Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 23, 2014, 01:38:21 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: SuperDuperRoboPrinter  (Read 17475 times)
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: September 10, 2009, 02:58:12 AM »

I don't use Vista, (don't even like using Windows.....), but are you saying that the imageviewer is having issues printing through Vista?  Let me know and I'll take a look (I'm sure I can find a friend or family member that uses Vista....)

Let me know....
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
testingman1
Participant
*
Posts: 11

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: September 11, 2009, 12:07:15 PM »

Hi awopbamboo.  Thank you for this cool proggy!  I can't believe more folks aren't interested in this SuperDuperRoboPrinter proggy yet... or maybe they just aren't saying anything yet.  Oh well... I think its pretty neat!   Thmbsup  I was having some trouble spitting out PSD files in Vista but that's really not necessary.  The files can just be converted to PNGs anyway.  I have a question now... Is making a proggy like this in my future if I keep up with batch scripting or do I really need to move on to vbs scripting or some other language?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,581



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: September 11, 2009, 12:14:38 PM »

Great program.

Couple of suggestions:
1. make simple readme file with your apps and put it in a zip with the app, with any links for more help that you want to provide
2. make about box in your apps

link to anything you want -- the thread on the forum or to your web page, whatever you want, just something so people know where to find more info if they stumble across the program somehow.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,581



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: September 11, 2009, 12:17:52 PM »

What does it do after printing? delete the file or remember it so it wont print again?
Suggestion: an option that moves it to a subdirectory called "Printed" which it never scans.
Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: September 11, 2009, 01:32:06 PM »

I have a question now... Is making a proggy like this in my future if I keep up with batch scripting or do I really need to move on to vbs scripting or some other language?

Well, not sure what you are using for your batch scripting?  I used Delphi to write this, I believe you can download a free version off of Borlands website.

Also though, I mainly use Lazarus with the FPC (freepascal) compiler.  Its great and its free.  The only reason I didn't use Freepascal for this was because I seem to have a problem getting the list of printers with it.  That would have been me at fault NOT Lazarus!

Spend a bit of time learning something like this, I find them easy to learn.  If I do, then so will everyone else!


Great program.

Couple of suggestions:
1. make simple readme file with your apps and put it in a zip with the app, with any links for more help that you want to provide
2. make about box in your apps

link to anything you want -- the thread on the forum or to your web page, whatever you want, just something so people know where to find more info if they stumble across the program somehow.

Good ideas.  I'll add them this weekend.

What does it do after printing? delete the file or remember it so it wont print again?
Suggestion: an option that moves it to a subdirectory called "Printed" which it never scans.

There is a checkbox/tickbox that says 'Shred files'.  If you click this the files will be deleted.  Although I like the idea of moving them instead.  perhaps I'll add that.

J.
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: September 15, 2009, 06:26:52 AM »

last version is much better awopbamboo
At the moment though, it prints everything in subdirectories as well - even without 'Include Subdirs' ticked
Logged

Tom
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: September 15, 2009, 06:37:04 AM »

last version is much better awopbamboo
At the moment though, it prints everything in subdirectories as well - even without 'Include Subdirs' ticked



Does it!  Better sort that!!!   Sad
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: September 15, 2009, 06:49:13 AM »

For PDF's it works very nicely Thmbsup

 . . but unfortunately with tiffs - they get printed to fullpage size, regardless of the actual size of the image (I havent tested any other image files but presume it's the same)
When I open the print dialogue box and look at the print queue, I see:
Full page print. I presume it's using the 'Photo printing wizard' (XP home) which doesnt give an option to print at actual size Sad

If I remove tiff extension from the list to print with windows image viewer, the file simply opens in the viewer and nothing more happens (I must check file associations again)
Logged

Tom
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: September 15, 2009, 07:07:05 AM »

There is an edit box on the main screen, any file extensions shown there and Super printing thingy will use the windows image viewer to try and print the file, not matter what that extension is associated with.  If .tiff is shown there, try removing it and see if windows tries to use anything else to print.  o, then associate with something better to print.

the problem is, someone else was having the issue earlier that hat their files were associated with was then coming up with the print dialog.  It seems to be a no win situation, unless you can associate with something half decent.

I use Paint Shop Pro, and that seems ok....

I'll look and see if there is a way pf printing actualy size with the image viewer...  No doubt someone will come back later and they want to print full size with it!!!  Ho hum...
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,114



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: September 15, 2009, 07:10:32 AM »

I'll look and see if there is a way pf printing actualy size with the image viewer...  No doubt someone will come back later and they want to print full size with it!!!  Ho hum...

Welcome to the wonderful world of Coding Snacks.   cheesy
Logged

awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: September 15, 2009, 07:46:43 AM »

. . but unfortunately with tiffs - they get printed to fullpage size, regardless of the actual size of the image (I havent tested any other image files but presume it's the same)

Associate Tiffs to mspaint, they print actual size then. 

I'm looking to see if there is a way I can get it to do it with the image printer, no luck yet..
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: September 15, 2009, 08:15:38 AM »

... If I remove tiff extension from the list to print with windows image viewer, the file simply opens in the viewer and nothing more happens ...
unfortunately this still the case.

Gotta say here that my (image) file associations have often been problematic (I suspect Dopus8 complicates things but not sure) - now I cant seem to get the PAint association to stick. Photoshop does work as default programme (i.e. it opens the file) but with that set as default, your app still opens the file in Windows Viewer (with no further action).

Will have another look later today, thanks for the help!
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: September 16, 2009, 06:06:53 AM »

I seem to have sorted out my file association problems. Double click a tiff or tif file now opens in paint.

Unfortunately SuperDuperRoboPrinter (can I call it SDRP from now on?!) still doesnt work for tiffs.
  • Open SDRP. Remove .tiff from the list of extensions.*
  • First attempt with just one tiff file in the monitored folder, nothing happens.
  • Second attempt, it opens again in the windows viewer.

This probably related
:
I notice that removing the extension from the list of extensions doenst stick - if I click "save settings" and reopen SDRP, .tiff is there again. Ironically though the tiff files I have - they have a .tif extension (just one 'f'). I dont know could that be a factor - I dont think so but..
Logged

Tom
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: September 16, 2009, 07:21:51 AM »

Yes, .tiff and .tif will be different, so both need to be there or not there.

I know the list of file extensions are not saved, I need to add that!  cheesy

I want to tidy up a bit anyway, I'll do a bit more testing with different file types etc but so far, they have all worked for me.  BTW, are you using Vista or XP?
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: September 16, 2009, 07:46:42 AM »

XP home SP2 but otherwise uptodate

As I said above, I have had problems before with file association which I suspect are related to Directory Opus (version 8 ) which replaces Windows Explorer on my machine. (Explorer still runs but Dopus intercepts calls to Explorer and replaces it then - this shouldn't effect SDRP (?), but I wouldn't know!)
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: September 20, 2009, 10:13:47 AM »

hi awopbamboo
you'll be cursing me undecided Wink

If you select "Shred file" (with PDFs at any rate) the files get deleted before they get printed - i.e. adobe reader cant print them.
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,607



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: September 20, 2009, 10:26:49 AM »


just sent some credits your way awopbamboo -
not to bribe you into more work on it smiley but because you just saved me from having to open about 30 PDFs and print them individually Thmbsup
Logged

Tom
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #42 on: September 24, 2009, 03:13:35 AM »

just sent some credits your way awopbamboo -
not to bribe you into more work on it smiley but because you just saved me from having to open about 30 PDFs and print them individually Thmbsup

Thanks, that is very much appreciated.....


One more updated attached.  This fixes (I think) most/all of the issues mentioned above.  Now it also minimises to the systray, which is a bit tidier.  Read accompanying readme file in the zip file to see what else I changed.  I have changed/fixed other things that I may have forgotten to mention in the readme.....

Cheers

J.

* SuperDuperRoboPrinter20090924.zip (231.26 KB - downloaded 208 times.)
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #43 on: September 24, 2009, 03:41:15 AM »

Er, somehow I managed to stop the program printing at all in the dowload above! 

This one should now sork...

Sorry!

J.

* SuperDuperRoboPrinter20090924.2.zip (320.93 KB - downloaded 156 times.)
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,581



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #44 on: September 24, 2009, 03:59:57 AM »

did we set up dc member space for you yet, awop?
i ask because having different versioned attachments in a thread, rather than a link to a download page or file, sometimes leads to some confusion when people download older versions.  just a suggestion.  thumbs up
Logged
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #45 on: September 24, 2009, 04:14:14 AM »

Good point...  Yes, it is set up.. Just haven't got round to using it... Will do later...
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
mediaguycouk
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 244


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #46 on: November 03, 2009, 05:19:24 AM »

Wow, wow, wow, wow, wow.

I love this site, have some credits.
Logged

Learning C# - Graham Robinson
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #47 on: November 03, 2009, 05:26:52 AM »

Thank you.
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
mediaguycouk
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 244


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #48 on: November 03, 2009, 05:45:57 AM »

Is there a command that will start the program with the autoscheduler on? For putting in the startup folder and then forgetting about it?
Logged

Learning C# - Graham Robinson
awopbamboo
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 112



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #49 on: November 03, 2009, 06:02:35 AM »

Nope, but I can add that if you like?
Logged

_____________________________________________
J.
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.04s | Server load: 0.15 ]