Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 10:21:59 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Fscript error  (Read 4062 times)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Fscript error
« on: May 26, 2009, 10:13:13 PM »
this same error was posted on other threads about farr plugin fscript problems..

lanux has suddenly started getting this error.. and i cant figure out why:
Quote
Script error in .\fscript.js : Automation server can't create object

it seems to be related to this call:
var fso=ActiveXObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

does that shed any clue?
« Last Edit: May 26, 2009, 10:25:26 PM by mouser »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2009, 10:17:28 PM »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2009, 10:23:12 PM »
it seems like the root of this problem might be security issue where windows doesnt want to allow the js to create such a filesystem object.

ecaradec if you are reading this -- i wonder if one solution might be to let the fscript.js ASK THE FScript.dll for a pointer to a FileSystemObject activex object?

might that solve the problem where windows doesnt trust js to create an activex, but the dll would have no problem doing so?

ecaradec

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • Blog & Projects
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2009, 02:29:58 AM »
Hello mouser,
I'm not sure it will fix the issue. I've put the jscript engine in unsafe mode to avoid those verifications. The origin of the issue came from the FileSystemScript object. I could build a test project that does a CoCreateInstance on FileSystemObject first and test it on some computer that has the issue. What do you think ?
Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2009, 03:28:43 AM »
well anything you want to try is worth trying -- i know lanux is nice enough to test and report.

my idea was not very well formed and i wouldn't be surprised if it wasn't feasible.  i guess what i was thinking is that the javascript engine might be operatung uin a restrictive mode due to security and would be refusing to create the ActiveXObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject").  But that the DLL would not be operating under such restrictions and would thus be able to create it and pass it to the js.

alternatively, maybe the local browser control used by FARR could create the object and pass it along?

or am i barking up the wrong tree?

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2009, 08:59:08 PM »
i sort of found a fix for this problem. i found out that there is a runtime dll in the system folder, "scrrun.dll" and i just re-registering the dll on a hunch - regsvr32 C:\WINDOWS\system32\scrrun.dll and now it works (!) restarted Farr with no error messages popping up.

however as i mentioned to mouser in the chat-room. i am left wondering who/what could have unregistered the dll. there are other apps that use scrrun.dll and one of them could have misbehaved. perhaps there is a way to check this dependency on scrrun.dll.

ecaradec

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • Blog & Projects
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2009, 01:53:57 AM »
very interesting. I already saw this issue once on my mother desktop. That was caused by the uninstallation of Norton because for monitoring Scripting.FileSystemObject it was registering its own version AND forgetting to put everything back on uninstall. Did you uninstall anything recently ?
Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2009, 01:59:25 AM »
ec, i've messaged you about another small bug in fsubscripts fscript.dll.
by the way we haven't said it enough recently but fscript is just plain amazing.. one of the coolest things i've ever seen and i love it.  :-*

ecaradec

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 409
    • View Profile
    • Blog & Projects
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2009, 02:12:34 AM »
It's a cool thing to hear again  :Thmbsup:
Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Fscript error
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2009, 08:23:11 PM »
very interesting. I already saw this issue once on my mother desktop. That was caused by the uninstallation of Norton because for monitoring Scripting.FileSystemObject it was registering its own version AND forgetting to put everything back on uninstall. Did you uninstall anything recently ?

i see a pattern here.. this must have happened when i disabled the 'script scanning' option in Mcafee after an update.