ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > General Software Discussion

Help/Advice with TrueCrypt (and free space wiping)?

(1/5) > >>

wreckedcarzz:
Okay, I'm going to try and explain this in the least confusing way that I can :P and see if someone can provide me with some guidance, as this is my first attempt at really locking down data and utilizing a form of encryption for important use (not experimentation).

I have a FAT32 formatted 16GB flash drive that I carry around with me everywhere. Over the last couple of months I've saved some important data onto it that I can't have anyone unauthorized getting to. I'm looking for advice as to what I can do in addition to what I am doing now, and what precautions I should take. Basically, if anyone were to get hold of my flash drive at this point, it would not be very difficult (although not exactly easy, either) to get access to ~75 passwords, data files, personal info and other stuff I have stored away on it.

What I have done so far:

* Downloaded TrueCrypt and extracted it via the installer, than fired up the Traveler Disk Setup and plopped TC into my PortableApps directory, allowing me to run it easily from Geek.menu or the PortableApps Launcher.
* Started it up and created a hidden volume (invisible, encrypted volume inside a volume) with the external ("decoy") volume size being 2.5GB, FAT (10 char alpha password and AES-Twofish-Serpent encryption and the Whirlpool hash algorithm).
* Created the internal/hidden volume, using a 22 character alpha-numeric password, at a size of 2.0GB with the same AES-Twofish-Serpent/Whirlpool setup.
* Moved the sensitive data to the hidden volume with TeraCopy
What I need to do/know: