Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 08:24:52 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Problem with new version 1.05.01  (Read 4911 times)

jacquesrober

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Problem with new version 1.05.01
« on: July 08, 2009, 10:40:56 AM »
I have installed the new version of desktop coral (1.05.01) and I am using Win patrol to control startup options. Desktop coral wants to start as an:autorun (desktopcoral.exe/autorun). I have tried different ways to allow desktop coral to run at start up without getting the windows error message. at boot xp shows me an error screen asking what is the unknown parameter '/autorun' and as I click off the error message, desktop coral exits. I have not changed anything on the system before or after installing the new version. Everything was fine with the older version. I use desktop coral to protect a small space on the right of the screen to allow scrolling within apps. without needlessly activating  "RocketDock".
Is the older version available?
Regards,
Jacques.
JR

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with new version 1.05.01
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2009, 10:43:23 AM »
i remember this problem happening in another program of mine.. it is strange.
perhaps you could try turning off the "start with windows" option in Desktop Coral, and then just making a shortcut yourself to the program in your Startup subdirectory of your Start Menu.

or if you can wait a bit i will add code to Desktop Coral to ignore the silly "/autorun" parameter that seems to cause this problem.

KEEF

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with new version 1.05.01
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2009, 07:43:38 AM »
I also got an error message when I set DesktopCoral to start with windows... I'm not sure if it's exactly what jaquesrober was talking about or a different problem. I'm just using the basic Windoze startup (no fancy programs like Winpatrol or anything). This is the exact message I get at startup:

"ERROR in commandline: Unknown parameter '/autorun' -- should be from,
[floatpos,monitorid,placement,dockwidth,dockheight]"

Also, ever since I started using DesktopCoral, my nVidia System Monitors all seem to have disappeared... it looks like they're being shoved up above the top of the screen (ie. above the Coral window, and inaccessible). Is this a compatibility bug with this particular program? Because the whole point of downloading DesktopCoral was to make space for my System Monitor displays!

jacquesrober

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with new version 1.05.01
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2009, 09:52:17 AM »

Quote
"ERROR in commandline: Unknown parameter '/autorun' -- should be from,
[floatpos,monitorid,placement,dockwidth,dockheight]"

This is the same error screen I get at boot.
Jacquesrober
JR

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with new version 1.05.01
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2009, 10:28:43 AM »
i will release a fix today or tomorrow for the /autorun thing.

as for the nvidia system monitors i'm not sure what you mean.. does the problem occur even if you start desktop coral after the nvidia utility is running?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with new version 1.05.01
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2009, 08:11:33 PM »
new version uploaded (v1.06.01), hopefully will fix this problem.

jacquesrober

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem with new version 1.05.01
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2009, 09:40:02 AM »
I installed the new v1.06.01 and the /autorun does not present a problem anymore. Win patrol still asks if I will allow desktop coral.exe/autorun to run at boot, but in the Win patrol startup section info, the .exe /autorun version is displayed in the disabled section, while the .exe version is in the allowed section. If I remove the disabled version (.exe/autorun) from the disabled list, it shuts off desktop coral altogether. So I just leave it both in the startup section (.exe) and the disabled section (.exe/autorun) of WinPatrol.
Different but functional.
Thanks for the correction.
Jacques.
JR