topbanner_forum

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • Thursday March 28, 2024, 1:08 pm
  • Proudly celebrating 15+ years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: How fast is Microsoft? (Re: Has any one held off on upgrading to Firefox 1.5?)  (Read 12937 times)

brotherS

• Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Yes, Microsoft isn't sitting idly by and letting this happen. You can bet they are going to look closely at what has made Firefox popular (other than it being open-source), and emulate those things in IE 7. In fact, IE 7 beta already has tabbed browsing and a download manager (I think).
"already"? :D
I've been using tabbed browsing since about 2 years now, it's unbelievable how SLOW Microsoft is.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2005, 06:07 AM by brotherS »

db90h

• Coding Snacks Author
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • default avatar
  • Software Engineer
    • View Profile
    • Bitsum - Take control of your PC
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
If history is any judge, Microsoft is last to respond, but do so best. From Windows to the XBox. People don't give Microsoft enough credit.. but, it's hard to be a fan of 'big brother'.

db90h

brotherS

• Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
If history is any judge, Microsoft is last to respond, but do so best. From Windows to the XBox. People don't give Microsoft enough credit.. but, it's hard to be a fan of 'big brother'.
I can't agree. Microsoft may sometimes do "quite good", but if history shows anything in this case, it's that they were forced to pay bigger and bigger sums to other companies for stealing ideas/violating patents etc.