Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 05:19:19 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???  (Read 15425 times)

DonationCoderTransmit

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???
« Reply #25 on: September 24, 2009, 10:53:31 AM »
Just a reminder of my other symptoms and findings :-

I have the same problem. XP Pro SP2.

It's not related to the type of target app: I get it everywhere, including Notepad.

Doesn't matter if I click the target app first.

Doesn't matter if I use the 'simulate keys' option.

It always overwrites the active clip (so a subsequent manual Ctrl+V always works).

Sometimes it works fine for a few pastes, maybe 3 or 4 in a row, but then it always reverts to failing to paste, maybe for 10 or 15 in a row. Testing into Notepad, with nothing else running, reliably repeats this experience.

I only have a few old versions downloaded: the last one I have which works (perfectly!) is Version: 1.16.0.1 (CRC-32: 7A4ED312). Just swapping the .exe between that version, and the latest, reliably toggles the bug on and off.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???
« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2009, 12:13:30 PM »
and now could you try redownloading the new debug version at same location:
http://www.donationc...oardHelpAndSpell.zip

DonationCoderTransmit

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???
« Reply #27 on: September 24, 2009, 12:34:54 PM »
Works perfectly! :)

Nice one Mouser, thanks. I hope it works for tomos and jeffthemartin and the others, and look forward to the release version.

I'm going to push my luck, while you're into the code, and pitch my top two wishlist items :-

1. A way to promote some or all of the items currently on the Quick Paste's "All Clips" sub-menu, onto its main menu.

2. A way to access the "Formatting Presets" (particularly "TrimLineBreaksPlus") without invoking the UI. Presumably a command line argument, e.g. so we can use CHS to tidy up broken URLs before passing them onto a browser (using a script or macro or hotkeys), without having the Quick Paste menu flash into view.

Anyway, that would be icing on the cake.

(The log is attached, FWIW, though it only has successes to record.)

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???
« Reply #28 on: September 24, 2009, 12:42:02 PM »
Thank you so much for the help, and i'm deeply sorry it took so long to fix -- i've just been trying to juggle a few programming projects at once these last couple of weeks and have been a bit overwhelmed.

A brief explanation of what the problem was:
Ideally one would like to detect that application that triggered the CHS quick popup menu by checking the last active window at the time of trigger.  But this seems infeasible since it can be too late by then.  So instead, CHS keeps track of the last active (non-chs-related) window in the background while you work.  What was happening was that occasionally windows was returning NULL for the current foreground window, for no real reason i can see.  I actually thought I already was ignoring this case, but it turns out I wasn't handling it well enough.

Compiling the non-debug version now, then we'll get to the other requests.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???
« Reply #29 on: September 24, 2009, 01:14:14 PM »
New non-debug version is uploaded at same url, you can use this version for real until the next full release:
http://www.donationc...oardHelpAndSpell.zip

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,430
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???
« Reply #30 on: September 24, 2009, 02:37:50 PM »
let's discuss other requests in separate threads, and leave this one focused on the problem of pasting into the last active window.

DonationCoderTransmit

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???
« Reply #31 on: September 24, 2009, 07:29:14 PM »
Got the non-debug interim, thanks.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Am I missing something obvious? How do you paste???
« Reply #32 on: September 25, 2009, 05:23:47 PM »

working well here too :up:
Tom