Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 18, 2014, 05:32:29 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2012! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: DONE: Right Click any file and create New Folder by its Name  (Read 61472 times)
gebeleisis
Participant
*
Posts: 12

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #75 on: April 25, 2010, 05:13:41 PM »

I love this app! Thank u!
   I was wondering if for multiple files selected is possible to have for the first option "move all the files into a subfolder named:" a list of the names taken from the files and the default name would be the one chose with the right click?

Once again, thank u for a wonderful app!
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,176



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #76 on: April 25, 2010, 11:06:48 PM »

I was wondering if for multiple files selected is possible to have for the first option "move all the files into a subfolder named:" a list of the names taken from the files and the default name would be the one chose with the right click?

This is an interesting idea that I'm hesitant to implement because of a potentially high number of selected files.  For example, if a user had thousands of files selected, this would cause a rather noticeable delay for your list to be populated.  Does that make sense?

Once again, thank u for a wonderful app!

You're welcome.  I'm glad you're finding it useful.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2010, 06:40:30 AM by skwire » Logged

gebeleisis
Participant
*
Posts: 12

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #77 on: April 25, 2010, 11:19:23 PM »

Ok, I never thought about that possibility...Hmmm...
How about to be there only the name of the file chosen  to activate F2F and if it is not the desired name we will write down, like we already do?
Logged
Prep
Participant
*
Posts: 17

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #78 on: April 28, 2010, 04:50:16 PM »

mateek, re 64-bit -  I pushed my luck and although it installed as advised I receive a pop-up "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Please install a program or, if one already installed, create an association in the Default Programs control panel".
This happens with any file/s selected.
I love the concept but it seems that 64-bit again losing out. Ever since upgrading to W7 Pro 64-bit any context prog a challenge. The program writers will most probably know the reasons.
Logged
Prep
Participant
*
Posts: 17

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #79 on: April 29, 2010, 05:42:41 PM »

I retract all I've said, it is a small masterpiece! Thmbsup
Another prog that is 100% W7 64-bit compatible, running fine in all aspects.
Must have been finger trouble on my side.
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,176



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #80 on: April 29, 2010, 06:09:29 PM »

Sooo...did you have to do anything special to get it working?  Run first as administrator, perhaps?  I don't have Windows7 or a 64-bit version of anything with which to test with.
Logged

Prep
Participant
*
Posts: 17

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #81 on: April 30, 2010, 03:03:53 PM »

W7 64-bit unique and very freaky, anything written for XP and/or Vista 64-bit no guarantee it will run under W7 64-bit. As I'm a context maniac I'm forever evaluating any such applications and most of the time it fails. The list is veeeery long. Sad to say but most programmers since XP days gave up and their hard work changed to shelfware. Iconoid such an example but Highrez managed to convert it successfully to W7 64-bit.
I did nothing special to enable Files 2 Folder to run so neatly although I've disabled UAC (permanently) and I've set all/everything to classic mode. With other words any available W7 "cute" options tweaked out completely. My desktop seldom with less than 200 icons, etc but since Files 2 Folder it improved. Using a dual monitor setup (21" & 25.5") it can become very busy.
I am running as admin but my security sector loaded above normal. To play with context options very risky because they have impact on each other and can really mess around within the registry.
Wish I could be of more assistance but at this stage I'm very thankful that Files 2 Folder such a breakthrough.
Logged
nogojoe
Charter Member
***
Posts: 136


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #82 on: May 01, 2010, 10:19:30 PM »

This is a great idea for a program.  Thanks paarkhi and skwire!  I tried this last night, but nothing showed up in my context menu.  I figured when I rebooted in the morning it'd show up.  I did find the 'Files 2 Folder' entry, but ONLY in the Quick Launch items context menus!  The files on my Desktop didn't have the entry, and trying the context menu with an open Explorer didn't help.

At this point I'd like to ask what might prove to make me look stupid, but where are the hidden settings?  I've used a lot of stuff I haven't been shy messing with as far as settings, like Rainlender, Sumarize, etc.  I tried opening Files2Folder.exe in ResHacker, but didn't see them there.  I didn't see a folder in 'Application Data.'  I thought maybe I had to point to the desktop or something, although that really doesn't make any sense.

I should add my context menus are a bit jazzed up.  I use MMM+, and Folder Guide.  Would that interfere with the registration process?  Also, I hadn't quite read down here far enough to figure out I should've answered Yes when the initial prompt to register appeared.  I said No on the first run, and when I realized my mistake went back and said Yes on the second run.  Like I said, the entry did appear after in one context menu, just not everywhere.

Anyone have any ideas?

I couldn't get it to go until I uninstalled Folder Guide,  MMM and another context menu program MooO  so there must be a correlation between having Context menu programs and Files2Folders
So will settle with the latter its the one I would have the most use for.
Thanks skwire another good program..
Logged

Often the most convincing people are those who have lost the plot so much they don't recognize the difference between fact and fantasy
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,176



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #83 on: May 01, 2010, 10:48:34 PM »

I couldn't get it to go until I uninstalled Folder Guide,  MMM and another context menu program MooO  so there must be a correlation between having Context menu programs and Files2Folders

I honestly have no idea why it won't work with those other apps installed.

Thanks skwire another good program..

You're welcome.  I'm glad folks find it useful.
Logged

Contro
Participant
*
Posts: 2,186

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #84 on: June 30, 2010, 09:14:14 AM »

As I told Skwire I think this is an interesting application for reorganize folders and ideas.
Splendid the option to multi select and ask for the final folder.
We can do many things.
But may be improved this particular :
When I select a shortcut or more the program acts over the original path , not over the archive the shortcut represent.
To my surprise i began to make proofs over the portable icon of Files2folder in my desktop.
The result is that the program path is modified and therefore I was thinking that something was going wrong. Just because the program let off going well.
For the purposes this splendid program from Skwire is extension of , or in the same line, or similar, or complement, or supplementary ( undecided )   to CreateShortCutsIn from Ewemoa.
The splendid script from Ewemoa is also very useful for reorganize my folders and my mind.
I am using both program and have additional new ideas I will communicate in two months, but I think is necessary to protect the shortcuts and don't affect the original file path.

Best Regards.

P.D. Going for Text2Folders .  tongue


* screenshot.30-06-2010 15.04.42.png (259.69 KB, 1277x909 - viewed 355 times.)
« Last Edit: June 30, 2010, 09:16:42 AM by Contro » Logged
tpr
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #85 on: October 28, 2010, 05:28:23 AM »

Thanks for this great app Skwire!

Is there a command line switch to install it silently (like -u for uninstall)? If no, any chance to be? smiley

Thanks

tpr
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,176



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #86 on: October 28, 2010, 09:52:26 AM »

Thanks for this great app Skwire!

You're welcome.

Is there a command line switch to install it silently (like -u for uninstall)? If no, any chance to be? smiley
Thanks
tpr

Currently, no, there isn't.  Did you have need to deploy this on many computers or something?
Logged

tpr
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #87 on: October 28, 2010, 10:23:45 AM »

Thanks for the quick reply.

No, I just only wanted to include it in my own Assox config (see http://sites.google.com/site/assoxhome/). So when I run Assox I could install F2F without extra clicks.

I'm using a PowerPro context item to achieve the same effect but F2F seems more sophisticated.
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,176



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #88 on: October 28, 2010, 10:50:43 AM »

Website | Download
v1.0.7 - 2010-10-28
    + Added a -s switch to allow for silent installs of Files 2 Folder.
      (Thanks, tpr)


I think that should do it for you.  =]
Logged

tpr
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #89 on: October 28, 2010, 02:21:37 PM »

That was fast! Many thanks!

It works fine, but I might found two bugs:

1. (minor) After double-clicking on the exe, a shortcut is created even if "No" was selected. It's not logical to me but makes no harm after all.

2. If F2F is already in the system, running the exe again (without cmd params) will cause the application run in the background (no dialog is shown). But perhaps it is only on my comp.

(+ a very small request: how about "-u -s")?

Anyway, thanks again, and keep up the good work!
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,176



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #90 on: October 28, 2010, 04:59:21 PM »

Thanks for the feedback.  Try this version, please.

Website | Download
v1.0.8 - 2010-10-28
    + Added a -su switch to silently uninstall Files 2 Folder.  However,
      if there is a problem uninstalling the extension, a message box will
      pop up.  (Thanks, tpr)
    ! Fixed an issue where sometimes the Files 2 Folder process would stay
      resident and not exit.  (Thanks, tpr)
Logged

tpr
Participant
*
Posts: 7


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #91 on: October 29, 2010, 04:34:49 AM »

It seems to do the job well, thanks!

On my lappy I noticed some weird things but neither of them are present on another comp, so I guess it is not related to F2F. I'll report if I find something though.

Thanks again!
Logged
Contro
Participant
*
Posts: 2,186

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #92 on: October 30, 2010, 03:40:06 AM »

In my pc in the desktop don't offer the option :

C:\Documents and Settings\JOSE\Escritorio\Manual_De_Reparaci_n_PC.pdf

There is no option in the context menu files 2 folder.

What Am I doing bad ?

Logged
briandr67
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 29


A Software Junky

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #93 on: January 11, 2011, 09:04:28 PM »

Skwire, I just tried to put a shortcut into a folder, (under Start Menu) using Files2Folder and it put the actual .exe file not the shortcut into a folder where the proram is installed. Is this by design or is this a glitch? Brian
PS: I am using a Dell Inspiron 1545 notebook running Win 7 Home Premium x64
« Last Edit: January 13, 2011, 04:54:50 AM by briandr67 » Logged
Harpagon
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #94 on: February 24, 2011, 10:32:03 AM »

Can't get this working in W7 64 bit. Is files2folder compatible?
Otherwise I like to uninstall and I don't know how to do it. Can't find any files.
Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,176



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #95 on: February 24, 2011, 10:55:15 AM »

Can't get this working in W7 64 bit. Is files2folder compatible?

Welcome to the site, Harpagon.  Under Windows 7, you need to run this with administrator privileges.  Are you doing that?
Logged

paarkhi
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 87


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #96 on: February 27, 2011, 06:25:40 AM »

First of all lots of greetings to SKwire for coding this and Happy to see the active development even after the initial build release 1.5 years ago.
My request still remains that it would be very kind of you, if you can include even folders in the right click for this program
Thank you either way for creating such beautiful program which I regularly use
Logged
Harpagon
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #97 on: March 02, 2011, 07:11:58 PM »

Didn't get you reply Skwire. Thx for the respons.

I have -files 2 folder- as shell extension. Nothing more.

"The file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action..."

Logged
briandr67
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 29


A Software Junky

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #98 on: March 02, 2011, 09:43:33 PM »

Hey skwire, I'm still waiting for a reply to my Jan 12 post above.............. And Harpagon, it works well for me on W7 x64 Home Premium with exception above. Brian








                           
« Last Edit: March 02, 2011, 09:56:56 PM by briandr67 » Logged
skwire
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,176



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #99 on: March 02, 2011, 11:59:28 PM »

"The file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action..."

It sounds like you moved the Files2Folder executable after registering the shell extension.  Try unregistering using the automatically generated shortcut and then re-registering.

Hey skwire, I'm still waiting for a reply to my Jan 12 post above.............. And Harpagon, it works well for me on W7 x64 Home Premium with exception above. Brian

Yes, this is a glitch and I've tried a few copy/move methods to fix it (with no success).  I think about the only way to handle it would be to recreate the shortcut in the target folder and then delete the original LNK file.
Logged

Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.045s | Server load: 0 ]