Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • May 24, 2016, 02:36:12 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Grid on Linux?  (Read 5523 times)

Kamel

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Grid on Linux?
« on: December 13, 2008, 04:08:29 PM »
I'm sorry for asking because I am having much trouble figuring it out. Is it possible to use grid on linux? I am using a Acer Aspire One linux based laptop and would love to have grid on it.

Any info would be great
I'm the guy you yell at when your DSL goes down...

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Grid on Linux?
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2008, 07:29:16 PM »
Actually, I've never tested it under wine or something like that...
I'd love to know.
Meybe some DC user who uses linux could test it for us? :)

Xitsa

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2008
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Grid on Linux?
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2009, 11:20:59 AM »
 :o Look at tiling windows managers here.

Kamel

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Grid on Linux?
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2009, 09:57:19 PM »
I had intended to try this using WINE, but was unable to get WINE working properly before I handed off the laptop for my mom (I was just preparing the laptop for her to use, wasn't mine). Sorry for not being able to provide an answer for that. I still think that using grid in linux would be far better than having to use a window manager just for this feature. Seems kinda drastic to use a window manager for the sole reason that it can tile/table windows when grid does that just fine no matter the window decorations etc.
I'm the guy you yell at when your DSL goes down...

fallen1011

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2013
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Grid on Linux?
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2013, 05:06:22 PM »
why would you use grid on linux when they have windows managers like xwm or dwm or awesome windows manager, the best is AWM use that if you need help let me know been using linux for 18 years across all spectrum, i have built and worked with systemd for arch linux and worked with the landscape for ubuntu business