ATTENTION: You are viewing a page formatted for mobile devices; to view the full web page, click HERE.

Main Area and Open Discussion > Living Room

New here, is there's any accounting or billing software - here or elsewhere

(1/2) > >>

basementjack:
Hi everyone, this is my first post - I like the site so I donated a bit of green to get started.

If I am asking this in the wrong place, please help me by letting me know.

I wonder if there is any shareware accounting or billing software that someone can recommend.

I've been using Quickbooks, I have versions 2000,2005 and 2006
none work with vista so I was going to upgrade, but I've just been reading terrible things about Quickbooks 2009.
So I am looking for alternates.

I really don't need much - a timer so I can keep track of the time I spend would be great, and some way to bill for that time, and record when I get paid.

Thanks!
- Jack

CWuestefeld:
I have no experience with this, but the price may be right for you: you can get Microsoft Office Accounting Express 2009 for free: http://www.freeafterrebate.info/deal/microsoft-office-accounting-express-2009

One would hope that this would be Vista-compatible  ;)

Dormouse:
I'm not sure if the free version of the MS app allows time tracking.

One frequently used free  open source accounting application is TurboCash

But you don't need an accounting application just to do timing, billing and recording receipts. You could even use a ToDoList prog like AbstractSpoon's ToDoList2; it has a timer; you can easily record a variety of activities and monies received or spent (but would probably need to export to spreadsheet for addition and reports) and bills - but links to them easily available in TDL. I'm not really suggesting you do this (what works best will depend on your overall needs), just saying that your list of needs is not necessarily best met by accounting progs as they have lots of features you may never use.

basementjack: