Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 23, 2014, 06:01:16 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Need some help here  (Read 5913 times)
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: April 08, 2009, 03:21:26 AM »

I've this thing called μTorrent, which I sometimes want to open from FARR. But when I can't find the μ-key and i do not want to learn it. Can i assign a nickname to μTorrent, like utorrent?
Logged
bgd77
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 203


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 04:10:52 AM »

I think this is down by using aliases, but I do not know exactly how to configure it. Hope a more expert member will lighten us.

I have the same problem with this program, but I search for "torrent" to open the program.
Logged
bgd77
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 203


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 04:21:44 AM »

Ok, I found how to do it.  cheesy

1) open FARR.
2) open the options.
3) in Lists, go to Aliases/Groups.
4) from "Select Aliases/Group file to configure" select myaliases.alias
5) right click in the empty space and choose "Add new entry"
6) in the "Group Alias Name" enter utorrent (or what you want)
7) in the Results enter the path to utorrent (or click the open folder icon from the bottom and go to the executable)
Cool click OK. the next time you search utorrent in FARR, it will the first option

FARR - it is a GREAT program!
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,066



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2009, 04:51:53 AM »

well if I search for maker i get
Textmaker
Planmaker
etc.

so you could always just search for torrent as bgd77 says
it's probably found it by the time you've the second r typed (if not the first time probably the second time)
Logged

Tom
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,047



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2009, 05:49:22 AM »

ĀµTorrent is also commonly known as uTorrent so you need to type just 'utorrent' to get the result. but i'm not sure what name it goes by in the start menu link so the previous responses are also valid, you can type something like 'torrent' unless you already have an alias with the same name.
Logged

Enzomaticus
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 12

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2009, 08:24:34 AM »

I find that if I type in utorr... it doesn't show up but uT.. pops it up immediately without even needing my aliases. As bgd77 said, it's a fantastic program and I couldn't live without it on my machine. When you get into aliases and other advanced uses it will save you so much time.
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2009, 10:23:54 AM »

aliases works great here with utorrent now.

Can I create some alias to search in a particular folder. I've these tv shows and sometimes i want an episode. so when i would type "family guy blue harvest" it would start searching in a specified folder. Is that possible?
Logged
nitrix-ud
Charter Member
***
Posts: 482

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2009, 12:26:28 PM »

Quote
Can I create some alias to search in a particular folder. I've these tv shows and sometimes i want an episode. so when i would type "family guy blue harvest" it would start searching in a specified folder. Is that possible?

sorry i have no time to answer your question...
but here are some hints:

search folders optional keyword modifier (specify your folder there then add a keyword modifier : tvshow)
+
use dosearch command in an alias :
name of alias : tvshow
regex mask : ^tvshow (.*)
(Search tvshow $$1 | dosearch +tvshow $$1)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,691



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2009, 04:59:22 PM »

What nitrix says is right, though his instructions may be too brief to be enough for you to figure it out.

I've been meaning to put up some video demos and tutorials but i've been really sick for the last couple of days and so i haven't been so productive lately.

To do what you want there is 1 mandatory step, and one optional step.

The mandatory step is to go create an entry in the Search Folders tab with the directory you want to sometimes search.  For that directory, specify an Optional Modifier keyword, like: tv

Once you do that, the tv directory will be searched (and only be searched) when you add +tv to your search, for example: "family guy +tv"

Now the second step comes in if you dont want to have to type +tv, you can do what nitrix says and create an alias to simulate this, by making an alias with a regular expression like ^tvshow (.*) and for the result of that specify dosearch +tv $$1

The creation of the alias is a bit contrived in this case since it doesnt save you much typing, but there are cases where it might be useful.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,066



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2009, 05:14:38 PM »

hope you're feeling better mouser ...

I know next to nothing about how FARR works but wouldn't it make more sense to be able to type "+tv" first and then FARR would know where to start searching when you start typing -
otherwise it's searching all the time you're typing f-a-m-i-l-y- -g-u-y etc.

To me that's the big plus about FARR - that I dont have to type so much, but then I'm no typist ...
Logged

Tom
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,691



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2009, 05:15:37 PM »

sorry i wasn't clear, you can put the +tv anywhere in the search string, it doesn't matter.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,047



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2009, 08:27:59 PM »

hey mouser, didn't know that you're feeling not well. hope you're feeling better now..

@Coeluh: i've posted here some screenshots on how to do this here. from there on, creating alias is dependent on the modifier keyword which can be used as in nitrix-ud's and mouser's instructions.
Logged

Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2009, 03:00:55 AM »

What nitrix says is right, though his instructions may be too brief to be enough for you to figure it out.

I've been meaning to put up some video demos and tutorials but i've been really sick for the last couple of days and so i haven't been so productive lately.

To do what you want there is 1 mandatory step, and one optional step.

The mandatory step is to go create an entry in the Search Folders tab with the directory you want to sometimes search.  For that directory, specify an Optional Modifier keyword, like: tv

Once you do that, the tv directory will be searched (and only be searched) when you add +tv to your search, for example: "family guy +tv"

Now the second step comes in if you dont want to have to type +tv, you can do what nitrix says and create an alias to simulate this, by making an alias with a regular expression like ^tvshow (.*) and for the result of that specify dosearch +tv $$1

The creation of the alias is a bit contrived in this case since it doesnt save you much typing, but there are cases where it might be useful.



Well the program crashes when I type +tv, so that sucks..
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: June 21, 2009, 06:18:07 AM »

One more time: How do I create a prefix which immediately points to a folder to search in?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,691



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: June 21, 2009, 07:33:44 AM »

the thread posts about show how to do it..
are you still getting that crash? if so could you tell me what you set up to try?'

also, i'd like to make a plea for people to name their topics in a way that will help others identify them as something useful or non-useful for them to read.
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: June 21, 2009, 08:42:34 AM »

the thread posts about show how to do it..
are you still getting that crash? if so could you tell me what you set up to try?'
Well I'm testing it right now. The +tv thingy is really working. How could I remove the need of typing the '+' symbol?

Quote
also, i'd like to make a plea for people to name their topics in a way that will help others identify them as something useful or non-useful for them to read.
Yeah sorry, I made a mistake. Normally mine are clear as a whistle, arent they?
« Last Edit: June 21, 2009, 08:45:50 AM by Coeluh » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,691



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2009, 08:56:55 AM »

Quote
How could I remove the need of typing the '+' symbol?

see post above about using dosearch.

Let's say you wanted it to work if you type "tvshow family guy"
You can do what nitrix says and create an alias to simulate this, by making an alias with a regular expression like ^tvshow (.*) and for the result of that specify dosearch +tv $$1


Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2009, 03:49:35 AM »

Quote
How could I remove the need of typing the '+' symbol?

see post above about using dosearch.

Let's say you wanted it to work if you type "tvshow family guy"
You can do what nitrix says and create an alias to simulate this, by making an alias with a regular expression like ^tvshow (.*) and for the result of that specify dosearch +tv $$1


Does not work. I am doing something wrong, I just know it.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,691



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: June 22, 2009, 05:10:32 AM »

it looks ok to me.

can i confirm you are saying that with this alias and the other thing you did, it works if you type:
+tv family guy

but it doesn't work if you type:
tvshow family guy

Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: June 27, 2009, 04:08:23 AM »

it looks ok to me.

can i confirm you are saying that with this alias and the other thing you did, it works if you type:
+tv family guy

but it doesn't work if you type:
tvshow family guy

True
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,691



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2009, 06:49:08 AM »

something must be wrong with your tvshow regular expression alias - check to make sure you havent unchecked/disabled it.  what happens when you type tvshow family guy?
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2009, 03:46:21 AM »

something must be wrong with your tvshow regular expression alias - check to make sure you havent unchecked/disabled it.  what happens when you type tvshow family guy?
I have fixed it. Now it is TV instead of tvshow, and it works. Dont ask me why. But when I search now it is displaying all the results, not just the first 9. We're almost there...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.041s | Server load: 0.11 ]