Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 08, 2016, 02:15:02 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: DONE: use hotkey to minimize the active window  (Read 8507 times)

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
DONE: use hotkey to minimize the active window
« on: December 01, 2005, 08:21:13 AM »
Cross-post from http://www.donationc...index.php?topic=1638 :

I did try Autohotkey some time ago, but the only thing I needed at the moment was minimizing currently active window on hotkey. I didn't find how to do it with Autohotkey in an hour, so now using Hotkeycontrol XP, which in fact has this function right out-of-the-box. Although, I open for suggestions on how to do this with Autohotkey.

I'm sure skrommel is able to come up with the code for this with the blink of an eye :)

I'd also like to add the code to my main script, there are times when this might come in handy!

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: use hotkey to minimize the active window
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2005, 09:45:06 AM »
 :) Ctrl-M minimizes the active window.

^m::WinMinimize,A

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

wasker

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: use hotkey to minimize the active window
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2005, 11:13:53 AM »
Mmmm. Lovely. Thanks, guys! :)

The only question. I have a program that minimizes itself to tray. Neither Hotkeycontrol XP nor Autohotkey with this fantastic script can minimize it properly -- it always minimizes to taskbar. Although when I click Minimize button in window it does everything properly.

Any ideas on how to overcome this issue with Autohotkey? Any pointers too look for appreciated.

Thanks again!

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: use hotkey to minimize the active window
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2005, 01:16:24 PM »
 :) You could use something like

^m::
IfWinActive,titleoftroublesomeprogram
  MouseClick,xposofminimizebutton,yposofminimizebutton
Else
  WinMinimize,A

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

brotherS

  • Master of Good Ideas
  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • **
  • Posts: 2,136
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: IDEA: use hotkey to minimize the active window
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2005, 02:32:18 PM »
I'm sure skrommel is able to come up with the code for this with the blink of an eye :)

:) Ctrl-M minimizes the active window.

^m::WinMinimize,A
Ha! I knew it!! :D Thanks!