Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 02, 2015, 05:37:01 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Resources low  (Read 3872 times)

Prep

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Resources low
« on: December 23, 2005, 06:48:53 AM »
I'm trying to use/test SC under extreme conditions and therefore I have a resource problem. Older technology - W98SE, low RAM - 256MB, too many installed progs and fonts and a heavy load of start-up progs/dll's (x219 processes - re Autoruns v8.4.2). I do not have any games, PnP or Norton installed. Rather amazing that my puter still running. Normal defragging done regularly.

My problem is that I can (hot) start SC, make a capture or three but once closed completely it is not long before all becomes so sluggish that I have to reboot to restore my resources. This only happens with SC because I also use Photoshop and that is notorious for resource hogging.
I've done a Registry hack with 'AlwaysUnloadDll' but that had no effect on SC.
Any tips?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,977
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resources low
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2005, 06:01:03 AM »
hmm...
sc really should let its memory go once you minimize it to the tray, and it doesnt keep multiple images open so it really shouldnt be eating up lots of memory..

BUT having said that.. WIN98SE - OUCH!!!
one of the happiest days of my life was getting rid of win98 and its constant lost of resources requiring reboots.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resources low
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2005, 06:07:05 AM »
Hm, mouser, could be that some of the components you use in SC leak handles? Especially GDI related leaks are notorious for bringing 9x to it's knees...
- carpe noctem

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,977
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resources low
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2005, 06:10:22 AM »
it's always possible.. i can do a little hunting later and see what i can find..

Prep

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resources low
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2006, 05:06:17 AM »
Sorry folk for that bit of off topic question. What makes my problem worse is that I need to start and close SC repeatedly. I'm writing a whole series of mht help files for a friend on how to master SC. Due to my resource hassle I close SC before I open KeyNote again.
It is strange when you use a prog, such as SC, you just click and click and you have you screenshot with arrows, borders, shadows, etc. All without thinking. When you need to explain each step with applicable screenshots, without omitting one single click or variation of an option it is a horse of a dif colour.

Mouser, I started googling around with resource and 98 words and it is disgusting (re f0dder), I also need to make a 'happiest day'.
I used the resource meter of Windows and and it seems as if SC not involved. i.e. with my little knowledge of the subject.
The figures below are System resources / User resources / GDI resources:
At startup it is 47/47/77
Opening SC - 23/23/57
After closing SC - 47/47/74
Opening KeyNote - 38/38/67
After closing KeyNote - 47/47/72
I cannot run both at the same time.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resources low
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2006, 05:22:53 AM »
Hm, seems like there's serious leaks in both apps :/

Have you tried waiting a few minutes to see if the resources are freed later?
- carpe noctem

Prep

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resources low
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2006, 07:42:05 AM »
Sad but true, nothing being returned. I actually kept working and also opened/closed IE, OE and XnView in between.
Figures now read 43/43/47 after deleting cached files.

I this minute opened SC and it is 14/14/28 and after closing SC it is 42/42/45.
Going down, time for a reboot. I suppose that that is 98 and I have to live with it if I want to keep 98 on this puter :-)

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 8,858
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resources low
« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2006, 07:51:35 AM »
Well, GDI leaks *are* notoriously bad on 9x - most other program leaks tend to be fixed when a program terminates, but not always so with GDI. It *is* a program problem that the leaks are there in the first place, but the cause of GDI leaks can be so damn subtle that they're hard to find :(
- carpe noctem

Prep

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2005
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Resources low
« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2006, 08:52:02 AM »
Thanks f0dder for yr info, much appreciated. I'll search around for a prog with which I can do a faster soft reboot. It is not a solution but...