Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 02:13:09 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: "Invalid security certificate" on clicking a DC link in Google results  (Read 3573 times)

nosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Just a heads-up.

I sometimes get this warning on clicking a DC forum link in Google's search results using Firefox.
Clipboard01.png

Google URL when this happened today.

If this isn't isolated and happens to others it might be pretty off-putting to someone who hasn't heard of the site.

I've chosen to "add an exception" on prior occasions but I noticed today that the exception url that pops up is very thread+message specific, so it doesn't really help in the future.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 02:44:17 AM by nosh »

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
we need to worry about this -- i think it means google is indexing https:// versions of pages not http:// version of pages..

nosh, can you tell us the exact url that google was pointing to on our site?

ewemoa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 2,845
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I looked at the results that nosh pointed at and noticed the following:

  http://www.donationc...?topic=8636.msg71818

Does that help at all?

nosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
That's the one.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Yep.. now we have to figure out why its indexing that page as a https

Ehtyar

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,237
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
You could add a noindex tag to the https pages, I'd imagine you can do that in the template somewhere.

if (!empty($_SERVER['HTTPS']))
    echo '<meta name="robots" content="noindex,nofollow" />';

Ehtyar.