Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 08:52:43 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"  (Read 5658 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,959
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« on: June 13, 2009, 04:48:18 PM »
June 13, 2009

For those who were hoping when they saw this topic for some new cool look, i'm sorry to dissapoint -- this new beta feature does not add any new look to the program.

However it does add an interesting new ability to LBC.

You can now create "tab" submenu nodes, which are meant to hold a collection of child submenus, which can be switched between.  By placing such a tab submenu on your dock you can easily click to switch the configuration of your docking bar icons on the fly to different sets of buttons to suit your needs.

For example, you might have one submenu with all your graphics tools, and one with all your programming tools.  Putting these submenus under a "MyWorkflow" tab node, you can now easily switch between these two groups of buttons on your main dock.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2009, 11:37:51 PM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,959
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2009, 03:06:17 AM »
I think i can hear the crickets..

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2009, 06:37:02 AM »
just tried it, works great. :up:

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2009, 07:08:20 AM »
Yeah, I like it (I think). However, once you have activated a sub menu, how can you close it so it goes back to normal?  I'll play some more with it.

Keep those new features rolling and don't mind those crickets.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,959
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2009, 07:18:48 AM »
you cant actually close it to nothingness -- you have to set it for one of the children submenus.  But you can create an empty child submenu.

KenR

  • Super
  • Blogger
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2009, 07:38:34 AM »
I think i can hear the crickets..

Well, don't take it personally Jesse. I love all your software. Since I am using DOpus though, I just use it to generate my launch bars rather than running an additional program to do it.

Ken
Kenneth P. Reeder, Ph.D.
Clinical Psychologist
Jacksonville, North Carolina  28546

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,218
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2009, 07:58:07 AM »
just adding a small screenshot. i was thinking that on the other end of the bar, there could be arrows that act like the next/previous buttons.

ws-lbc-nodes-1.png

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,959
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2009, 08:22:43 AM »
i see you are doing something i didnt think of, which is to not use images in your Tab Node, so that it switches between the Text description of each of your submenu modes.  Nice idea.
Maybe ill make an option for this so users can easily try that idea.

dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2009, 09:07:58 AM »
Here's a suggestion...

I believe LBC has undiscovered capabilities that a lot of might use if we could see them demonstrated.

Mouser - could you put together a configuration file that we could load to our own PCs for typical windows installs.

So for Windows XP users you might show off the capabilities of LBC using the standard programs that get loaded by Windows (assuming they all get installed to C:\Windows or is it C:\WinXP?).  You could show off menus to Programs, Control Panel, My Documents, Start Menu, showing folder contents and all types of nodes & menu types.

A similar configuration file could then be created for Vista...

What do you think or are the possible differences in installs too much?


dluby

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2009, 11:44:01 AM »
HELP!

My PC crashed (nothing to do with LBC) and when I rebooted, LBC was asking me to configure it.

My MCF file was gone, but a backup was there from around the time I installed beta version 1.102.01.

When I try to load the bak file I get an error: error loading nodes from file - cmc error.

Any ideas on how to fix.  Do I need to go back to the non beta version?

Thanks

Damian
« Last Edit: June 17, 2009, 11:47:40 AM by dluby »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,959
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander Beta with "Tab Nodes"
« Reply #10 on: June 17, 2009, 11:50:58 AM »
LBC is very good at not losing .mcf files and contents,
but it can happen that LBC forgets which mcf file was last loaded if it crashes-- which scares people.

see if you can find your .mcf file before worrying about any backup files..

what operating system are you using? LBC sometimes stores by default in its application folder, sometimes in your docs and settings folder, depending on the OS.
let's talk over email and ill see if i cant help you find it (mouser@donationcoder.com)