Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 01, 2014, 11:22:35 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Wireless network detector & IP settings changer  (Read 5565 times)
aka_bigred
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 04, 2008, 11:08:59 AM »

I have always wanted a little app that would automatically detect the wireless network you are connected to and change the IP settings accordingly. 

For example, when I'm at work, the SSID=WORK, and I need the wireless card set for DHCP.
When I'm at home, SSID=Home, change it to pre-defined static IP & DNS servers.

I had looked around some time ago, and there's a way to change the IPCONFIG settings via batch/command line, but my problem is detecting the connected SSID.  It shouldn't be too hard, just an array of SSID's and the associated IPCONFIG settings for each SSID.  When the SSID changes, check the profile listing for that SSID and implement those associated settings.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2008, 11:11:34 AM by aka_bigred » Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2008, 11:27:17 AM »

I think you're looking for netsetman smiley
Logged

aka_bigred
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2008, 01:27:26 PM »

Yeah, something along those lines, but want it to AUTOMATICALLY activate a profile when a specific wireless SSID is detected.  That app looks like you have to manually activate the profile.  Detecting the SSID tells what network I'm on so it should be able to activate a profile without my intervention.

I don't need all the extra bells & whistles that has, just basic IP settings per detected SSID.
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2008, 02:19:45 PM »

Oh, i thought that netsetman was able to do that Sad

But i just made a quick search and found this on the ahk forum! cheesy

So, do you want me to make a script that will check the ssids, and when it changes to one on a predifined list, run the associated batch file?
Logged

aka_bigred
Participant
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2008, 02:05:41 PM »

I saw that post, but looks like it's an on-demand script.  If it ran continuously and kicked off a batch script like you suggest, that'd be sweet!


Oh, i thought that netsetman was able to do that Sad

But i just made a quick search and found this on the ahk forum! cheesy

So, do you want me to make a script that will check the ssids, and when it changes to one on a predifined list, run the associated batch file?
Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2008, 04:28:10 PM »

Ok, done.

I attached a .zip to this post, with the .ahk source file and with a compiled version.

It checks every 5 seconds for changes in the SSID, and if so, it compares the current SSID against a pre-defined list of SSIDs specified in the .ini file, and if it detects the current one is one of them, it launches the associated action.

I think the .ini file is self-explanatory, but if you have some trouble, just post here Wink

* CheckSSID.zip (195.49 KB - downloaded 348 times.)
Logged

Carol Haynes
Waffles for England (patent pending)
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 7,952



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2008, 01:42:47 PM »

Can't you just set up connections to two different networks in the Connection Manager with the different settings then it will connect to whichever network is available?
Logged

magonicola
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2009, 04:40:09 PM »

Ok, done.

I attached a .zip to this post, with the .ahk source file and with a compiled version.

It checks every 5 seconds for changes in the SSID, and if so, it compares the current SSID against a pre-defined list of SSIDs specified in the .ini file, and if it detects the current one is one of them, it launches the associated action.

I think the .ini file is self-explanatory, but if you have some trouble, just post here Wink

Hi,
first of all thanks for your attachment, very nice & usefull.
In particular this attachment has quite solved my problem: reconfiguring IP settings on SSID change. HOW? Your file lunch a BAT file made by netsh instruction that calls a txt files with appropriate config inside.

Now there's only a problem: sometimes your script gives me a run-time error (800a0046 code) of "cannot access to file" (privileges), the file is obviously SSID.txt, so I can't be "safe" to leave the pc alone and on being sure that it will change autometically the IP settings. (I don't know why this: your script works for minutes and only a few times at hour has got this error popup. Maybe, I think, 5 seconds of delay is not enough when CPU is stressed)
If you can fix this error you will solve not only my situation, but the problem of so many people.
THANKS!
« Last Edit: March 31, 2009, 05:02:59 PM by magonicola » Logged
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,710



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2009, 05:27:58 PM »

Hi magonicola!
To be honnest, I don't quite know why that happens. Could you post a printscreen of the error?
Logged

potofcoffee
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2009, 06:54:46 AM »

I think what you're really looking for is Net Profiles, recently open-sourced. Any help is appreciated.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,294



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2009, 07:00:36 AM »

Quote
Net Profiles, recently open-sourced
very cool  Thmbsup welcome to the site.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.06 ]