Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 24, 2014, 02:59:59 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Small feature requests  (Read 4649 times)
nullal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 24, 2009, 06:22:17 AM »

- Once I have my selection list I have to press the right mouse button to get to the menu (screenshot). Instead I'd like a user defined hotkey (Alt-Enter maybe). Saves me one mouse touch... Currently I am configuring a lot and I trip over this issue every single time.
- fc Calculator is cool. But the numeric keypad does not work. This more or less renders fc useless - for me.
- In the options/Aliases I like to have the result/command as a browse column.

That's all so far



* 1.jpg (36.35 KB, 487x373 - viewed 237 times.)
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2009, 07:32:40 AM »

you can press Control+R to get the menu if you don't want to reach for the mouse..

as for the numeric keypad entry, go to Options > Program Options > Settings > Keyboard Interface
and uncheck the following:
Numpad keys launch results from search window
« Last Edit: April 24, 2009, 07:37:05 AM by lanux128 » Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,179



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2009, 01:12:56 PM »

Quote
In the options/Aliases I like to have the result/command as a browse column.
can you elaborate?
Logged
skajfes
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 204


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2009, 01:38:32 PM »

you can press Control+R to get the menu if you don't want to reach for the mouse..

or you can just press the i-don't-know-what-it-is-called-key right next to the alt button. This key does a right-click on the currently active item in windows.


* right-click-keyboard-key.jpg (52.61 KB, 448x336 - viewed 220 times.)
Logged

It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious.
nullal
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2009, 02:02:59 PM »

well the voldemort key does not work in Farr - thank god. farr seems to be a bit more advanced:)

using the numeric keypad in fc and having it available for choosing results would be the ideal solution. but since i since I have every command assigned to a 3 letter abbreviation and do not use any of the searching and scoring I do not need the result list. the solution lanux suggested works fine.
Logged
skajfes
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 204


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2009, 07:35:53 PM »

well the voldemort key does not work in Farr - thank god. farr seems to be a bit more advanced:)

maybe i am too tired and don't get it. can you elaborate?
Logged

It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious.
Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2009, 02:46:31 PM »

Sorry to dig up an old thread, but I figured it was better than starting a new one with the same complaint.

Not being able to use the numeric keypad to launch apps and enter numerals in the calculators (both fc and gcal) is a real nusance.

I'd like to see the issue added to the bugs list / features request, whichever is deemed more appropriate.

Mouser: Is there any good way to fix this conflict?

Thanks,

Ampa
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,179



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: August 20, 2009, 03:02:26 PM »

ampa, this should be an easy fix, ill try to escalate it on my todo list.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,179



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2009, 07:59:28 AM »

numpad issue fixed in latest release.
Logged
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,387



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2010, 01:52:16 AM »

well the voldemort key does not work in Farr - thank god. farr seems to be a bit more advanced:)

maybe i am too tired and don't get it. can you elaborate?

OT (and much later in time...), I guess, but here's my take -- "Voldemort" is a reference to a character from a popular book series [1], and an alias for that character is "He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named" (see: https://secure.wikimedia....kipedia/en/wiki/Voldemort ).  Earlier in the thread, I see the uttering:

  or you can just press the i-don't-know-what-it-is-called-key right next to the alt button.

But where I'm confused (back on topic) is about the claim that the key in question doesn't work in FARR...if it's the one I think it is, it works for me...


[1] Not mentioning the series name is my attempt at recursive humor here Wink
Logged
skajfes
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 204


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2010, 01:19:26 PM »

well the voldemort key does not work in Farr - thank god. farr seems to be a bit more advanced:)

maybe i am too tired and don't get it. can you elaborate?

OT (and much later in time...), I guess, but here's my take -- "Voldemort" is a reference to a character from a popular book series [1], and an alias for that character is "He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named" (see: https://secure.wikimedia....kipedia/en/wiki/Voldemort ).  Earlier in the thread, I see the uttering:

  or you can just press the i-don't-know-what-it-is-called-key right next to the alt button.

But where I'm confused (back on topic) is about the claim that the key in question doesn't work in FARR...if it's the one I think it is, it works for me...


[1] Not mentioning the series name is my attempt at recursive humor here Wink

Yeah, I get the reference to He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named, but I am also puzzled by the claim that FARR is too advanced for the voldermort key (actually it is called Menu key or Application key according to this, and you can even emulate it with Shift+F10)? I mean, it works. And if anything - FARR would be pretty backward if it didn't support the voldemort key since it was introduced about the time Windows 95 came out. But again, I fail to see what FARR has got to do with it because the OS handles the keyboard.
Logged

It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.037s | Server load: 0.18 ]