Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 17, 2014, 04:40:15 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: copy paste between 2 computers on separate networks?  (Read 14888 times)
4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,332



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #25 on: May 22, 2009, 01:27:19 AM »

Such a negative person.

If you can show me where my negativity was I will send you 1 million dollars(cash). I was just stating a functional and pragmatic issue. Was that harsh for you?

Honestly, maybe I should have made it plainer by doing this:  tongue

Lighten up and stop taking everything so seriously  cheesy
Logged

I do not need to control my anger ... people just need to stop pissing me off!
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #26 on: May 22, 2009, 03:15:49 AM »

Yeah, Miles, I used it on my network, not across two networks. Ditto worked fine on my network.

I like NetworkClipboard for the more file types that it will sync.
But I haven't tried that across networks.

Seems Dropbox would be good, it's pretty fast in transfering files of any type, and 2gb free would serve well. Limited to two computers if I recall correctly. For the free version....

Then email and IM's, I would recomend Skype, resource usage is lower then the other IMs I believe.

A few others that are different.

http://www.makeuseof.com/...personal-online-notebook/

http://www.downloadsquad....ple-note-taking-anywhere/


Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,836



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #27 on: May 22, 2009, 11:15:41 AM »

cmpm, what did you do to get ditto to work?

At least the info I found shows network clipboard as a feature with absolutely no instructions how to work it.  Is it database as shared folder scheme?  Also it has a line for a password and my Lan is not password protected.  I just use the default shared folders.

For me screenshot transfer would be the most important aspect.  For web pages I just use deskCut.  I don't have much call for just copying a paragraph of text.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2009, 11:18:15 AM by MilesAhead » Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #28 on: May 22, 2009, 11:45:15 AM »

All I did was install it on both computers, start it up, and fill in the name of the computer to connect to on each machine in the friends tab.

So just two computers. I just put the name of the computer in, not the address.


* Screenshot - 5_22_2009 , 12_40_57 PM.png (17.83 KB, 758x371 - viewed 274 times.)
Logged
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #29 on: May 22, 2009, 11:50:17 AM »

I didn't check that box 'disable receiving clips'.
I just now noticed it, but I'm running a backup on my other computer right now,
so I can't test it again at the moment.
But I will over the weekend and post the results of Ditto and nclip.

I do have Synergy installed and clipx, both running.
So, a fair test would mean shutting down those two I think.
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,836



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #30 on: May 22, 2009, 03:05:33 PM »

Hmmmm guess I'll try some others until I find one that knows how to make a chime on Vista64.  Either that or gives some visual cue.  Too annoying otherwise.
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,836



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #31 on: May 22, 2009, 05:41:37 PM »

I didn't check that box 'disable receiving clips'.
I just now noticed it, but I'm running a backup on my other computer right now,
so I can't test it again at the moment.
But I will over the weekend and post the results of Ditto and nclip.

I do have Synergy installed and clipx, both running.
So, a fair test would mean shutting down those two I think.

I suspect Ditto doesn't like Vista64, cuz I did all the same stuff you did and got nuthin' smiley

Now I read something by an Irfanview user who claims he can do remote screen shots with Irfanview.  But I haven't been able to find out anything more about it.
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
oversky
Participant
*
Posts: 19

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #32 on: May 23, 2009, 01:45:41 AM »

Though I don't try it before, but my current favorate clipboard software, clipboard recorder, does support copy through network.
Logged
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #33 on: May 23, 2009, 06:33:44 AM »

Yes, you are correct MilesAhead, it is for 32bit only.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/ditto-cp/


* Screenshot - 5_23_2009 , 7_31_24 AM.png (17.33 KB, 648x445 - viewed 236 times.)
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,836



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #34 on: May 23, 2009, 12:08:17 PM »

Thanks cmpm.  For all I do it may be easier just to use Mouser's screenshot thingy and move the file to a shared folder.  Then have some dedicated shortcut that opens Clipboard1.jpg or something.
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #35 on: May 23, 2009, 12:28:30 PM »

Or put a shortcut to the shared folder where ever you want it. For different types of files. As well as a dedicated shortcut/s to a specific file type and name.

NetworkClipBoard uses a shared folder. I don't know how that would work between two networks though.
Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,836



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #36 on: May 23, 2009, 01:06:20 PM »

Or put a shortcut to the shared folder where ever you want it. For different types of files. As well as a dedicated shortcut/s to a specific file type and name.

NetworkClipBoard uses a shared folder. I don't know how that would work between two networks though.

I'm not using on separate networks.  Just a workgroup. Network Clipboard I did get to work.  Unfortunately I don't get any sound on the Vista64 side.  So there's no cue to tell me if it copied to clipboard.  I have to go over to the other machine and try paste.  I'm using a kvma switch so that's a pita if it's not reliable.  Plus I don't really like triple hotkey combos.  It would be nicer if they gave a choice of hotkeys.
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
cmpm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,025

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #37 on: May 23, 2009, 02:40:26 PM »

I don't like all that hot key stuff either.
I'd rather use the mouse if possible.

And I don't see why a data folder for a clipboard program can't be set to share and or synced together like this program that has a data folder-

http://www.luziusschneide...om/MultiClipBoardHome.htm

And there are more, some free, some not.

http://www.google.com/sea...cial&client=firefox-a

Logged
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,836



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #38 on: May 23, 2009, 04:34:26 PM »

That Network Clipboard does actually work! What I needed was a cue to let me know I got all the hotkeys pressed and it actually got the copy or paste signal.  I wrote a quick and dirty ahk script to play wav files on copy and paste and just pass the hotkey on to Network Clipboard.

The wav files must be named copy.wav and paste.wav and be in the same folder as the script.
Works fine once you get the cue to know you actually did the operation. smiley

[copy or print]
;
; Script ChimeCopy.ahk
; Play .wav file when Network Clipboard does copy or paste
;
;   Requires wav files copy.wav and paste.wav in home folder
;
; Author: MilesAhead

#NoEnv  ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input  ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir%  ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.


~^!C::
SoundPlay,copy.wav,Wait
Return

~!^!V::
SoundPlay,paste.wav,Wait
Return

Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
4wd
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 3,332



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #39 on: May 23, 2009, 07:39:30 PM »

That Network Clipboard does actually work! What I needed was a cue to let me know I got all the hotkeys pressed and it actually got the copy or paste signal.  I wrote a quick and dirty ahk script to play wav files on copy and paste and just pass the hotkey on to Network Clipboard.

Actually, for the Copy side wouldn't it be better to have the script watch the shared folder and then play a sound when a new file, (clip), is detected?

Currently, while it may detect the keypress there's no guarantee that Network Clipboard actually received the keypress before playing the sound.

This wouldn't be required for Paste because I'd think that would be self-evident smiley

It would be nicer if they gave a choice of hotkeys.

It's rather old, maybe they would consider releasing the source code, (assuming it hasn't been lost), under GPL or to one of our erstwhile coders here?

Logged

I do not need to control my anger ... people just need to stop pissing me off!
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,836



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #40 on: May 23, 2009, 07:58:01 PM »

That Network Clipboard does actually work! What I needed was a cue to let me know I got all the hotkeys pressed and it actually got the copy or paste signal.  I wrote a quick and dirty ahk script to play wav files on copy and paste and just pass the hotkey on to Network Clipboard.

Actually, for the Copy side wouldn't it be better to have the script watch the shared folder and then play a sound when a new file, (clip), is detected?

Not for me.  I use a kvma switch.  The only sound comes from the currently active PC.

The source is there if you want to modify it for yourself.
Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
MilesAhead
Member
**
Posts: 4,836



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #41 on: May 24, 2009, 04:35:40 PM »

I uploaded a zip with a compiled .exe, default sounds and a Readme with the link to Network Clipboard if any 64 bitters out there want to try it:
http://www.favessoft.com/ChimeCopy.zip


Logged

"Genius is not knowing you can't do it that way."
- MilesAhead
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.039s | Server load: 0.19 ]