Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 11, 2016, 05:53:42 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: LaunchBar Commander tried to access eagames. com??  (Read 3105 times)

padraik

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
LaunchBar Commander tried to access eagames. com??
« on: December 19, 2008, 01:26:34 AM »
Hey,

Just installed LBC tonight and about an hour after installation my firewall (Outpost Pro) notified me of the app's attempt to connect to eagamesdotcom.  Anyone else get this?  Didn't see anything in the documentation about it. The original setup file was downloaded from this site.
Thanks,
P

-modified to remove link to game site-I'm not their schill.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2008, 01:28:22 AM by padraik »

Perry Mowbray

  • N.A.N.Y. Organizer
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,817
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander tried to access eagames. com??
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2008, 06:52:59 AM »
Nope: just checked Comodo and LBC ain't there.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,435
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander tried to access eagames. com??
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2008, 07:25:31 AM »
absolutely not.. none of my programs would do such a thing -- there is no phone home code in my programs, no hidden web checking of any sort. i'm totally opposed to such things.

the only thing i can think of is if LBC launched another program, which in turn tried to connect out to the website, maybe that could confuse outpost?  shouldn't, but.. maybe?

i should point out that LBC doesn't even have built in update checking code, so there is really nothing in LBC that tries to connect to the web for any reason.

padraik

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: LaunchBar Commander tried to access eagames. com??
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2008, 12:44:14 PM »
absolutely not.. none of my programs would do such a thing -- there is no phone home code in my programs, no hidden web checking of any sort. i'm totally opposed to such things.

the only thing i can think of is if LBC launched another program, which in turn tried to connect out to the website, maybe that could confuse outpost?  shouldn't, but.. maybe?

i should point out that LBC doesn't even have built in update checking code, so there is really nothing in LBC that tries to connect to the web for any reason.

That's the impression I had when I saw this site and the software. Weird. But it makes more sense now that you mention that LBC may have launched a program that may have tried to access the site. Residual embedded link somewhere? And yet, I have no games installed on this box...Well, I'll keep tabs on it and let you know if any other strange behaviors pop up, just for curiosity's sake. Thanks for the confirmation tho.

P