Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 02:49:12 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.2]  (Read 87083 times)

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #150 on: April 05, 2010, 08:06:07 PM »
My apologies everyone... the problem was that TimeAndDate.com changed the way they constructed their web pages, not a lot but enough to break my RegEx.

I've uploaded a fix and I'll have a look at fixing it so if they change back again it wont break again. Your settings should still be ok as I don't overwrite them  ;)

New version in the first post of this thread and on my site if dcUpdater hasn't downloaded the new version for you..

Please let me know if that fixes it for you too...

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #151 on: April 06, 2010, 01:26:48 AM »
Got new version, but my times are still wrong!  UK should be 1 hour behind but TZ still says 2...

 :)

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #152 on: April 06, 2010, 05:01:27 AM »
Got new version, but my times are still wrong!  UK should be 1 hour behind but TZ still says 2...

 :)

You may need to do a manual Download as the new version keeps previous data and unless your timezone has moved in or out of DST it doesn't know what you're looking at...

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #153 on: April 06, 2010, 06:02:58 AM »
OK - thanks will do Perry!  :Thmbsup:

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #154 on: April 06, 2010, 06:09:47 AM »
That did the trick - Thanks!  :Thmbsup:

dortom

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2009
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #155 on: April 06, 2010, 06:17:40 AM »
Thanks from me as well :Thmbsup:

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 5,429
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #156 on: April 06, 2010, 06:54:29 AM »
@Perry Mowbray: Thanks!      :Thmbsup:

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #157 on: April 06, 2010, 07:57:25 AM »
All good here. Thanks for making the adaptation!
I must say, though, that when all the times appeared to be the same it gave me a wonderful sense that I was managing to keep up with things  ;D

aless

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #158 on: April 07, 2010, 02:32:25 AM »


That they have, so I'll make the changes... sorry for the problems  :-[.

Your settings should be fine; well I hope they are... they're contained in the timezone.ini file. You can make a backup copy of this file if you like and edit it by hand if necessary (well, copy and paste probably)...
[/quote]

Hi and thanks for fixing the problem. In my installation, however, there is still something not working correctly.

If, in TZ Options, I set 'Country - City Name' in List type the drop-down everything is working correctly.

If I choose 'City Name', instead of a list of the cities with tjeir relative time zones I get a list showing the day and the time of my time zone for every favorite I added to the list, i.e.

Wed 02:30 PM
Wed 02:30 PM
Wed 02:30 PM
...

This after a fresh installation.

The list of time zones is correctly downloaded as the Data folder contains both data1.xml and data2.xml, the former showing the list of the cities.

 aless

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.3.3]
« Reply #159 on: April 07, 2010, 04:01:03 AM »

If I choose 'City Name', instead of a list of the cities with tjeir relative time zones I get a list showing the day and the time of my time zone for every favorite I added to the list, i.e.


Thanks, I'll PM you instructions...  :huh:

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #160 on: April 09, 2010, 04:32:32 AM »
Updated TimeZone to 1.4.0!

Included in this update:
  • Favourite Checking: Option for TimeZone to check your Favourites for time changes on FARR launch. If a discrepancy is found (probably due to DST), the data file will be downloaded.
    • An option also exists to limit Favourite checking to certain months (i.e. DST change months).
  • Backup of Settings: The Settings ini will be backed up (1 version) on each save (just in case).
  • Fixed bug: TempFile not deleted
  • FARRTimeZone.exe updated to 2.1.0:
    • Settings rollover messages fixed & added to INI files (all those using language files I'd appreciate you checking the Google translations  :-[ and emailing them to me -- thanks)
    • General functional improvements:  Hopefully future proofed further changes at TimeAndDate.com  ;)
    • Improved error feedback during download

Appreciate feedback. I've noticed that dcUpdater doesn't seem to be playing the same game with FARR, previously I'd thought that when the plugin was updated that FARR reloaded it again but when I just ran through that process here it didn't seem to and I had to do it manually.  :-\

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #161 on: April 09, 2010, 08:14:29 AM »
Updated TimeZone to 1.4.0!

Thanks for the extra effort, Perry!

« Last Edit: April 09, 2010, 08:42:08 AM by cranioscopical »

CleverCat

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 1,137
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #162 on: April 10, 2010, 01:55:33 AM »
Mine behaved today and auto updated... :Thmbsup:

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #163 on: April 10, 2010, 07:00:27 AM »
It's actually pretty nifty to watch it (in the tray) checking your favourites and updating automatically (the icon changes).

In testing I was manually editing the data file, but I'd like to hear from anyone who has had it do it's thing in the wild (so to speak)  :D

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,301
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #164 on: April 10, 2010, 07:38:33 AM »
It's working fine here, having picked up my existing .ini file  :Thmbsup:

I installed by stopping FARR and then replacing the TimeZone folder under FARR\plugins.
When I restarted FARR, TimeZone initialized fine but 'tz' showed me my local time for all slots.
One manual TZ ReDownload fixed that (I have 'download each launch' turned off).

Thanks again for the fixes!

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #165 on: April 11, 2010, 06:31:22 PM »
I installed by stopping FARR and then replacing the TimeZone folder under FARR\plugins.
When I restarted FARR, TimeZone initialized fine but 'tz' showed me my local time for all slots.
One manual TZ ReDownload fixed that (I have 'download each launch' turned off).

Would that have been using tz before the download/extraction had completed? You'd see the TimeZone icon in the system tray...

CyberEvil

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #166 on: June 24, 2010, 04:44:19 PM »
Hi, I would like to report, that I'm getting the same problem reported on previous pages, where I can't open the options... I can bring the configuration tool through the command prompt with settings -600, but nothing ele.
I've installed FARR yesterday, and today this plugin, so I'm using latest versions on both. I'm using Windows 7 x64.

Ancy clue? attaching a screenshot as reference:

http://dl.dropbox.co...meZone/tzoptions.png

I would love to get this plugin working... looks amazing!

Thanks :)

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #167 on: June 24, 2010, 09:13:20 PM »
It looks like your data file has not been generated (i.e. no entries in the Timezone dropdown). The download should happen when FARRtz starts up the first time.

You can manually trigger a download by using the TimeZone ReDownload option (from FARR)

Apart from that, I'm not sure who else is using it on Win7 64? I'm certainly not, so have not tested it...

CyberEvil

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #168 on: June 25, 2010, 07:44:03 AM »
Hi, the download never happened... still the same.

And I believe is an unicode problem, it does not tries to download anything...

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #169 on: June 25, 2010, 07:51:25 AM »
Can you zip up the TimeZone/data directory and send it to me with the TimeZone/timezone.ini file?

PM me for my email address...

CyberEvil

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #170 on: June 25, 2010, 09:08:52 AM »
Sure, here it goes! Thanks for the help! :)

http://dl.dropbox.co...97/TimeZone/Data.rar

btw there is no timezone.ini, except for the localized ones inside /Locale
« Last Edit: June 25, 2010, 09:10:42 AM by CyberEvil »

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,809
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #171 on: June 25, 2010, 09:48:18 AM »
No timezone.ini even after saving the settings?  :-\

And you can't run settings from FARR? That means that FARR and javascript plugin is having issues...

what happens when you run FARRTimeZone.exe download -600??

CyberEvil

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #172 on: June 25, 2010, 10:39:01 AM »
Using that, puts some icon on the taskbar, which dissapears after 2 seconds. No .ini gets in place. I assume that window is the one that should appear when selecting "Timezone ReDownload" (which does nothing for me). Tried also elevating the prompt to see if that makes any difference, but does the same :(

IainB

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 5,429
  • Slartibartfarst
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #173 on: June 25, 2010, 12:59:15 PM »
@Perry Mowbray: I have had to uninstall:
  • Gmail Tasks
  • GooglePlus
  • TimeZone

Each one of them appeared to be causing FARR to crash on start-up.
(I did post about this elsewhere.)

CyberEvil

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2010
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.0]
« Reply #174 on: June 25, 2010, 02:32:34 PM »
IainB: For what it counts, I have the latest versions of them all (gt, gp, tz) and the latest FARR and the only one failing for me (not crashing, just not working) is tz...