Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 29, 2014, 01:56:52 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2013! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Option to start Find And Run Robot after installation  (Read 2414 times)
Jesper Hertel
Charter Member
***
Posts: 86


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: June 29, 2009, 05:41:39 AM »

Each time I install an update to FARR (which is quite often these days due to a lot of updates smiley), I have to manually start FARR again from the Start menu.

Could it be possible to add a "Start Find And Run Robot when I press Finish" option, checked by default, to the last page of the installer?

I mean, anyway, nobody would ever want to use a computer without FARR running on it, right? Wink
Logged
phitsc
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 977



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2009, 06:18:22 AM »

I have that too, but only on my Vista Home machine. On Windows XP it starts automatically after each update. Don't know if the OS is what really makes the difference though.
Logged

Jesper Hertel
Charter Member
***
Posts: 86


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2009, 07:25:49 AM »

Ah, actually I am also using Vista (Home Premium)... So maybe it is simply a bug that FARR doesn't start again after the update?
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2009, 07:26:02 AM »

The reason it doesn't offer to start the program after installation/update on Vista/Win7 (it does on others) is that it would end up running the program under the elevated administrator account that all installers run as, which could cause problems if you normally run as a different user.

What i need to do to fix this is to figure out if there is a function in Inno Setup installer that lets me tell it specifically not to do this, or if i can put something in the program manifest to have it revert back to normal user when launching.
Logged
Jesper Hertel
Charter Member
***
Posts: 86


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2009, 07:56:57 AM »

Ah, that makes sense - I understand the problem and see the challenge...
Logged
MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 885


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2009, 08:20:31 AM »

A suggestion, coming back from Win3.1 times.... Why not open the folder where Find and Run Robot start menu item are lying, so the user just has to double click on the icon to restart FARR with the right elevation ?  Of course this would only be triggered on VISTA/7.
Logged

.merle1.
Jesper Hertel
Charter Member
***
Posts: 86


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2009, 08:25:07 AM »

Seems quite funny if that should be necessary. cheesy The computer asking the user "Will you please click this icon and then close the window?"

Aren't computers meant to do exactly this kind of stuff for us...? Grin
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2009, 08:30:12 AM »

Quote
Why not open the folder where Find and Run Robot start menu item are lying, so the user just has to double click on the icon to restart FARR with the right elevation

That's a reasonable workaround, not a bad idea at all.. if i don't find a better solution soon i'll do that.
Logged
MerleOne
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 885


4D thinking

see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2009, 09:34:05 AM »

Sure, but this comes from the time where there was no real start menu in Windows, so the only way to launch apps was to have a shortcut on the desktop or a direct navigation with the file explorer.  Opening a windows with the shorcuts after install was enabling the user to launch the installed app.  And closing that window was slightly frightening, because the folder location was not always obvious.  Anyway, installers improved afterwards...

Seems quite funny if that should be necessary. cheesy The computer asking the user "Will you please click this icon and then close the window?"

Aren't computers meant to do exactly this kind of stuff for us...? Grin
Logged

.merle1.
Jesper Hertel
Charter Member
***
Posts: 86


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2009, 10:14:47 AM »

And closing that window was slightly frightening, because the folder location was not always obvious.
Grin

Quote
Anyway, installers improved afterwards...
But then came Windows Vista...  cheesy

I think I understand the problem, but I still find it quite amusing  Grin
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.034s | Server load: 0.06 ]