Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 30, 2014, 10:20:21 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2014! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: REQ: Independent volume per application for XP  (Read 8892 times)
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: January 29, 2009, 02:05:33 PM »

I've been googling, but there is no such thing for windows xp. It should be like a replacement or sideapp for the normal volume control. There is a thing called indievolume, but 1. the layout sucks and 2. its not freeware. Im not paying for changing the volume, eh?
Logged
Ordstrin
Member
**
Posts: 32


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2009, 12:29:29 AM »

Not that I've got any solutions for you... but Windows 7 beta seems to have exactly that, built in.
Of course, I can't confirm this since Windows 7 beta doesn't fully work with my 6 year old on-board sound hardware.
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2009, 10:43:07 AM »

Not that I've got any solutions for you... but Windows 7 beta seems to have exactly that, built in.
Of course, I can't confirm this since Windows 7 beta doesn't fully work with my 6 year old on-board sound hardware.
Yeah but dude, i aint gonna switch to a OS beta just for that, im sticking with xp
Logged
mattski
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2009, 08:18:15 PM »

IndieVolume seems to do this
Logged
PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2009, 09:24:55 PM »

IndieVolume seems to do this

Reread OP. I put the important stuff in bold for easy comprehension.

There is a thing called indievolume, but 1. the layout sucks and 2. its not freeware. Im not paying for changing the volume, eh?

Nice first post mattski  Thmbsup. and welcome to DC cheesy

Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,628



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2009, 05:04:25 AM »

IndieVolume seems to do this

mattski,
I, on the other hand, like you(!) sometimes dont read posts so closely Wink (tough being imperfect isnt it cheesy)

I see IndieVolume gets (relatively) poor reviews up to September of last year in the discount thread here (I think only supporting members can access those threads) but I havent heard of anything else
Logged

Tom
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2009, 04:12:55 PM »

Maybe Mattski is some webrep?

But indievolume sucks big time. Why did not anyone else work out this great idea?
Logged
Nod5
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 738



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2009, 12:00:54 PM »

I have no solution but I think PulseAudio (a sort of sound proxy) in theory can do this. But I've found no way to get it working on Windows (on XP). I earlier started another PulseAudio-thread with a somewhat related request: http://www.donationcoder....rum/index.php?topic=14100

Quote
PulseAudio is a sound server, a background process accepting sound input from one or more sources (processes or capture devices) and redirecting it to one or more sinks (sound cards, remote network PulseAudio servers, or other processes).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PulseAudio
« Last Edit: March 05, 2009, 12:10:57 PM by Nod5 » Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2009, 12:19:03 PM »

I have no solution but I think PulseAudio (a sort of sound proxy) in theory can do this. But I've found no way to get it working on Windows (on XP). I earlier started another PulseAudio-thread with a somewhat related request: http://www.donationcoder....rum/index.php?topic=14100

Quote
PulseAudio is a sound server, a background process accepting sound input from one or more sources (processes or capture devices) and redirecting it to one or more sinks (sound cards, remote network PulseAudio servers, or other processes).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PulseAudio
What's the use of this then???
Logged
Nod5
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 738



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2009, 03:14:34 PM »

Well if someone does find a way to use it on XP then it might be able to do what you're after.
Logged
nite_monkey
Member
**
Posts: 695


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2009, 08:28:52 AM »

I don't know if anyone has ran accross this, but I found it on pulseaudio's website.pulseaudio for windows I haven't tried it, because on my old computer it wouldn't work in ubuntu, and I don't have a need for it on my new computer in windows... I think
Logged

[Insert really cool signature here]
Nod5
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 738



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2009, 11:56:49 AM »

Yes, I tried that a while ago but without success. See the other thread above. Too bad because it would be really, really useful to have an easy to use, GUI controlled sound proxy (application independent volume control, output to multiple soundcards, switch output from one soundcard to another on the fly...)
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2009, 05:51:32 AM »

Yes, I tried that a while ago but without success. See the other thread above. Too bad because it would be really, really useful to have an easy to use, GUI controlled sound proxy (application independent volume control, output to multiple soundcards, switch output from one soundcard to another on the fly...)
I would only be interested in the first thing. It's a shame only vista supports it by default.
Logged
PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2009, 09:33:36 AM »

check out Quick Mixer @ http://www.angelfire.com/...h4/quickmixer/QMixer.html
Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2009, 09:53:35 AM »

Doesnt to the programs thingy.
Logged
Mizraim
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 149



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2009, 10:03:40 AM »

I gotta say, when I first tried Vista and opened the Volume control I was ecstatic!  Cool The ability to set volume on each individual application is great! While I no-longer use XP, I was also wondering if something like this existed for it. But I haven't been able to find anything else beyond that which has already been mentioned, and not to the degree of Vista's version. But that made me think, if it's been coded into Vista, couldn't there be a way to find that code, and make an app for XP? 
Logged

PhilB66
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,510


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2009, 10:13:03 AM »

No, but it does let you configure different sound profiles (10 I believe) and switch between them with a hotkey combination.

OK, I had a look at The Windows Vista Volume Mixer screenshot... I see what you are after...  undecided
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 10:22:03 AM by PhilB66 » Logged
Coeluh
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 273


Family Guy ^^

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2009, 12:01:05 PM »

No, but it does let you configure different sound profiles (10 I believe) and switch between them with a hotkey combination.

OK, I had a look at The Windows Vista Volume Mixer screenshot... I see what you are after...  undecided
THanks anyway!
Logged
mwb1100
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,331


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2009, 12:18:14 PM »

But that made me think, if it's been coded into Vista, couldn't there be a way to find that code, and make an app for XP?

The architecture of the audio driver stack in Windows was completely revamped for Vista. One of the design targets of the new architecture was to support this type of control among applications (and classes of applications).  That's not to say it can't be done in XP, just that it's not as good a fit for how the drivers work, so it's not necessarily easy.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 12:57:25 PM by mwb1100 » Logged
Mizraim
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 149



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2009, 12:45:28 PM »

That makes sense. I appreciate the explanation. Sorry I don't know much about coding; to me something that has been coded for the Windows OS should work for all Windows OS's, but that just shows how much I don't know.  cheesy
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.02 ]