Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 03, 2015, 08:35:52 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Windows cannot find "Blah-blah". Make sure you typed the name correctly and ...  (Read 8599 times)

Billuri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hi.

I have a problem with FARR on my laptop. I am facing the problem especially when i try to start Live Messenger using FARR.

1.) When i make FARR use the Launch method  "Method 1 - ShellExecute (original method)" FARR simply does nothing.

More clearly, I press key combination to launch FARR, FARR appears, I type "messenger", see the Live Messenger in the box and then press ENTER.
After that, FARR window disappears and i expect the messenger to be launched.
But nothing happens. NOTHING.

2.) When i make FARR use the 2nd launch method  "Method 2 - ShellExcuteEx (new method)" windows displays an error message window:

Windows cannot find 'messenger program link'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again. To search for a file, click the Start button,and then click Search.

(See the attachment)

What could the problem be?
Please help.
Thank you.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
That is really strange.. does it only happen with that one shortcut, Live Messenger?
If you start the shortcut manually from your start menu, does it work?  The screenshot lists the program directory in the "Out of Business" folder, so it makes me think maybe the shortcut itself is nonfunctional.

Billuri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Hello.

The problem is solely with Live Messenger shortcut. When I click the shortcut using the usual way (by first clicking the start button, then so on) it works normally. The shortcut is functional.

My laptop is intended to use at work, so i collected all the programs that are not related to my job under a folder named "Out of business"  :D :D

That folder is what you noticed  ;)

Same problem also exists on my desktop at home. And again only with Live Messenger shortcut.


P.S.
There are many program links under that folder (Out of business) and none of them gives a similar error.

Thank you.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
i vaguely remember a situation where Farr couldn't launch a program because the .lnk had a space in its name, either at the beginning or at the end. maybe it's related but i can't find the thread though.. :-\

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
ok, here is the thread... incidentally it was Windows Live Messenger as well..


Source: BUG: Can't launch results that end in space

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Ah!! thank you for remembering that!!!!!!  :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 35,012
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
You know.. i'll bet there is a story behind why there is a space in that shortcut name.. Microsoft had to have a reason for that.. i wonder if someone can suss it out..

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
or maybe the devs accidentally tapped the spacebar twice while coding the create shortcut procedure. ;)

d4ni

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
I don't think it's on purpose either, just a mistake. If it never gets fixed, though, it might be somehow on purpose. Go file a bug report to be sure :D!

Billuri

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2006
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
OMG...

lanux128, you're my man...

it is solved...

Thank you sooooooooo much  :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:

And thank you mouser, and everyone for paying attention to my problem...

And of course thanks to the one who discovered the issue :)

You're all great people...  :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,219
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
you're welcome, glad to be of help. 8)

if Microsoft doesn't fix this soon then we will have to put this in Farr's FAQ. ;)