Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site December 19, 2014, 03:28:59 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Bug? general instability  (Read 2591 times)
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,794


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 19, 2009, 04:34:36 PM »

I've been using LBC at work for a while now with no problems.  Now, for the first time in a while, I stuck my USB into my home computer and launched LBC.  Nothing showed up (none of my launchbars).  So I kept running LBC, about 4 times I think.  Then my computer slowed to a crawl because my CPU usage went to 100%, with each LBC instance taking up 25%.  So I had to restart, I couldn't do anything.  Then I tried to run LBC again (just once this time), and again nothing happened.  I checked CPU usage and it showed LBC using 25% again.  This is on my new 4 GB Ram, quad core cpu computer.  So something is wrong.  I updated the files to the latest LBC version, and it did the same thing again.  What can be the problem?
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,772



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2009, 04:38:15 PM »

i wonder if its this issue of changed drive letters not being resolved properly, and yet LBC trying to resolve them.. maybe network drive slowdown if LBC is looking on network drives for files?

can you test this theory by starting LBC without any launchbars and creating a new one or two and seeing if there is any problem doing that?
(you may have to delete the mcp file or .ini in order to start it without it loading your old files, or delete your old files).
needless to say: back up your files first.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2009, 04:42:52 PM by mouser » Logged
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,794


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2009, 08:00:32 PM »

i wonder if its this issue of changed drive letters not being resolved properly, and yet LBC trying to resolve them.. maybe network drive slowdown if LBC is looking on network drives for files?

can you test this theory by starting LBC without any launchbars and creating a new one or two and seeing if there is any problem doing that?
(you may have to delete the mcp file or .ini in order to start it without it loading your old files, or delete your old files).
needless to say: back up your files first.
I'm not using any network drive programs.  I'll try your suggestion out.
Logged

superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,794


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2009, 08:02:32 PM »

I don't know if this is the same, but LBC works fine when I use the locally installed version on my home pc with it's own toolbar.
Logged

superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,794


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2009, 08:07:24 PM »

i wonder if its this issue of changed drive letters not being resolved properly, and yet LBC trying to resolve them.. maybe network drive slowdown if LBC is looking on network drives for files?

can you test this theory by starting LBC without any launchbars and creating a new one or two and seeing if there is any problem doing that?
(you may have to delete the mcp file or .ini in order to start it without it loading your old files, or delete your old files).
needless to say: back up your files first.
OK, it works when I delete those files and start from scratch.

But, when I try to load my previously configured launchbar files, the application hangs and goes back to full 25% cpu usage.  I have to force it to close.
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,772



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2009, 08:48:11 PM »

ok well im guessing thats the problem, let me investigate.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.028s | Server load: 0.17 ]