload and try it now.  Man, I really need to set up Vista and Win7 VMs.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2009, 09:04:03 AM »

Still Showing the same, Im on Windows 7 RTM

Existing Power Schemes (* Active)
-----------------------------------
Power Scheme GUID: 381b4222-f694-41f0-9685-ff5bb260df2e  (Balanced)
Power Scheme GUID: 8c5e7fda-e8bf-4a96-9a85-a6e23a8c635c  (High performance) *
Power Scheme GUID: a1841308-3541-4fab-bc81-f71556f20b4a  (Power saver)

Edit: It seems it does nothing, I saved the GUID of Power Saver and High Perforamnce and created a shortcut in the same folder with -toggle params and executed afterwards but nothing changing.

I think Im making mistake somewhere.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2009, 09:09:57 AM by paarkhi » Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2009, 12:48:49 PM »

I installed a Vista VM and I believe I have it working properly under Vista (and, I would assume, Win7).  Please redownload and let me know.
Logged

MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,841



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2009, 08:52:17 PM »

skwire, if you come out with a Pro version, please add a feature to switch from exigency to altruism.

 beerchug
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: September 09, 2009, 09:34:31 PM »

I'm actually thinking of adding a TrayTip option that will give the user some feedback that a switch, indeed, did take place.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2009, 12:35:05 AM »

The only change I could see is now it shows Names of Power Schemes instead of GUID but it doesn't work.
created a shortcut in the same folder with -toggle but not working
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2009, 12:46:03 AM »

Does your shortcut look like this?

Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2009, 02:12:50 AM »

Yes here's an attached image


* Capture.JPG (16.8 KB, 348x144 - viewed 418 times.)
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2009, 02:24:53 AM »

I'm not sure what could be wrong.  I tested this in Vista and it's also been tested under Win7.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2009, 02:48:38 AM »

Only can assure you that it works on XPSP2 VM, Tried personally Sad
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2009, 02:55:50 AM »

After you run the app and select the schemes, does it create the config.ini in the same folder?  If so, are the contents of it correct?
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: September 10, 2009, 03:11:07 AM »

The Error was on my system and had to reset the power config options.
Thank you it has started working.

PowerCFG Reset file if you want (just change the .txt to .reg)

* powercfgrestore.txt (14.17 KB - downloaded 286 times.)
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2009, 03:14:41 AM »

Fantastic.  I was thinking of adding an option that would create a TrayTip on toggle just so you know it switched.  Would you like something like that?
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2009, 06:51:26 AM »

Ofcourse,  cheesy If it doesn't take much of your time then Yes, after all who doesn't like an additional feature
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2009, 02:58:06 AM »

v1.0.3 - 2009-09-11
    + Added "Create shortcut" button.
    + Added tray tip on toggle option.


« Last Edit: November 09, 2009, 03:39:20 AM by skwire » Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2009, 06:36:45 AM »

Shortcut created succesfully but No luck with the tray Tip
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2009, 07:31:21 AM »

Hmmm...works fine under XP.  Please re-download and try once more.  The version of the executable should be 1.0.3.2 this time.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2009, 08:59:24 AM »

Yes it is (Version) Downloaded from SKWIRE EMPIRE because I couldn't find the Link here in this forum, but not showing.
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: September 11, 2009, 02:25:06 PM »

One more re-download, please.  v1.0.3.6.  I added another tweak that I hope makes it work for you.  Also, you may have to disable/enable the balloon tips for your system as demonstrated here:  http://www.vistax64.com/t...-tips-enable-disable.html

I was able to make the balloon tips work under my main XP system as well as a Vista VM.  Apologies for the trouble and thanks for your patience.
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2009, 12:59:29 AM »

Surely Going to Give a Try and please don't apologize, it is me who should do, because Im harassing you with all my requests and will give you the feedback soon

Edit: Working Perfectly OK, Thank you for that
« Last Edit: September 12, 2009, 01:29:23 AM by paarkhi » Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,077



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: September 12, 2009, 10:11:12 PM »

Edit: Working Perfectly OK, Thank you for that

Great to hear.  Thanks for testing.  Website|Download

v1.0.4 - 2009-09-12
    + Added a tweak to make the balloon tip work more reliably under Vista
      and Win7.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2009, 03:39:51 AM by skwire » Logged

Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.07 ]