Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 03:41:21 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: IE8 on the loose!  (Read 13134 times)

Josh

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Points: -5
  • Posts: 3,395
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IE8 on the loose!
« on: March 19, 2009, 03:18:52 PM »
It appears Microsoft has released IE8 into the wild. Thoughts? Comments? Concerns? Universal idiosyncratic quandries?

Source

fenixproductions

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,184
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2009, 03:34:59 PM »
I've tested it for 2h (browsing only) and must say that I am impressed with speed. It is quicker on my PC than Firefox!

Unfortunately: standard mode has problems with some JS effects (like lightbox or lytebox). This part is the only slow one (for now). I had to switch to "compatibility mode" but even despite that: there is visible difference between IE8 and 7 for sure.

And I really like Wiki suggestions while typing :)

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2009, 08:02:24 PM »
so is it worth downloading, or should I just stick with chrome and IE7
[Insert really cool signature here]

fenixproductions

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,184
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2009, 09:35:24 PM »
2nite_monkey
I can give you two reasons why it's worth:
1. quicker than IE7 (does not matter is it compability or standard mode),
2. it's always good to have components used by other software updated.

P.S. Even if I stick with Opera, some of the applications I use will be less buggy (I hope).

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2009, 09:48:07 PM »
I went ahead and downloaded after I made that post, I guess I will go ahead and install it. Chances are, no more than I use IE, I probably wont have any problems with it.
[Insert really cool signature here]

a_lunatic

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Fulltime Single Dad
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2009, 11:10:48 PM »
I removed it as doesn't seem to play nice with feed demon.

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2009, 11:59:20 PM »
So far the only thing I have found of use to it compared to IE7 is it seems to be slightly faster (though I haven't used IE7 or 8 that much anyways) So overall I think it is a pretty good improvement, but I can't say much until I use IE8 more.
[Insert really cool signature here]

wreckedcarzz

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,623
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2009, 12:26:37 AM »
Any idea when it will be released through Windows Update? Patch Tuesday maybe?

I don't wanna have to go around and update all these machines manually (I'm lazy lately :P)

nosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2009, 07:09:25 AM »
I removed it as doesn't seem to play nice with feed demon.

What's broken? I haven't faced any issues with FeedDemon.

fenixproductions

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,184
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2009, 08:42:20 AM »
Any idea when it will be released through Windows Update? Patch Tuesday maybe?
End of April:
http://www.neowin.ne...tic-updates-schedule

a_lunatic

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Fulltime Single Dad
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2009, 08:44:13 AM »
What's broken? I haven't faced any issues with FeedDemon.
I am using vista x64 & feed demon at first becomes non responsive & then crashes & I even had troubles with the RC1 as well.

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2009, 11:50:20 AM »
No problems here with FeeDemon and IE8 under Vista x64. I installed IE8 yesterday and have rebooted twice since then and all is well. Only possible "difference" between my install and yours is that I am still on FeeDemon 2.7.0.0 (last version without Ads).
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

nosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2009, 12:33:29 PM »
I am running the latest FeedDemon beta, but on XP-32 so I can't really compare.

It did break EmEditor's shell integration though, I confirmed this by installing IE8 on a virtual machine where I faced the same problem. Probably because I've used some dirty hacks to replace notepad.exe and the text editor is installed in c:\windows. :-[
Uninstalling IE8 got me back to IE6 but that didn't fix anything, so I've upgraded again and got the text editor integrated manually using the registry.

nosh

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 1,426
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2009, 01:21:17 PM »
Digital Inspiration has some informative posts about how to use IE8's new 'Web Slices' on your site.

Tutorial: How to Write an IE8 Web Slice for WordPress Blogs

Turn your RSS Feed into a Web Slice for Internet Explorer 8

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2009, 04:59:10 PM »
which web browsers use the temporary internet files folder? Everytime I run IE8 and then close it, I will get a virus warning from avast in the temp internet files folder, and another one in the sysWOW64 folder. (I don't remember what the one in the temp folder is, but the virus in the syswow64 folder is something like 168659.exe or something like that) I dropped back to IE7 in hopes that this problem is resolved. If it helps any, when I used IE8, I never when to any sites that I didn't go to in IE7 or in chrome for that matter
[Insert really cool signature here]

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #15 on: March 21, 2009, 06:10:20 PM »
Hm, one thing is stuff in temporary internet files (afaik only IE and IE-based browsers use that) - but a strangely named exe file in your syswow64 folder? That sounds bad!
- carpe noctem

nite_monkey

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 727
    • View Profile
    • Just Plain Super
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2009, 06:37:39 PM »
I don't know, it seems to put a virus in the temp folder and in the syswow64 folder. I've downgraded back to IE7, I'm going to stop using chrome for a while and use IE7 and see if the virus reappear. I may see if I can install xp x64 in a virtual machine and then put IE8 on that and see if I can get the same results.
[Insert really cool signature here]

foxnolds

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2009, 06:39:15 PM »
I installed IE8 on XP SP3, after install reboot, it just flashed a full white screen then dies.
Manually removed IE8 back to IE6 and rebooted. Tried to install IE8 again but after install reboot, the same happened.
IE Tab in Firefox still works so that is my only choice for accessing ActiveX sites now....

I have not seen a solution. I was running the IE8 Beta just fine on this PC before upgrading tot he official release.

J-Mac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2,913
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2009, 05:53:35 PM »
....I am still on FeeDemon 2.7.0.0 (last version without Ads).

Me too - and there I'll stay!!

After paying for another year and then having it go free, I am not also gonna get their damn ads!!   8)

Jim

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2009, 06:27:27 PM »
....I am still on FeeDemon 2.7.0.0 (last version without Ads).

Me too - and there I'll stay!!

After paying for another year and then having it go free, I am not also gonna get their damn ads!!   8)

Jim

 ;D
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Dirhael

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
    • defreitas.no
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #20 on: March 24, 2009, 09:51:59 PM »
....I am still on FeeDemon 2.7.0.0 (last version without Ads).

Me too - and there I'll stay!!

After paying for another year and then having it go free, I am not also gonna get their damn ads!!   8)

Jim

 ;D

Block northmay.com and the ads will go the way of the Dodo bird. Well, you will be left with a dark empty space where they used to be so it may not be the best solution for everyone, but it works for me*



* I really want to be able to use the upcoming 2.8 release which likely will have the ability to sync with Google Reader.
Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #21 on: March 24, 2009, 10:26:13 PM »
Dirhael - would you be willing to post a screen shot of how bad FeedDemon looks with northmay.com blocked? I’m quite happy where I am but if, in future, I decide to update it would be nice to have some control over what the GUI looks like...
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

J-Mac

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 2,913
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2009, 10:47:57 PM »
Right now I am OK with 2.7. Google Reader doesn't do anything at all for me, so I won't miss that integration in 2.8.

Thanks!

Jim

rgdot

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • Posts: 1,879
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2009, 12:35:56 AM »
Hope I can install it without problems when forced, had some still inexplicable trouble when upgrading to 7 a while back. Better solution for me would be not getting it until next PC, if my next computer is going to be Windows that is ;)

Dirhael

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
    • defreitas.no
    • Donate to Member
Re: IE8 on the loose!
« Reply #24 on: March 25, 2009, 07:11:05 AM »
Dirhael - would you be willing to post a screen shot of how bad FeedDemon looks with northmay.com blocked? I’m quite happy where I am but if, in future, I decide to update it would be nice to have some control over what the GUI looks like...

Absolutely, here's a screenshot for you :)

NewsGator FeedDemon 2.8.0.9 RC2 (2).pngIE8 on the loose!

Right now I am OK with 2.7. Google Reader doesn't do anything at all for me, so I won't miss that integration in 2.8.

Thanks!

Jim

I don't use Google Reader all that much either, but it's fantastic for reading feeds on mobile browsers seeing as it can also adapt linked pages for viewing on such devices.
Registered nurse by day, hobby programmer by night.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2009, 07:14:47 AM by Dirhael »