Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 08:14:41 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard  (Read 4628 times)

jupstejuho

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« on: March 03, 2009, 05:57:27 AM »
Here is my first idea: A program wich would make it possible to collect as many entries as you want into a single clipboard entry. I mean, that for example, if you have something like hundreds of messages and want to quote just a few of them, you would highlight one of them at a time and push a shortcut like CTRL + M and then it would go into a temporary cache. You would do the same to every entry you want to save to the same clipboard. Then after you have collected all of them, you just push a shortcut something like CTRL + S and all of the entries you have collected would paste wherever you want them, at the same second. If you didn't understand, just ask. It would be reaaalllly great if somebody could make such a program.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2009, 06:38:59 AM »
there are a few clipboard tools that do what you want..

you can do it with my Clipboard Help+Spell, but it will take a couple more steps then you have suggested.. (i wonder if it isn't worthwhile for me to add a couple of hotkeys to make it work exactly like you say)..

Anyway, to do it in Clipboard Help+Spell you would:
  • Capture multiple clips normally with Ctrl+C, over and over again.
  • Bring up this CHS window (using hotkey or menu)
  • Select the clips you want to merge, and hit merge button (or choose it from menu)
  • Confirm the preview is what you want (change the separator string from \n to whatever you want), and hit Ok.  The merged clip is now in your clipboard.
  • Paste it into your target application with normal Ctr+V

If you don't actually need to do the merging part all that often, that workflow is fine.  If you were often merging and pasting 5 clips at a time though, then your hotkey only workflow might be a real win.  Maybe it's worth me adding some optional hotkeys to tell CHS its the START of a multi clipboard merge, and then a hotkey for the END of multiclipboard merge and paste.

Alternatively i could put a submenu in the Quick popup menu to merge start and merge end.

OR alternatively when i could do is change the workflow to:
  • Copy as many clips as you want
  • Bring up the quick paste menu with single hotkey (ctrl+alt+q by default)
  • And then hold control key while you select a clip in the stack to to tell CHS to merge all clips from that one forward, and paste it.
  • Now that's not a bad idea at all.

jupstejuho

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2009, 11:28:51 AM »
I have to admit that's a little more complicated than what I was looking for, but thanks anyway :> Maybe I'll start using that then. It would be great if it would just happend by using only hotkeys, it takes more, too much more time because I have to open the program's window.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2009, 11:29:57 AM »
im sure there are tools that do what you want, hopefully people will post about them here.  in the meantime i will put the feature request for CHS on my todo list.

SleepingWolf

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2009, 11:47:31 AM »
I use clipomatic from Mike Linn at www.mlin.net/Clipomatic.shtml It is simple enough for even me! Use Ctrl & C to copy as usual. Ctrl & Alt & V will bring up a quick paste menu and you're done.

Having re-read your post (vitally important for skimmers like me) I see you want to paste in bulk. I think the Notetab editor (with it's Lite version) www.notetab.com/ntl.php has a paste board mode where all copied text is pasted. All you'd then need to do is copy that "bulk-pasting" and then paste that where desired. It's not what you really want, I know, but it's a work-around that also gains you a very competent text-processor.

Mouser, I can only say that jupstejuho (A very Finnish sounding name BTW) can't be the only one to require such a feature and so if it would be convenient for a future update to have it it can only be a good thing.
-------------------------------------------

Choose life -or at least respect it.

czb

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
    • My open-source online piano game
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2009, 02:11:18 PM »
I think it can be very easily done via FARR + fsubscript. If you are interested, let me know and I will write it down.

My open-source online piano game: https://github.com/musicope/game

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,013
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2009, 02:12:13 PM »
im not sure farr is really the best tool for this.. it could be done but the clipboard tools have to be smoother at it imho..

jupstejuho

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2009, 02:29:07 PM »
jupstejuho (A very Finnish sounding name BTW)
Good guess, I am a Finn :>

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2009, 04:25:32 PM »
+1 for this idea.

The other clip tool that I use can be hot-switched in and out of 'multi'  mode.
I seldom use that but when I do it's very, very useful indeed.



SleepingWolf

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2009, 04:21:32 AM »
+1 for this idea.

The other clip tool that I use can be hot-switched in and out of 'multi'  mode.
I seldom use that but when I do it's very, very useful indeed.

Out of interest, which clip-tool is that? It sounds like that's what jupstejuho is looking for.
-------------------------------------------

Choose life -or at least respect it.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,303
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2009, 05:29:11 PM »
+1 for this idea.

The other clip tool that I use can be hot-switched in and out of 'multi'  mode.
I seldom use that but when I do it's very, very useful indeed.

Out of interest, which clip-tool is that? It sounds like that's what jupstejuho is looking for.

It was SmartBoard (not free, though).

rjbull

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2,856
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: Batchmulticlipboard
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2009, 08:29:58 AM »
It might be worth the OP looking at PSPad's Clipboard Monitor Window (Alt-M), but I think it's all mouse-clicks, not hotkeys.