Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 30, 2014, 04:16:43 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Command-line parameters?  (Read 7097 times)
kati42
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 19, 2009, 11:16:22 AM »

I'm trying to use DesktopCoral with Rainmeter, but because I'm a convertible tablet user, I have odd needs.  Wink  Basically, I need to move the reserved area depending on the screen orientation (landscape vs. portrait), and resize it based on that orientation as well.

If I could give DesktopCoral command-line parameters to set the size, location, docking, etc, then I could have a sidebar when in landscape mode, and a top bar in portrait mode (without having to go into DesktopCoral settings)...

The biggest challenge might be changing the current instance instead of creating a second one (ie, now when I run it twice I get two copies).

Actually, multiple instances would be nice too (but less critical) - there could be an ID given at the command line, and if it matches an active instance, it changes that instance.  If it doesn't, it creates a new instance with those parameters.

Anyway, this would be very helpful to me, and probably other Tablet users as well.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2009, 01:17:08 PM »

commandline support would be pretty easy to add, let me go ahead and do that.
Logged
kati42
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2009, 10:01:00 PM »

That would be awesome, and would really help my tablet usability!

Thanks!!
Logged
kati42
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2009, 05:58:27 PM »

When it's implemented, will the new version appear in the New Version thread, or will it be in a special beta area?

Thanks,

kati42
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2009, 06:47:49 AM »

ill try to implement it this weekend and then make a normal release of it.
Logged
kati42
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2009, 04:13:25 PM »

Sweet.  No problem if it's not the weekend, though - I have too many deadlines right now to do anything with it anyway.  smiley
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2009, 04:39:57 PM »

i changed my mind and put up a beta for testing before i release:

http://www.donationcoder....eta/DesktopCoralSetup.exe

Available Commandline Options/Parameters:

-floatpos X Y WIDTH HEIGHT
-monitorid #
-placement float|left|top|right|bottom
-dockwidth #
-dockheight #

For example:

DesktopCoral.exe -monitorid 2 -placement left -dockwidth 100
DesktopCoral.exe -placement float -floatpos 20 30 600 480
Logged
kati42
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2009, 11:46:07 PM »

Cool!  I have my deadlines, but there were a few others at the Rainmeter forum that were interested.  I'll point them here!
Logged
kati42
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2009, 12:10:45 AM »

The command-line options work great!  Thank you.

But I think I need one more feature.  Let me give my usage scenario so that this makes sense.

I start off using my tablet in landscape mode.  I have a 48px wide sidebar implemented in Rainmeter plus DesktopCoral to reserve space for it.  I switch to portrait mode.  Rainmeter detects the resolution change (from 1280x800 to 800x1280) and swaps Rainmeter configs to an 18px high bar along the top of the screen. I need to move DesktopCoral from the right dock at 48px wide to a top dock at 18px high.

Right now, I end up creating an additional DesktopCoral instance every time I swap between landscape and portrait.

So I need to either modify an existing instance of DC, or I need to be able to close the current instance before running a new one with the new parameters. I think I could "kill" the process in Rainmeter, but that seems unfriendly.

Also, I'm fine with only a single instance of DC, but others may want more than one -- perhaps each instance could have an ID that is 1 for the first one invoked, 2 for the second, etc.?

Anyway - I would need something like:

// when switching to 1280x800 (landscape)
DesktopCoral.exe -close // (which wouldn't do anything if it weren't already open)
DesktopCoral.exe -placement right -dockwidth 48
// when switching to 800x1280 (portrait)
DesktopCoral.exe -close
DesktopCoral.exe -placement top -dockheight 18

OR:

// when switching to 1280x800 (landscape)
open)
DesktopCoral.exe -move -placement right -dockwidth 48
// or DesktopCoral -instance 1 -placement right -dockwidth 48
// when switching to 800x1280 (portrait)
DesktopCoral.exe -move -placement top -dockheight 18
// or DesktopCoral -instance 1 -placement top -dockheight 18

Presumably if an instance # does not exist when the command line refers to it, it would be created...

Anyway - any of those solutions would be sufficient for me.

Thanks for all your work; I made a donation a few months ago, and if this last feature is added, I'll make another because it will be so helpful!
Logged
kati42
Participant
*
Posts: 10

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2009, 06:06:59 PM »

Do you think this request is (reasonably) possible, or do you think I should find another way to solve my problem?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2009, 06:16:10 PM »

it's a bit tricky.. may i suggest you see if you can't use a commandline tool (or rainmeter itself) to kill any running instanced of desktop coral, and solve it that way?
and let is know if it works.
Logged
flattery
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2009, 11:11:34 AM »

Should be able to detect the resolution change and then place it per the users settings for the different resolution I would think...
Logged
liquidstate
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2010, 03:30:32 PM »

Available Commandline Options/Parameters:

-floatpos X Y WIDTH HEIGHT
-monitorid #
-placement float|left|top|right|bottom
-dockwidth #
-dockheight #

Would it be possibe for you to add a command line option to enable transparent mode?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2010, 04:49:02 AM »

seems like an easy enough feature to add.  can you share with us what you would be planning on using the feature to do?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.032s | Server load: 0.22 ]