Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 07:54:44 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation  (Read 2634 times)

Jesper Hertel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« on: June 29, 2009, 05:41:39 AM »
Each time I install an update to FARR (which is quite often these days due to a lot of updates :)), I have to manually start FARR again from the Start menu.

Could it be possible to add a "Start Find And Run Robot when I press Finish" option, checked by default, to the last page of the installer?

I mean, anyway, nobody would ever want to use a computer without FARR running on it, right? ;)

phitsc

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,112
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2009, 06:18:22 AM »
I have that too, but only on my Vista Home machine. On Windows XP it starts automatically after each update. Don't know if the OS is what really makes the difference though.

Jesper Hertel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2009, 07:25:49 AM »
Ah, actually I am also using Vista (Home Premium)... So maybe it is simply a bug that FARR doesn't start again after the update?

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,999
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2009, 07:26:02 AM »
The reason it doesn't offer to start the program after installation/update on Vista/Win7 (it does on others) is that it would end up running the program under the elevated administrator account that all installers run as, which could cause problems if you normally run as a different user.

What i need to do to fix this is to figure out if there is a function in Inno Setup installer that lets me tell it specifically not to do this, or if i can put something in the program manifest to have it revert back to normal user when launching.

Jesper Hertel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2009, 07:56:57 AM »
Ah, that makes sense - I understand the problem and see the challenge...

MerleOne

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 941
  • 4D thinking
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2009, 08:20:31 AM »
A suggestion, coming back from Win3.1 times.... Why not open the folder where Find and Run Robot start menu item are lying, so the user just has to double click on the icon to restart FARR with the right elevation ?  Of course this would only be triggered on VISTA/7.
.merle1.

Jesper Hertel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2009, 08:25:07 AM »
Seems quite funny if that should be necessary. :D The computer asking the user "Will you please click this icon and then close the window?"

Aren't computers meant to do exactly this kind of stuff for us...? ;D

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,999
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2009, 08:30:12 AM »
Quote
Why not open the folder where Find and Run Robot start menu item are lying, so the user just has to double click on the icon to restart FARR with the right elevation

That's a reasonable workaround, not a bad idea at all.. if i don't find a better solution soon i'll do that.

MerleOne

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 941
  • 4D thinking
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2009, 09:34:05 AM »
Sure, but this comes from the time where there was no real start menu in Windows, so the only way to launch apps was to have a shortcut on the desktop or a direct navigation with the file explorer.  Opening a windows with the shorcuts after install was enabling the user to launch the installed app.  And closing that window was slightly frightening, because the folder location was not always obvious.  Anyway, installers improved afterwards...

Seems quite funny if that should be necessary. :D The computer asking the user "Will you please click this icon and then close the window?"

Aren't computers meant to do exactly this kind of stuff for us...? ;D
.merle1.

Jesper Hertel

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2009, 10:14:47 AM »
And closing that window was slightly frightening, because the folder location was not always obvious.
;D

Quote
Anyway, installers improved afterwards...
But then came Windows Vista...  :D

I think I understand the problem, but I still find it quite amusing  ;D