Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 12:55:32 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Bug in launching 64-bit software.  (Read 3786 times)

kli6891

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« on: July 03, 2009, 10:29:56 PM »
Hi, I encountered a bug while using FARR on a 64bit Windows 7 PC.

It seems that whenever I try to launch a 64bit application (e.g. Zune, Photoshop, VirtualBox), the launching fails. Also the program icon also doesn't show up.

If I right click on the item and select "Copy Target Path (Ctrl+C)", and paste it somewhere, the path is incorrect; it leads to C:\Program Files (x86)\, when it really should be C:\Program Files.

See screenshots, in case I'm not being clear.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2009, 10:31:25 PM »
Thanks Kli,

it seems you've confirmed (and explained clearly) the problem that also seems to be at the root of this thread:
http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=18579.0

I'll see if it can't get it fixed this weekend.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2009, 02:31:23 PM »
If you (or anyone) could find a *small* x64 application that causes this behavior, it would really help testing.

kli6891

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2009, 03:03:21 PM »
Off the top of the head, I can think of paint.NET, and locate32 64bit with the installer version. Locate32 is smaller of the two.


mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2009, 03:48:29 PM »
Can you try this version and see if it solves the problem:
http://www.donationc...AndRunRobotSetup.exe

kli6891

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2009, 04:21:17 PM »
Unfortunately, the same problem still exists. :(

The about screen shows v2.69.01, in case I'm using the wrong version.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2009, 04:42:51 PM »
this seems to fix the problem on my win xp 64 vmware.
i dont know why the fix wouldn't work on win7 x64.. sigh..
i guess il have to make another vm and try again.. thank you bill gates.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2009, 04:47:15 PM »
ok i can confirm the problem remains on win7 x64; should have a fix in 10-20 minutes, stay tuned.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2009, 06:51:43 PM »

kli6891

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2009, 07:55:59 PM »
It indeed fixed the problem! Thanks.  :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2009, 07:58:20 PM »
Now i wait for the reports of the things i broke in the process of fixing this :)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Bug in launching 64-bit software.
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2009, 08:02:18 PM »
btw the problem seemed to be that there is a flaw in the shortcut resolution in windows 7 (and other x64 OS flavors)..

it seems to return "Program Files (x86)" in the paths of .lnk files when resolved by a win32 app, regardless of the true application directory of the program.. bad show.

so basically farr now checks to see which of the program files directories the file *really* resides in and doesn't trust the .lnk file.

this is relatively straightforward except that it required some changes in the icon display (since previously farr just asked the OS for the icon index of the .lnk file), and more importantly required me to overide the launch options on the General tab and force FARR to not try to launch (.lnk) shortcuts if they are of this type, and instead resolve the shortcut and launch the exe directly in such cases.  pain.

« Last Edit: July 04, 2009, 08:24:16 PM by mouser »