Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 09, 2016, 09:10:05 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Maxto-very interesting...  (Read 10076 times)

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,431
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2009, 05:57:03 PM »
huh?

Shades

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,100
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2009, 06:05:44 PM »
The software does something similar to GridMove, a known favorite here in the DC software stack.  :) 

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2009, 07:32:06 PM »
It would be nice with a short description and possibly a screenshots, instead of just posting a link to the site :). Btw, why link to that blog instead of the main site?

Anyway, the program is actually something I wanted to write a while ago, but never got around to: "taming" the maximize button of applications, and make them "maximize" to predefined regions, depending on where on the screen the application currently sits. I'm going to give it a test drive and see how it works.

EDIT: here's a grab of their main page ->
shot-2009-03-09@01.35.13.png

EDIT2: one thing I can immediately say I don't like about the application is that it bases it's "where the window is located" on mouse position rather than window position... so if I use the keyboard to maximize a window and have the mouse cursor on the second monitor... well, you guessed it. I also find it would be more intuitive to base position either on the upper-left corner of a window, or on where the middle of the window is located. It also gobbles up a fair amount of memory: 26meg private bytes for MaxTo.exe, and 1.8meg for that MaxTo64.exe it spawns on XP64.
- carpe noctem
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 07:41:30 PM by f0dder »

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2009, 07:42:42 PM »
Well, I wasn't comparing this to grid move, nor have I tried grid move.

And yes the source is something worth posting.
As was suggested to me.
That's where I learned of the program.
Which is posted in the link I posted.

I'm not much of a writer, others are,
so I just posted the link.

Perhaps someone could compare it to grid move.
Or write a better explanation then what the link says as well as the main site

I don't know.
I just posted a program.
Thinking required by readers.

edit-thanks fodder for more info from your view
didn't see it till after this post
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 07:46:11 PM by cmpm »

kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2009, 07:52:56 PM »
Maxto is nice but there is something is missing very badly, which is lack of shortcut support for enabling and disabling itself.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2009, 07:58:53 PM »
It can be disabled from the tray-


kartal

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,529
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2009, 08:03:58 PM »
:) I do not want to disable from tray, I never use tray. That is why I mentioned the shortcut issue.

elpresi

  • Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2009, 09:59:50 PM »
I did try Maxto a while back. It does require NET framework I think I recall and for sure is much more resource hungry than Gridmove.

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2009, 02:20:53 AM »
Yes, .net 2.0.
And the resources used is not that much.
20 or 30 mgs of ram should not be a problem.
CPU usage is my main concern, of which is does not seem to use much.
System memory is so I don't have to remember.
I tried Grid Move, and Maxto.
Perhaps I didn't go into Grid Move very deep.
But Maxto is ready in an instant for any changes I need.
Maxto is easier for me.
And not that I would use it all the time,
but when needed I have it with easy config,
by mouse clicks for whatever profile I need.

And all praise to Grid Move and it's users.
More power to them. 10 times less mem usage!
It's not a competition to me.
More of a matter of what is important to each user.

And I would suppose there are more of these type of programs around to test.

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2009, 02:34:45 AM »
And the resources used is not that much. 20 or 30 mgs of ram should not be a problem.
Not a problem on any recent-spec machine, but it's quite a lot for what should really be a tiny tool :) - and for users on older machines, it could matter. I mean, geez, even IE6 browsing the donationcoder main page doesn't even take 20 megs of private bytes...
- carpe noctem

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2009, 03:18:39 AM »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2009, 04:13:18 AM »
I havent tried this one

if you want a couple tips on grid-move, well,
this is the easiest way to use it IMO:-

Winkey+G shows a numbered grid. Press the number for the location you want and focused window goes there
If you dont like the grid press N key to show next and so on.
I generally only use one grid layout so it's just Win+G and 1 or 2 or, etc.

It's currently using 3908K (3.8MB or so) Private bytes here.
Which I do find important even with 2GB ram, try running 20 little (or not so little) apps @ 30MB apiece and you'll need a lot of memory to have enough for the really hungry ones ;)
actually I just checked in Process Explorer & I have exactly 20 (non-XP/hardware-related) apps running apart from File manager and browser..
Tom

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2009, 07:16:43 AM »
Thanks tomos, I had to add ^ to Winkey plus g.
Making it ctrl-WinKey-g + #
It didn't work with wk+g and numbers

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,341
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2009, 07:41:49 AM »
Tom

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #15 on: March 09, 2009, 02:57:29 PM »
I had already seen maxto, but didn't have time to post about it.
It's really really interesting, and I think it has potential for being better than gridmove. I know I'd use it.

However, it was quite unstable on my machine, crashing or not closing or something like that.

Anyways, as I've been trapped in real life lately (working on my final project), I'm currently using linux and can't use either :(

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #16 on: March 09, 2009, 02:58:11 PM »
Tomos and cmpm: I suppose there was some other application using win+#, and gridmove was not able to capture the hotkeys..

cmpm

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,025
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #17 on: March 11, 2009, 11:22:48 AM »
Thanks jgpaiva!

gHacks adds a few more to the mix
this was in their feed today

http://www.ghacks.ne...software-win-layout/

Paul Keith

  • Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 1,982
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #18 on: March 11, 2009, 04:34:58 PM »
Thanks for the tip tomos. I didn't know of GridMove's hotkeys. I just drag them to the edge everytime. This is more convenient.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Maxto-very interesting...
« Reply #19 on: March 11, 2009, 04:55:27 PM »
Tomos, cmpm and paul: you don't need to move windows using win+g and then #. If you do win+#, you can move directly to the place you want. Much faster and easier :)