Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 30, 2015, 11:46:42 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: FolderCache 6.3.8.1  (Read 46876 times)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #50 on: May 28, 2009, 02:50:14 PM »
Folder Cache 3.0 Beta now has a "Stack Selected" button. This way you can filter the list with the input filter, push some items on the stack, then use another filter or show all, to find additional items. When you launch, any items in the Stack will be opened in addition to any selected items in the list. This way you don't need to reopen the window after a filtering operation and launch. Just stack 'em up until you're ready to open the items.

Currently I just use a tooltip as notification that some items were pushed on the Stack. Later I may give a choice of sound or some other notification.. once all the bugs are killed off.

Once Folder Cache seems stable I'll add the feature(s) to ReOpen.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #51 on: May 29, 2009, 12:13:46 PM »
Build 3.0.0.16 eliminated duplicate code that may have slowed populating the folder list.  Should be snappier now.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,933
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #52 on: May 29, 2009, 12:19:17 PM »
Miles -- if ReOpen is "Folder Cache Only Better".. why is Folder Cache still maintained?

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #53 on: May 29, 2009, 12:36:52 PM »
Miles -- if ReOpen is "Folder Cache Only Better".. why is Folder Cache still maintained?

I do updates there first.  Besides, maybe some people are only interested in recent folders.  Less memory usage with only one list.

edit: the other consideration too is that ReOpen uses WMI scripting to get the process name from the active window.  If you are only interested in folders it's better to use Folder Cache as it's slightly less CPU and resource intensive generally. It would actually run on versions of Windows prior to XP if compiled with an older version of AutoIt.

« Last Edit: May 29, 2009, 02:49:58 PM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #54 on: June 01, 2009, 11:04:09 AM »
Folder Cache 3.1 - I added another wrinkle.  It's a pita if you pop up the window to open a recent folder and it's not in the list.  For this reason I added the ability to type the entire path of a file or folder in the input line.  If the path being typed is valid, it shows as bold.  Press Enter in the input line to open that item as well as any currently in the Stack.

The Delete Selected button also clears the Stack. If no items are selected in the list when Delete Selected is pressed, a Tooltip pops up saying "Stack Cleared" to give visual feedback.

As a free bonus the input line happens to allow opening non folder items such as text files or even program files. It's just there to avoid having to switch to another tool, command prompt, or explorer when one opens the Folder Cache window to find the desired folder isn't in the list. It's not meant to replace search tools such as FARR, Everything, or Windows Search.

If this mechanism works out I'll add the same feature to ReOpen eventually.

Edit: to save on typing long paths, if you have a single item selected in the list, and Alt-Left Click on it, it will be copied to the input line and the caret put at the end of the line.


« Last Edit: June 01, 2009, 04:01:18 PM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #55 on: June 02, 2009, 03:17:01 PM »
Folder Cache 3.2

Finally I incorporate some support for external search apps.  While the Gui Window is open, select an item in the list or type into the input filter.. then press Control-C.
The first time around you will be asked to choose the hotkey for an external search program.  For instance, you can use the FARR or Everything hotkey.  The Hotkey will be sent, then after a pause, the item text or text from the input filter will be sent via macro.

The hotkey selection dialog only supports 2 key combinations. If your search app is hard-wired for 3 keys or you prefer using 3 key combos for it, you can always link to it using a 2 or 3 line AutoHotKey script that listens for the 2 key Hotkey you assign in Folder Cache, and sends out the 3 key combo. (Even if you're not a programmer, to do this in AutoHotKey is very easy.)

I've played around typing partial folder names and using FARR and Everything Hotkey and it seems to work really well. If course if the search program isn't running to listen for its hotkey, the Folder Cache window will just go away.  No big deal. :)

To change the external search app hotkey, there's a command in the Tray Menu.
The current search app hotkey is saved to FolderCache.ini on close.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2009, 03:18:52 PM by MilesAhead »

mediaguycouk

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Mediaguy
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #56 on: June 02, 2009, 03:44:49 PM »
Obviously what you do after I say this is totally up to you, it is your application...

I can't use your program any more due to an eye operation. I'm now using my PCs in high contrast mode (accessible through [Left Alt] + [Left Shift] + [Print Screen]) and your program ends up with black text on a black background.

I'm sure I'll start using it again after everything is better and you may find that it is a lot better to make things better for the 99.999999% of people who don't use any of the accessibility features.  :Thmbsup:
Learning C# - Graham Robinson

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #57 on: June 02, 2009, 07:09:02 PM »
What operating system are you running?
If XP, I'm using the "ordinary" gui that should change with the system settings. If Vista or W7 try disabling Glass.  My program only changes the background color and text color from the system default if Glass is enabled.

edit: also have you tried doing anything with the Set A High Contrast Color Scheme setting?
Perhaps someone can mess around with combinations until my dialog looks readable.

« Last Edit: June 02, 2009, 07:17:25 PM by MilesAhead »

mediaguycouk

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Mediaguy
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #58 on: June 03, 2009, 02:11:38 AM »
I'm only using this at work at the moment, which is XP SP3.

I'll have a go with the other contrast modes, but I'll have to find them. There is only one high contrast mode in the accessibility options (Control Panel > Classic View > Accessibility > Display)
Learning C# - Graham Robinson

mediaguycouk

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
    • Mediaguy
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #59 on: June 03, 2009, 02:59:25 AM »
I've had a quick go. High Contrast #1, #2 and Black are invisible unless an item is selected. High Contrast White shows everything fine.

I'll have a go on Vista this evening when I put it on my home PC.

foldercache.png
Learning C# - Graham Robinson

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #60 on: June 10, 2009, 04:53:25 PM »
Folder Cache 3.3 added Tray Menu command to open the four most recent folders. Can be set as default command via .ini file. Instead of popping up the window and choosing folders, you can double click the tray icon to open up the last four.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #61 on: June 11, 2009, 01:41:20 PM »
Folder Cache 3.32 Fast Last Four Folder launch with selectable hotkey Launches 4 most recent folders.

Change from 3.31 Folders that are invalid paths will be skipped. If there are enough valid folders in the list, then 4 will be launched.


MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #62 on: June 15, 2009, 07:53:44 AM »
Updated Folder Cache to 3.3 setting Control Esc as the default search hotkey(Windows Search.)  Thanks Lefax32 for the idea.  I should have thought of it but you know how programmers are sometimes. :)

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #63 on: June 21, 2009, 04:55:30 PM »
Folder Cache 3.5 has been updated to support more hotkey combinations.

http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html


edit: added some error checking code and a few minor bug fixes without upping the v. number so if you downloaded before this edit, I advise getting the latest. :)
« Last Edit: June 21, 2009, 06:39:58 PM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #64 on: June 28, 2009, 03:10:06 PM »
Folder Cache 3.6 released. Improved background color/text color combinations for Glass enabled systems.  Basically I try to detect if the background color is bright, and use black text instead of white in that case.  But I also added background colors to the drop down box.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #65 on: July 20, 2009, 03:02:07 PM »
FolderCache 3.6.0.1 adds Space and Arrow keys to the available hotkeys.

Latest is available on my hotkeys page:
http://www.favessoft.com/hotkeys.html

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #66 on: August 04, 2009, 05:40:10 PM »
FolderCache 3.6.1.0 fixed incremental search bug.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: Announcement: Way Simple Folder Cache for Windows
« Reply #67 on: August 20, 2009, 03:18:17 PM »
FolderCache 3.7 Now when tabbing into a ListBox with no selections, the top item is selected.  This eliminates the need to play around with the arrow keys to select the top item when tabbing into the ListBox.

FolderCache 3.71 Added code to prevent the hotkey from opening the popup window while the About Dlg is showing.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2009, 05:51:56 PM by MilesAhead »

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: FolderCache 3.8
« Reply #68 on: September 05, 2009, 01:01:40 PM »
FolderCache 3.8 Same fix as above but without the "doink" Window alert I was getting in Vista64.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: FolderCache 3.97
« Reply #69 on: April 17, 2010, 06:52:07 PM »
FolderCache 3.97

Updated code to use AutoIt3 v. 3.3.6.1.

Tray Icon Menu only opens with Right Click to avoid
"menu flash" when double-clicking.


MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: FolderCache 3.98
« Reply #70 on: April 20, 2010, 10:54:03 PM »
FolderCache 3.98

Added "Visit Hotkey Page" command to Tray Menu.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: FolderCache 3.99
« Reply #71 on: April 23, 2010, 08:05:57 PM »
FolderCache 3.99

Fixed a bug introduced in the previous update.  Running a 2nd instance of the program would cause it to zero out the data file(s) as it exited.

Please update to the latest from my hotkeys page.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: FolderCache 3.9.9.1
« Reply #72 on: April 23, 2010, 10:10:35 PM »
Please use FolderCache file version 3.9.9.1 or newer to avoid the regression mentioned above.

http://www.favessoft...ges.html#FolderCache


MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: FolderCache 4.0
« Reply #73 on: April 30, 2010, 02:59:29 PM »
FolderCache v. 4.0

Now you can enter more than one folder in the Edit Line, separated by
a semicolon(';') to simply type in multiple folders and open them all by
hitting Enter.

For example if I want to open 3 folders without picking them out of the list I can type: c:\Windows;c:\work;d:\SomeOtherFolder and hit the Enter key.

The folders are checked to exist and pushed on the stack, so that you can still
select folders from the listbox and push onto the stack, prior to hitting Enter
in the Edit Line. When you hit Enter all the folders in the stack will be popped,
checked to exist, and then opened. The folder won't be added to the stack if it's already in.

For multiple entry in the Edit Line to work, Enter must be pressed while the input focus is in the Edit Line.

MilesAhead

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 6,186
    • View Profile
    • Miles Ahead Software
    • Donate to Member
Re: FolderCache 4.1
« Reply #74 on: April 30, 2010, 09:23:01 PM »

FolderCache 4.1

In addition to using the "visit hotkey page" command in the Tray Menu, now
in FolderCache all you have to do is put the pipe character('|') by itself in
the Edit Line and hit Enter. Default browser will be opened to FavesSoft
hotkey page. If anything follows the pipe on the line, it will be assumed to
be a URL and an attempt will be made to open default browser to that page
(e.g. entering: |www.donationcoder.com should browse to this site)