Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 25, 2014, 03:57:43 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Your Support Funds this Site: View the Supporter Yearbook.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: FARR Plugin: TimeZone [Update version 1.4.2]  (Read 72159 times)
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #75 on: September 06, 2009, 06:21:59 AM »

for some reasons, Stuttgart is not listed on the "Cities" drop-down list. i tried the "TZ ReDownload" option several times but there is no change. i also tried adding the code (317) manually in the "timezone.ini" file but it shows only the local time. any clues to why this happens?

it's the oddity of the site: Stuttgard is not on their City page (I guess you can't have every city).

It must be the same timezone as Berlin? Make Berlin the Favourite and add "Stuttgart" as the Label and tick Replace ("Rep")

And, that's right: adding 317 as the URL doesn't work... I think I check the favourites against the data. Must admit that I didn't realise that they had "hidden" cities  undecided

Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #76 on: September 06, 2009, 07:14:09 AM »

It must be the same timezone as Berlin? Make Berlin the Favourite and add "Stuttgart" as the Label and tick Replace ("Rep")

must be constraints of the system to have only certain number of cities. anyway, both cities are in the same time zone and therefore substituting Berlin for Stuttgart works fine. luckily it's not timeandweather.com. so thanks for the superb suggestion. thumbs up

Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #77 on: September 06, 2009, 10:18:32 PM »

And I'll also have a look at adding the possibility of having custom cities  cheesy
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #78 on: September 07, 2009, 12:09:15 AM »

thanks, that will be very useful. it would save me a lot of scrolling in the 'cities' crop-down list. smiley
Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #79 on: September 08, 2009, 08:55:06 AM »

thanks, that will be very useful. it would save me a lot of scrolling in the 'cities' crop-down list. smiley

Have a look at the new version... It wont lessen the scrolling, but it does add Custom URLs to the Favourites so at least you can navigate to the right DateAndTime.com page  smiley

I've also added a new alias "tzs" that will search TimeAndDate for the required location (if it's not available in the drop-down list).

Hope that helps  undecided

BTW:
1. the drop-down list will read keypresses to highlight the next node starting with the keypress.
2. You weren't wanting more than 5 favourites??
Logged

TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,094


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #80 on: September 20, 2009, 02:54:52 AM »

I have a strange problem with TimeZone (TZ). The plugin does what I expect, but whenever I have TZ loaded, FARR will stay open when I launch a program. So in other words, if I type notepad and press enter, FARR will launch notepad, but still remains open, unless I remove TZ. Then FARR will do as expected, i.e. launch notepad and "disappear" huh

Any idea what could be causing this? Must be a conflict somewhere?

Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #81 on: September 20, 2009, 11:43:00 PM »

I've asked ecaradec about this, as I only remember it "appearing" relatively recently?

I got around this by setting the following option: [edit: just discovered that it doesn't fix it, well it only does with TimeZone.]
« Last Edit: September 20, 2009, 11:57:24 PM by Perry Mowbray » Logged

CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,121


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #82 on: September 21, 2009, 01:44:02 AM »

I have same problem!  Wink
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
ecaradec
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 408



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #83 on: September 21, 2009, 01:52:20 AM »

If the plugin don't care about the result the correct return is nothing or false. If the plugin return an integer, fscript would set the closeafterp parameter and tell FARR to not close.
Logged

Blog & Projects : Blog | Qatapult | SwiffOut | FScript
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #84 on: September 21, 2009, 03:59:58 AM »

If the plugin don't care about the result the correct return is nothing or false. If the plugin return an integer, fscript would set the closeafterp parameter and tell FARR to not close.

Thanks, that's my problem.
Logged

Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #85 on: September 21, 2009, 07:00:32 AM »

I have same problem!  Wink
and
I have a strange problem with TimeZone (TZ). The plugin does what I expect, but whenever I have TZ loaded, FARR will stay open when I launch a program. So in other words, if I type notepad and press enter, FARR will launch notepad, but still remains open, unless I remove TZ. Then FARR will do as expected, i.e. launch notepad and "disappear" huh

Any idea what could be causing this? Must be a conflict somewhere?

Yes: me  embarassed

Fixed now: at least here. Please try and let me know if it's OK for you too?
Logged

cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,164



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #86 on: September 21, 2009, 07:21:40 AM »

Hi Perry,

1.2.1. does it for me!

Thanks very much for the extra effort, much appreciated!
Logged

Chris
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #87 on: September 21, 2009, 07:44:46 AM »

1.2.1. does it for me!

Thanks very much for the extra effort, much appreciated!

No, Thank you!
Logged

TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,094


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #88 on: September 21, 2009, 11:45:51 AM »

Fixed! Thmbsup
Logged
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,121


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #89 on: September 22, 2009, 01:45:58 AM »

All good here - thanks Perry!  Thmbsup
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #90 on: October 01, 2009, 10:14:29 PM »

im not sure timezone plugin works in Windows 7 -- anyone else try it with any luck?
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #91 on: October 02, 2009, 12:16:18 AM »

im not sure timezone plugin works in Windows 7 -- anyone else try it with any luck?

Are you on Win7, and it's not working?

I'm not, but it's a script that writes to the drive: would that cause issues and require permissions?
Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,180



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #92 on: October 02, 2009, 12:28:33 AM »

got a report from friend with the trouble -- yeah thats what i figured it would be.
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #93 on: October 02, 2009, 02:53:08 AM »

got a report from friend with the trouble -- yeah thats what i figured it would be.

It'd probably be good to get a standard "fix" for this sort of thing put into the Wiki (when you know if it works)  undecided
Logged

dortom
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #94 on: January 06, 2010, 07:19:13 AM »

Dear Perry,

I have set up the plugin but it does not give me different times.
It shows all areas as my time.
I attach the log file and a print screen.

Find+Run Robot v2.80.02
Timezone 1.21
Windows XP Pro Sevice Pack 3

Can you help

Thanks



* log.txt (72.76 KB - downloaded 154 times.)

* timezone screen print.jpg (82.18 KB, 750x549 - viewed 233 times.)
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #95 on: January 06, 2010, 07:42:13 AM »

I have set up the plugin but it does not give me different times.
It shows all areas as my time.
I attach the log file and a print screen.

Hi dortom! 1st post... welcome to the site!

OK, looking at your log it seems that the times were downloaded in 24 hr time format, which is not being interpreted correctly by the script. This is generally set on the site to automatic time format based on language/country.

You could try setting a 12 hr time format on http://www.timeanddate.com/custom/site.html and see if that helps (ie set the time format on the site then select ReDownload in FARR TimeZone). Or have you already set the format on the site to 24 hr format??

I'll have to allow for 24 hr time format in the next release.  Wink
Logged

dortom
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #96 on: January 06, 2010, 11:55:46 PM »

Thanks for the very fast reply.

I have tried changing my system format, changing the "timeanddate" format and am not getting anywhere. Before I installed the plugin I had setup at "timeanddate" a "personal clock" in 24 hr format, does this have any connection
When I open the link that I see in FARR e.g  http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=44 I see the time   as "Wednesday, January 6, 2010 at 19:53:15" which is correct.

I am and was using 24 hrs on my system

Should the  FARRTimeZone.exe icon be showing all the time after I have redownloaded? It starts and stops, how should it behave?

Attached current settings

Thanks

* log.txt (72.76 KB - downloaded 140 times.)

* timezone screen print_1.jpg (43.05 KB, 569x313 - viewed 230 times.)
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #97 on: January 07, 2010, 03:04:06 AM »

I have tried changing my system format, changing the "timeanddate" format and am not getting anywhere. Before I installed the plugin I had setup at "timeanddate" a "personal clock" in 24 hr format, does this have any connection

Yes I think so, try setting timeanddate to 12 hour time.

No, it's not your system format; it's the format on their page.

When I open the link that I see in FARR e.g  http://www.timeanddate.co...worldclock/city.html?n=44 I see the time   as "Wednesday, January 6, 2010 at 19:53:15" which is correct.

Yes the page will be fine. It's just Timezone is not getting the times correctly.

Should the  FARRTimeZone.exe icon be showing all the time after I have redownloaded? It starts and stops, how should it behave?

Yes, that's correct. The exe is what downloads and writes the data file. It'll run and then quit.

Let me know how you go after changing the timeanddate settings.
Logged

dortom
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #98 on: January 07, 2010, 08:27:46 AM »

Thank you,
I went into my personal clock at "Timeanddate" and changed the format there.
I am now seeing the correct time in 12 h format.
Logged
Perry Mowbray
N.A.N.Y. Organizer
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,800



Thoughtful Scribbles

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #99 on: January 07, 2010, 09:08:27 PM »

 Thmbsup All good then. Thanks for getting back.
Logged

Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.055s | Server load: 0.01 ]