Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 09:44:23 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: access violation error in photoshop  (Read 4552 times)

s3r4

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
access violation error in photoshop
« on: May 08, 2009, 08:02:25 AM »
hello folks,

recently i have formated my system and reinstalled windows. ive been working on a photoshop tutorial using this great program and everything was fine. however today i wanted to continue and for a while everything worked fine. ive been using the selected region mode with no problems, but when i use the current screen capture,i get an access violation error.
funny thing is it doesnt happen when i use selected region or active window or even entire workspace mode (I'm working on a dualscreen-system), this error doesnt occur.
but whenever i use the current screen captur i always get the very same error message: access violation at adress 006CE7CD in module 'screenshotcaptor.exe'. Read of adress02857D40.

it would be great if this error could be removed it the next release candidate.
Any idea what might cause this or how it can be fixed?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2009, 08:21:44 AM »
can you check to make sure you have the most recent version of Screenshot Captor?
what operating system are you using -- and are you triggering the capture from a hotkey or the system tray menu or?

s3r4

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2009, 01:53:52 PM »
I have tried both the most recent version and 25002.
Im running a WindowsXP SP2 system and the problem occurs on hotkey as well as via tray menu. Occasionally the currentscreen-capture works, for example sometimes directly after loading screenshotcaptor but only for one shot. another time was when i first took many shots with the other options and later tried the currentscreen-feature. in that case it didn't crash at all, though i didn't use it a lot. also it seems more likely to happen when i run photoshop in fullscreen mode. (pressing 'f' in photoshop so one document fills up the whole work space).

is that any clue? pretty confusing, huh?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2009, 01:59:18 PM »
there could be one big clue:

does it ONLY happen when photoshop is the currently active window and you take a screenshot of current screen?

s3r4

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2009, 02:55:51 PM »
Seems so.  I just tried it: When I try to take a screenshot from my other display then there's no problem but as as soon as I try taking a shot from the photoshop screen i get the error. however, only if I have photoshop in that fullscreen mode as described above. it takes screenshots nicely if the photoshop document is in window mode. and i mean only the document. photoshop itself is fullscreen and thats fine, but as soon as the document opened within photoshop is fullscreen as well, that's where the problem occurs.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2009, 05:46:16 PM »
thats a huge clue, and probably tells me what i need to know -- let me see if i can fix.
the error probably occurs with sc trying to highlight the active window in the screenshot, and somehow getting dimensions that exceed the screenshot.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2009, 11:30:31 PM »
may i ask what version of photoshop?

s3r4

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2009, 01:01:14 PM »
wow, you're awesome!
that would be CS2.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2009, 05:37:21 PM »
i've been trying to reproduce it with photoshop cs2 trial and not had any lucky.. can you think of any more clues as to what circumstances make this happen?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2009, 05:41:41 PM »
never mind -- i got it to happen.
only seems to happen if i capture right after starting screenshot captor and never un-minimizing it.
looking into it now.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2009, 06:21:56 PM »
ok fixed (but not yet uploaded); will be in next release.

as we guessed -- it was caused by the active window being slightly offscreen (according to the getrgnbox windows system call).

will be in next update.

s3r4

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2009, 03:27:30 PM »
thanks, that's so cool!

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2009, 03:29:45 PM »
new version of FARR was released -- can you see if it fixed the problem?

s3r4

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2009, 01:37:54 PM »
you mean of screenshot captor? just tried it, unfortunately it's still being difficult.
but the message now reads differently, I've come across 3 types so far.
first is triggered only when I'm in Photoshop's "Full Mode with Menu Bar" (Pressing F once)
access violation at adress 006B77A5 in module 'screenshotcaptor.exe'. Read of adress 02A77D40.
The other two say the same for the first part, but some other adress in the second part:
0375E140
02A7E140
Either one of the last two is triggered when I'm running Photoshop in the "Full Mode" without Menu Bar - the one where you see only the picture on black backdrop. (Pressing F twice)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: access violation error in photoshop
« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2009, 02:56:51 PM »
can you make sure you are running screenshot captor 2.55.01 and try again? if it still happens email me at mouser@donationcoder.com.
it's strange because i was able to reproduce it and then fixed it and it doesn't happen to me anymore.