Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site July 28, 2014, 05:35:21 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
View the new Member Awards and Badges page.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Double-click makes a new folder  (Read 19763 times)
BenPearman
Participant
*
Posts: 9

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: February 06, 2009, 10:07:22 PM »

Hey guys. I want a program that when you double click on an empty space on a opened folder or on the desktop it would create a new folder. I would like it to automatically selects the name of it so I could easily rename it. An option to make text files instead would be nice as well. Thanks in advance
-Ben
Logged
Conquer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 50



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2009, 03:29:45 PM »

Compiled script uploaded.
- The file name is selected after it is created so you can easily rename it
- You can choose if you want the script to create text files or folders (text files are created by default - see the Config.txt file thats in the zip)

Sorry but I couldn't figure out a way to work with the desktop (wasn't sure how to detect if a file was or wasn't selected on the desktop)

* Directory_Maker.zip (236.25 KB - downloaded 629 times.)
« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 03:59:05 PM by Conquer » Logged
BenPearman
Participant
*
Posts: 9

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2009, 09:22:19 PM »

OK this is good, but is there a way to not show the context menu while when you have double-clicked? Cause the context menu opens in a particular place and I have to move the mouse onto the New Folder option which is a hassle (this turns it into a triple click). As for the desktop thing, I don't mind cause I hardly make folders on the desktop anyway. Thanks for the reply/script.
-Ben
Logged
Conquer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 50



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2009, 02:34:24 PM »

That's weird, it worked fine for me. If your computer has some lag, maybe increasing the delay in the script will help. Have you tried both with and without the Config.txt file in the script's directory?

Try both and let me know the results and a detail on exactly what happens when you try the double clicking.

I'll try to modify the script's delay if needed.
Logged
BenPearman
Participant
*
Posts: 9

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2009, 09:11:51 PM »

OK, it is really strange. I increased my double-click speed to the max and I double-click, and instead of creating a folder, it takes me to the folder above. I delete the config.txt and it creates a new folder not txt file. I have to double-click really fast as well. This is all good but is there anyway to hide the context menu at all while double-clicking?
Logged
Conquer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 50



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2009, 02:41:25 PM »

The delay of your double-click isn't relevant, it shouldn't have any effect.

Nothing should be taking you to the folder above because the only keystrokes that get sent to the explorer window are {AppsKey} (opens the right click menu) w (selects New>) and {enter} (selects new folder)

I can make it so you can double click slower if needed.

The context menu shouldn't show for more than 1/4 of a second.
I can try increasing the delays in the script if you think your computer is slow.
(The time between opening the context menu and sending the keystrokes - if your computer lags when right clicking, the script won't correctly create a new folder - I might try a new approach later)
Logged
BenPearman
Participant
*
Posts: 9

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2009, 03:45:34 PM »

OK, thanks I am quite satisfied with this program. My computer doesn't lag when right-clicking. And I really don't mind if it doesn't create a txt file, it was just a though. It is good as it is. Thanks
-Ben
Logged
Conquer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 50



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2009, 12:52:55 PM »

You're very welcome




cough cough
Logged
CoreCore
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2009, 08:47:32 PM »

Hi Conquer,

I thought this would be a nice thing to try, but it only creates .txt files on my WinXP SP3 x32 system, even if i remove the Config.txt file.  

I also lost the ability to left-click-drag-select-area, i have to click in another window/process and then return to do it normally.

How do i remove the install??  It appears to be an AHK script/executable, but it does not show up in the Add/Remove List, please tell me how to uninstall this!!

Tia!  =)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,183



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2009, 02:03:43 AM »

you dont have to uninstall it -- just exit it and delete the file if you want.
Logged
CoreCore
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2009, 11:28:09 PM »

Ok, thxs!  =)
Logged
boliboli
Participant
*
Posts: 2

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2009, 05:51:24 PM »

I love the idea.  Works.  Can it be made so that it works with any folder, not just a folder on the desktop.  This would be very useful when I'm downloading multiple things such as programs from DC.  Each app gets it's own subdirectory in my "DL" folder.  I don't want the "DL" folder to be on the desktop.  I want it to stay on my external drive.
Logged
733337
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2009, 06:06:39 AM »

doesn't seem to work on Vista Home Premium 32bit. any thoughts ?
Logged
Conquer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 50



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2009, 11:11:11 AM »

I wrote it for windows Xp, sorry I don't have a vista machine to work with.

Boliboli, about your comment; You need to change your folder options so only the name of the folder is shown in the window's title I believe. I deleted the source long ago so I'm not sure but give that a try.

For me I was able to use the script in any folder with no problems, but my computer is also the computer the program was designed for :/
Logged
delwoode
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 142


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: September 03, 2009, 01:56:11 PM »

re Directory maker, my antivirus (outpost) tells me that Directory maker.exe contains a trojan called
"DR binder.ALI"   I suppose this is a false positive?
Logged
Conquer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 50



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2009, 06:43:46 AM »

re Directory maker, my antivirus (outpost) tells me that Directory maker.exe contains a trojan called
"DR binder.ALI"   I suppose this is a false positive?

Yes its a false positive. Probably from the UPD compression used.
Logged
abent professor
Participant
*
Posts: 12


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: September 14, 2009, 08:58:05 AM »

I'd love this app, but I run AVG and it won't let me open it, I can't even add an exception. I know it is a false positive, but I can't override Sad
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,019



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: September 14, 2009, 09:04:06 AM »

Conquer, would you mind recompiling this without UPX compression?  That would solve the issue for all the folks that are getting the false positive.
Logged

Conquer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 50



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: September 14, 2009, 02:57:11 PM »

Conquer, would you mind recompiling this without UPX compression?  That would solve the issue for all the folks that are getting the false positive.
Sorry it was like 8 months ago I didn't keep the source or I would have re uploaded already.
Logged
skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,019



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: September 14, 2009, 05:53:46 PM »

Do you happen to recall the password you used when compiling?  We can deompile it easily if so.
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2009, 12:35:19 AM »

I'd love this app, but I run AVG and it won't let me open it, I can't even add an exception. I know it is a false positive, but I can't override Sad

what version of AVG are you using? i think newer versions don't have this problem..
Logged

skwire
Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,019



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: September 15, 2009, 12:45:55 AM »

what version of AVG are you using? i think newer versions don't have this problem..

A lot of the issue is that this is a recurring problem.  A/V companies will go months without false positives and then, all of a sudden, bam, we get a rash of them.  Unless requested, I don't compile any of my AHK apps with UPX.  I don't care about the file size.
Logged

lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: September 15, 2009, 12:59:34 AM »

A lot of the issue is that this is a recurring problem.  A/V companies will go months without false positives and then, all of a sudden, bam, we get a rash of them.  Unless requested, I don't compile any of my AHK apps with UPX.  I don't care about the file size.

yeah, that's the problem. one update is enough to trigger a whole raft of false alerts. btw, even non-UPX'ed apps will trigger an alarm - only a different kind than a UPX'ed exe. it all depends on the function of the scripts, i guess.

here are some related threads.
More false virus warnings in compiled ahk utilities #*(%&*(#*(&#(%
It's time to do something about these AutoHotkey antivirus false positives

Logged

Conquer
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 50



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: September 15, 2009, 04:14:07 PM »

sorry I used the no-decompile switch when i compiled it.

but I heard theres a way to get the source code back even without the password.
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,087



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2009, 07:34:34 AM »

sorry I used the no-decompile switch when i compiled it.

but I heard theres a way to get the source code back even without the password.

maybe it's time a new updated version is written from scratch, with additional features such as Vista support & so on. Wink
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.046s | Server load: 0.07 ]