Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 17, 2014, 10:35:03 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.2]  (Read 68790 times)
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,093


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #125 on: February 06, 2010, 01:39:13 AM »

As I told you per mail, Perry, it works for my crazy Norwegian language as well now smiley
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,795



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #126 on: February 08, 2010, 04:21:55 AM »

TimeZone has just been updated to 1.3.2 and it now supports any TimeZone language and the number of Favourites has been increased to 50 (let me know if you need more than this  tongue)

 Thmbsup Thanks to TucknDar and IainB for their testing
Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,278


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #127 on: February 08, 2010, 06:00:59 AM »

@Perry Mowbray: I can confirm that dcupdater picked up and installed TZ v1.3.2 OK just now.
Only one small snag: After the TZ update was installed, FARR crashed, but I restarted FARR and the new TZ was identified by my Zone Alarm and all is working fine.

FARR and the updated TZ are still working fine on my laptop (Windows XP).
Thanks again.             Thmbsup
« Last Edit: February 08, 2010, 06:17:20 AM by IainB » Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,795



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #128 on: February 08, 2010, 06:19:42 AM »

Well, I hope that wasn't my fault IainB!  ohmy

and if TaD don't change too much too soon, all should be fine for a while  smiley
Logged

IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,278


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #129 on: February 11, 2010, 05:49:00 PM »

@Perry Mowbray: More feedback on the FARR TimeZone plugin.   Thmbsup

1. Why it crashed on update: (as per post above)
I had put the TimeZone plugin into a folder called "FARRTimeZone".
When you got DcUpdater to install/update the TimeZone plugin, you had it set so that it put it into a folder called "TimeZone".
I think that got FARR trying to update and run 2 instances of the TimeZone plugin. Result = FARR crashed and when I restarted it, TimeZone was all "wrong" (it had lost my settings).

My fix for this:
    (a) Delete the folder called "TimeZone" (which contained the TimeZone default settings from DcUpdater's latest update).
    (b) Rename folder "FARRTimeZone" to "TimeZone" (this folder contained my personal TimeZone settings).
    (c) Restart DcUpdater, which installed the TimeZone update into the "TimeZone" folder and preserved my settings.
Here is a picture of the folders in my FARR Plugins directory after this:


2. You've done a better job than Google!      Grin
Today, I was playing about with the Google-developed Google Desktop clock gadget called "Time Around the World" (which looked quite nice).
Guess what? It gets the time wrong (and it's not easily fixable by the user).
I would hazard a guess that at least one problem with that is in it not being able to account for "local time" for me being New Zealand Summer Time (1 hour difference).

Kudos to Perry Mowbray.     Thmbsup
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,655



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #130 on: February 11, 2010, 06:14:02 PM »

i think your analysis of the crash is exactly right.
Logged
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,104


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #131 on: February 12, 2010, 12:44:28 AM »

Mine says 1.2.1 - no updates available?   ohmy
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,153



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #132 on: February 12, 2010, 09:24:20 AM »

Mine says 1.2.1 - no updates available?   ohmy
I warned you not to request any more features!  Wink
Logged

Chris
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,104


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #133 on: February 13, 2010, 12:36:20 AM »

Not me, I don't speak Norwegian!  Wink
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,795



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #134 on: February 13, 2010, 06:42:20 AM »

Mine says 1.2.1 - no updates available?   ohmy

I think that's just the continent you live on -- you've had dcUpdater issues before I think?

You can install from the download in the first post if you want.

Not me, I don't speak Norwegian!  Wink

Yes, if your timeanddate.com language is English you shouldn't have issues. But the new version gives the option of more than 5 favourites (if you want them  Wink)
Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,795



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #135 on: February 13, 2010, 06:48:09 AM »

I had put the TimeZone plugin into a folder called "FARRTimeZone".

Ah, yes... that's why the installation instructions say:
Quote
Installation
Download the zip file and extract it into FARR's Plugin directory.

Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,655



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #136 on: February 13, 2010, 06:50:27 AM »

it's my fault really for not automated the procedure of placing a plugin into it's proper place Sad
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,795



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #137 on: February 13, 2010, 06:55:31 AM »

in dcUpdater?

I thought the dcupdater file had control of where to unpack??
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,655



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #138 on: February 13, 2010, 06:56:13 AM »

no not with dcupdater, im talking about initial unpacking of the plugin by the user.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2010, 06:59:08 AM by mouser » Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,278


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #139 on: February 13, 2010, 10:24:02 PM »

@Perry Mowbray and mouser:
Yes, I put the TimeZone plugin into a folder I created called "FARRTimeZone", in the Plugins directory - the latter being where the installation instructions said to put it. I think the instructions did not define the correct name to be used for the folder that was to be put into the Plugins directory.

Funnily enough, I originally had it named as "TimeZone", but after studying the Plugins directory, I realised that there seemed to be no file-naming convention/standard for the folders in the Plugin directory. I supposed (incorrectly) that the dcupdater (when it was provided for this plugin) would probably be set to look for and use the name "FARRTimeZone" for the folder, since that was how it was sometimes referred to in the notes.

Where mouser indicates above that he had:
Quote
"...not automated the procedure of placing a plugin into it's proper place...for initial unpacking of the plugin by the user"
- though that (automation) would probably help avoid a repeat of this type of error by myself or others, the problem was no major big deal for me.

I'm still a happy TimeZone user!    smiley
Logged
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,104


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #140 on: February 14, 2010, 12:35:36 AM »

Mine says 1.2.1 - no updates available?   ohmy

I think that's just the continent you live on -- you've had dcUpdater issues before I think?

You can install from the download in the first post if you want.

Not me, I don't speak Norwegian!  Wink

Yes, if your timeanddate.com language is English you shouldn't have issues. But the new version gives the option of more than 5 favourites (if you want them  Wink)

They don't call it 'Darkest Africa' for nothing!  Grin
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,104


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #141 on: February 14, 2010, 10:11:52 PM »

Update in - saw DC Updater flashing, but  got no pop up....
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
dortom
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #142 on: March 01, 2010, 12:05:21 AM »

The drop down list is empty and my previous cities list has gone.
I tried deleting and reinstalling but list is still missing

Log.txt

Job started: 20100301080032
Loaded TaD Days: Sun:  | Mon:  | Tue:  | Wed:  | Thu:  | Fri:  | Sat:
Using INI Days: Sun: sun | Mon: mon | Tue: tue | Wed: wed | Thu: thu | Fri: fri | Sat: sat
Download started: 20100301080033
WeekDay: 2 (Mon)
Hour: 08
Minute: 00
UTC: 20100301060033
Offset: -120 [-120]
Parsing started: 20100301080035
Parsing completed: 20100301080035
Job completed: 20100301080035




Any suggestions
Thanks
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,278


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #143 on: March 01, 2010, 05:52:02 PM »

Yes, it looks as though my 11 zone settings have been blown away too.
Now when I invoke TimeZone, I see 11 slots all showing the current (local) time - that's all (i.e., no location name).
The preferences seem to have been lost/deleted and I am unable to set them anew in the preferences - the functionality is not there. Yet it still recalls my 11 slots. Odd.

Bother!   Angry
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,278


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #144 on: March 16, 2010, 03:49:25 AM »

@Perry Mowbray: Could you help please? Same as dortom, I have been unable to recover from the last update, which seems to have now wiped my 11 time zone settings, and I am unable to reset them as the drop-down lists are empty. I don't see how to fix this.
Logged
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,153



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #145 on: March 16, 2010, 10:53:34 AM »

Same issue here, all slots show local time.
Logged

Chris
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,104


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #146 on: March 17, 2010, 12:57:42 AM »

Mine are all okay....  Thmbsup One less to worry about Perry Wink
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
aless
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #147 on: April 01, 2010, 09:21:41 AM »

Same here. I get a blank list and cannot select any timezone. Tried deleting the plug-in folder and installing a previous version. Same result.

I tried also to set my locale to English United States and my Time Zone to Greenwich, but no luck.

Using Windows XP SP2 (in English)

Maybe they changed something at timeanddate.com?
Logged
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,104


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #148 on: April 02, 2010, 01:56:29 AM »

Mine isn't recognizing DST in UK...
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,795



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #149 on: April 05, 2010, 06:27:19 PM »

Maybe they changed something at timeanddate.com?

That they have, so I'll make the changes... sorry for the problems  embarassed.

Your settings should be fine; well I hope they are... they're contained in the timezone.ini file. You can make a backup copy of this file if you like and edit it by hand if necessary (well, copy and paste probably)...
Logged

Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.049s | Server load: 0.03 ]