Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 02, 2015, 11:59:10 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: ReOpen 4.9.6.0  (Read 30430 times)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
ReOpen 4.9.6.0
« on: May 03, 2009, 09:17:35 PM »
ReOpen Folders and Programs

Available for download on my Hotkeys Page

ReOpen.jpg
« Last Edit: January 21, 2012, 04:18:09 PM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 11:12:11 AM »
Please update to v. 1.02 available for download now.  I optimized the polling to reduce WMI and CPU load.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 02:18:26 PM »
v. 1.1 available.  Reduced CPU load.  Also calls the WMI function less often during polling. A lot less resource hungry than previous versions.  :Thmbsup:

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 04:07:48 PM »
Here's a screen shot

ReOpen.jpg

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2009, 01:57:11 PM »
Added command to Tray Icon Menu to display Readme file. (If Readme.txt isn't in the same folder as ReOpen.exe the command is disabled.)

wyrwolf

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • It is what it is.
    • View Profile
    • banner page
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2009, 01:03:50 PM »
ah! I think this is just what I need for use with my my Portables Flash Stick
I can use this rather than having to go back and forth in my FileManager to run the app I want next off the stick
It is what it is.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2009, 05:05:49 PM »
ah! I think this is just what I need for use with my my Portables Flash Stick
I can use this rather than having to go back and forth in my FileManager to run the app I want next off the stick

Thanks.  Glad to know somebody is using some of my stuff. :)

Antonimo

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2009, 03:37:38 AM »
Hi,

This is really useful for me, especially with data on so many drives.

I am wondering, is there a facility to clear the lists? I can delete the text files in the app's folder, but an option on the traybar icon would be cool.

Now I come to think of it, having a setting to decide how old entries are before they are automatically removed would be very nice.

Nevertheless, I am using it all the time.

Thanks for the app!

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2009, 02:26:17 PM »
Glad you like it.  I uploaded v. 1.3.  It now has real double click in the list instead of simulated, so that should be smoother.  Also added a button to delete selected items. (Unfortunately Control-A doesn't select all but you can drag the mouse to select all, the press delete selected button to get the list clearing effect.)

Edit: uploaded 1.31  I disable the hotkey while the gui is open so it won't interfere with keyboard selection of list items.  I still don't have Control-A but if you select the top item in a list and press
Shift-End key combination, all items will be selected in that list.  From there Alt-D deletes them by doing a Click on the Delete Selected Button.  Not so bad for a kludge.  I'm trying to use as much of the stuff that's built in as possible.  Less to go wrong. :)



« Last Edit: May 07, 2009, 11:03:19 PM by MilesAhead »

Antonimo

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2009, 02:45:29 AM »
Very nice little improvements.  :Thmbsup:

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2009, 11:20:33 AM »
Very nice little improvements.  :Thmbsup:

Thanks.  I've updated Folder Cache with a menu command so you can choose between several hotkeys using combo boxes.  If that doesn't show any bugs I'll use the same functions in ReOpen.  The hotkey will be saved in an .ini file along with max list items.  Also the About box and hot key chooser dialog will show the current hotkey.

Folder Cache has been uploaded.  I should have ReOpen reworked later today.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2009, 11:59:55 AM »
ReOpen 1.5 with HotKey Select dialog uploaded

Here's a screen shot.  :)


Clipboard01.jpg
« Last Edit: May 08, 2009, 01:15:38 PM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2009, 12:31:37 PM »
I've been adding a few hotkeys to the dialog combo box piecemeal so if you want the maximum number of choices for hotkey you may want to periodically download the latest build.  The latest has F1 to F11 function keys and the Pause key added to the mainkey combo box.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2009, 05:38:58 PM »
Please update to v. 1.52  fixed a glitch in hotkey assignment.

edit: updated how hotkey reassignment is done.  It should be more reliable.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2009, 12:59:19 PM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2009, 04:04:42 PM »
Uploaded v. 1.53 sorry for the rapid updates.  I thought since AutoIt3 was now XP and later anyway, I'd use Scripting.Dictionary for associative arrays for the hotkey lookups. Kind of bogs it down on a fresh bootup waiting for .NET to load. So I changed main hotkey stored in the .ini file to include the surrounding brackets. That way I could use it directly.

The upshot is, when you change to this version or later, if there's an error reading the .ini file, it will reset the hotkey to default, show you what it is, and remind you it can be modified using the Tray command.  You should only get the error on the first run with the new version.  On exit the program will rewrite the .ini file.

It's too bad because I thought I was going to get associative arrays in AutoIt for free.  :(

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2009, 04:03:10 PM »
v. 1.54 spiffed up the Set Hotkey dialog with a bit of glass
if running Vista or W7

Clipboard01.png

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2009, 06:28:09 PM »
Note, I modified the main window to match the dialog.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2009, 01:14:57 PM »
v. 1.6  added code to avoid accessing drives with no media present.

Also the latest build calls the Windows API to make sure the Dwm composition mode is actually enabled before using Glass, rather than just assuming if you have Vista or W7 it's on.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2009, 11:25:53 AM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2009, 01:22:06 PM »
I updated the drive type checking to avoid delay if a network drive letter is not assigned.  Also I added some alternative background colors via .ini file to accomodate XP themes.  For instance, if you have an XP theme where the window title bar is black, it would all blend together.  See readme file for supported background colors.

Until I find out more about Vista Glass any background color other than black seems to throw off the thick glass border.  Doesn't look totally horrible but there should be some way to make it glass instead of see-through whatever color, next to the window frame.  The adjustable background is mainly to avoid XP theme clash but some of them look okay if you get tired of black. :)


I reset it to use theme-compliant colors unless Glass is enabled. Just too much hassle to try to figure out what XP is showing so let the system handle it. :)

« Last Edit: May 14, 2009, 05:04:00 PM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #19 on: May 14, 2009, 08:37:05 PM »
Fixed another quirk.  If app was starting with Windows then paths with a network drive letter would be seen as invalid and purged from the list.  I delay path validation until the window opens, rather than during reading the folder and programs lists.  This gives the system, or user manually, a chance to map the network drive(s).


mediaguycouk

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Mediaguy
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #20 on: May 15, 2009, 10:04:28 AM »
Much quicker, thank you.

Another bug through. Right clicking on the system tray and quitting doesn't quit while the folder cache window is open.

It quits as soon as the window is then closed but not as expected. I can certainly live with it but a known bug is better than an unknown one...
Learning C# - Graham Robinson

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #21 on: May 15, 2009, 11:37:06 AM »
If you look in the About dialog it says about caching not being performed while the window is open.  The same loop that runs the tray icon does the caching. Likewise while the About dialog is up, nothing else is going on. I think it's likely that a convoluted way of trying to monitor 2 window loops would be more likely to mess up.

Part of it is due to the fact that AutoIt is an interpreted language.  As an example, I have an ActiveX Control to does MsgBox with unusual background colors. Optionally it has a Help button.  When you press the Help button in Delphi, or VC++ or C# or VB 6 it fires off the help context event.  I can display some help info while the MsgBox is still open.  I've tried it in AutoIt and Python and it fires the Help event after the MsgBox closes.  Not very helpful... just one of the limitations of running code that's not truly compiled. Of course there are advantages too, like Hotkeys that are easy to change on the fly. :)

That's also the reason there's no minimize button on the window frame.  Sort of giving the hint that the window is not meant to be left open all the time. Just pop up and launch, and disappear.

I'm hoping eventually I'll figure out how to have adjustable background color to the window and still have Glass work the way it does with black.  Depends how complicated.  I have a feeling I'd have to paint the glass area with solid black etc..  pita :)

« Last Edit: May 15, 2009, 11:41:13 AM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #22 on: May 15, 2009, 08:27:50 PM »
I have some adjustable colors now when Glass is enabled as I did for FolderCache.

Here's a screen shot with purple background color

PurpleReOpen.jpg

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #23 on: May 16, 2009, 10:46:08 AM »
Much quicker, thank you.

Another bug through. Right clicking on the system tray and quitting doesn't quit while the folder cache window is open.

It quits as soon as the window is then closed but not as expected. I can certainly live with it but a known bug is better than an unknown one...

I took the direct approach.  While stuff is busy, the Tray Icon isn't there. :)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,195
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: ReOpen - Folder Cache, only betterer
« Reply #24 on: May 16, 2009, 01:13:00 PM »
Both ReOpen and Folder Cache have been updated and uploaded

If Glass is enabled, there's an additional command in the tray icon menu to choose the background color from a combobox.  No need to edit the .ini file anymore. Also I added a few more colors.