Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 04:17:14 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.3.0  (Read 71075 times)

achmed13

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2009, 11:05:06 AM »
I updated my FScript.dll in all of my plugins and it fixed the problem. 

Thanks.

bb123456

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2009, 07:55:58 PM »
Wow.  This is great. 

Question: I find that I am typing in similar sets of parameters a lot, ex. "ws text2\ ext:.txt /a"  Is there a way to setup an alias to shorten that?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,409
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #27 on: May 20, 2009, 08:07:23 PM »
there sure is.
you create an alias that uses the dosearch function.  here's a thread with an example:
http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=8781.0

boo_radley

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #28 on: May 20, 2009, 10:51:34 PM »
This is a fantastic plugin! :up: The /a flag is super too.

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #29 on: May 21, 2009, 09:19:02 AM »
Thanks for the feedback guys! It helps me decide if I should invest any more time in this plugin.

bb123456

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #30 on: May 21, 2009, 09:33:43 AM »
there sure is.
you create an alias that uses the dosearch function.  here's a thread with an example:
http://www.donationc...dex.php?topic=8781.0
Thanks.  Works great!

bb123456

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #31 on: May 21, 2009, 09:45:37 AM »
Here's what would turn this into total nirvana for me.  Imagine I enter "ws kind:contact doug".  I'll get a list like follows
1: Doug Smith
2: Douglas Ward
3: Mike Douglas

If I could choose one of these results and rather than opening the outlook contact file, I could specify what field (windows search indexed) I wanted to have returned in FARR.  So if I wanted to see Douglas Ward's mobile, I would choose 2 then "mobile".

Better yet, have the returned field be another parameter in a larger string.  So if I want to send Douglas Ward an email, I can use ws to search for him and pass the email parameter into the current FARR email alias.

Not sure if I explained that very well.

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #32 on: May 21, 2009, 02:58:26 PM »
I think I understand and it sounds like a very good idea to me! I'm just no sure I was thinking about investing that much time ;)

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #33 on: May 22, 2009, 07:12:29 AM »
I've installed it in plugins section while program was still open, exited, restarted it and get this message:

http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/8509/screenshot522200980822a.jpg
FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.3.0

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #34 on: May 23, 2009, 08:18:21 AM »
No idea what the problem could be. I found the following thread:

http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=18208.0

Don't know if that is of any help though.

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #35 on: May 23, 2009, 12:22:01 PM »
phitsc,

It's probably a corrupted file.
You know, i've been using one of those registry fixers (one of the most used freeware versions) and my hunch is that program does perhaps more damage than anything else.
Of course, files do go corrupt too.

Jespar

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #36 on: May 31, 2009, 02:48:15 AM »
I get the same error as dantheman.

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #37 on: June 02, 2009, 02:59:02 AM »
dantheman,

it sounded like you were able to resolve the problem. Would you mind describing how you did that?

Thanks.

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #38 on: June 03, 2009, 05:40:19 PM »
phitsc,

Actually, as i said, it was a hunch.
After receiving the alert to this post, i decided to try again.
Closed FARR, installed it to plugins section, restart FARR and still get same error message.
This time, i don't have any tweaking software on my recently re-installed notebook.
Sorry!   :o

XP Home SP3

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #39 on: June 04, 2009, 02:04:42 AM »
Hmm, only thing I can suggest right now is to try what this guys did:

http://www.techtalkz...640-propsys-dll.html

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #40 on: June 05, 2009, 04:05:48 AM »
Just curious.

Is it normal that the extracted files to your plugin be dispersed in the FARR plugins section?
All the other ones have their respective folders.

Also, i wonder why i would need this propsys.dll on a freshly installed OS without any tweaking programs like CCleaner running?


phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #41 on: June 05, 2009, 04:20:14 AM »
Just curious.

Is it normal that the extracted files to your plugin be dispersed in the FARR plugins section?
All the other ones have their respective folders.
No. That is certainly not correct! Make sure to unzip to a subdirectory instead of 'unzip here', or use Window's own 'Extract All...'.

Also, i wonder why i would need this propsys.dll on a freshly installed OS without any tweaking programs like CCleaner running?
To be honest, I would expect propsys.dll to be installed on a freshly installed Windows XP or Vista. I found this: http://pcsupport.abo...nd-missing-error.htm

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #42 on: June 05, 2009, 04:27:54 AM »
With last free WinZip version, i installed propsys.dll to manually created folder within FARR plugins section (after online Jotti's malware check), rebooted and still get same error message.  :(

Will follow up on your link later on in the day. Thanks!

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #43 on: June 05, 2009, 04:37:14 AM »
With last free WinZip version, i installed propsys.dll to manually created folder within FARR plugins section (after online Jotti's malware check), rebooted and still get same error message.  :(

Will follow up on your link later on in the day. Thanks!
Sorry for the misunderstanding. propsys.dll is not a FarrWindowsSearch dll, it is a Windows System dll (which is why it's so weird it isn't there). You'd have to copy it to the Windows\system32 directory.

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #44 on: June 05, 2009, 05:24:04 PM »
phitsc,

I too am for not expressing myself correctly.
Yes, i did install the propsys.dll into the Windows/system32 directory.
That's why i rebooted.

After taking a peak at the link you gave, my system is in perfect shape and i don't plan on installing any registry tweakin' program as i'm not feeling any major slowdown in system operations.

I've used NOD32 before and there were no problems in that area when i first experienced that error message.

Patience!
« Last Edit: June 05, 2009, 05:27:41 PM by dantheman »

rogal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • It's what you do that defines you.
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #45 on: June 12, 2009, 12:40:29 AM »
When I try to search (input 3 characters), FARR crashes almost everytime. I'm using Vista 32. Am I the only one who is having this problem?
Joon

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #46 on: June 29, 2009, 06:25:54 AM »
When I try to search (input 3 characters), FARR crashes almost everytime. I'm using Vista 32. Am I the only one who is having this problem?
Sorry for the lack of response, forgot about your post. As it seems, no one else is having the problem, or not enough people are using the plugin (so that the problem would annoy more people).

If you're willing to help I could add some code to the plugin to help me track down the bug on your machine.

rogal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • It's what you do that defines you.
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #47 on: June 29, 2009, 09:43:31 AM »
If you're willing to help I could add some code to the plugin to help me track down the bug on your machine.

That would be great. Thanks. Please let me know what to do. :)

Joon
Joon

dantheman

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 591
  • Be good if you can!
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #48 on: July 10, 2009, 07:08:52 AM »
phitsc,

I've not lost interest in this plugin!
Have recently reinstalled my notebook and it's a no go.
Is it possible that it won't work with XP Home loaded with SP2 ?

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,187
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR plugin: FARR Windows Search 0.1.0
« Reply #49 on: July 27, 2009, 07:31:09 AM »
Hi dantheman,

sorry for the late reply, I was on holiday.

I never tried with XP Home, only with Vista Home Premium and XP Professional. I can't imagine that being the problem though. Are you still having the same problem with the missing propsys.dll? And that with a freshly installed copy of Win XP?

phitsc,

I've not lost interest in this plugin!
Have recently reinstalled my notebook and it's a no go.
Is it possible that it won't work with XP Home loaded with SP2 ?