Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 10, 2016, 04:49:32 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Unable to sniff  (Read 3668 times)

bob1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Unable to sniff
« on: April 30, 2009, 03:10:23 PM »
I have vista 64 installed with a marvell network adapter and I manually choose the adapter and when I click sniff nothing shows up

It works fine with wireshark

edbro

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Unable to sniff
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 03:54:15 PM »
Gosh it's fun to just look at thread titles on the front page without looking at the forum for context.

bob1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Unable to sniff
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 04:04:12 PM »
what?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Unable to sniff
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 04:26:48 PM »
i think he was just making a joke about how the subject of the post sounds funny if you don't know it's talking about a problem with a program, like if someone came up to you on the street and said: "I am unable to sniff"



anyway, to your problem -- UrlSnooper is suppoed to insist on running in administrator mode, but you could try right clicking on urlsnooper.exe and running it manually as administrator and see if that helps.

disable automatic network adapter detection, set your adapter card manually, and hit sniff button.  then surf the net and look in url snooper status bar to see if it shows packet numbers increasing.

bob1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Unable to sniff
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2009, 04:52:05 PM »
i ran it as administrator and its still not working

its showing my 2 network cards and i switch to both and still nothing  :(


bob1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Unable to sniff
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 04:56:26 PM »
here is a picture of my settings



http://i40.tinypic.com/11hsd4o.jpg

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,434
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Unable to sniff
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2009, 05:20:35 PM »
after you switch to Search tab, and hit search button, what does it say in status bar as you browse the internet?

bob1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Unable to sniff
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2009, 07:37:41 AM »
yes when i click the search tab and click sniff nothing shows up


http://i43.tinypic.com/2cngoli.jpg

bob1

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Unable to sniff
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2009, 10:24:50 AM »
any idea?