Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 24, 2014, 09:58:40 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 ... 34 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: NANY 2009 Release: Trout (audio player)  (Read 225957 times)
joby_toss
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 113


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #600 on: January 08, 2011, 04:17:38 AM »

I've just added Trout to TPFC !  Thmbsup

Cheers!

Edit: is it build in AutoHotkeyL? I can't play files with Unicode characters in their names.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2011, 06:17:17 AM by joby_toss » Logged

I am a 3D body trapping a single dimension soul.
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #601 on: January 08, 2011, 08:36:56 AM »

I've just added Trout to TPFCThmbsup

Cheers!

Edit: is it build in AutoHotkeyL? I can't play files with Unicode characters in their names.

Thanks for adding it and, no, it's not Unicode capable at this time.
Logged

brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #602 on: January 08, 2011, 11:32:31 AM »

Hmm... it seems in the latest version a 'feature' of a/the previous version got lost. When I start Trout, it now starts with a blank Seekbar and Titlebar - I loved that it used to display the file that it would play next at startup already, *before* hitting the play button. (Play Mode = Random)

Not a big deal, just a friendly request to bring this back. smiley
And another new bug, maybe related to this one (no idea):

When I let Trout run in the background (paused, while doing other stuff) for an hour or two, and then go back to Trout to resume, Trout - unsuccessfully - tries to go through the whole playlist in a quick succession, not being able to play a single file.

I then quit and restart Trout... and everything works fine again. Happened to me twice already.
Logged

Thank you.
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #603 on: January 09, 2011, 06:15:44 PM »

Website | Installer | Portable
v1.0.5 build 9 - 2011-01-09
    * Reworked how Trout analyzes playlists in regards to figuring out where
      tracks actually are in relation to the path information given.  (Thanks,
      M. G. Macri)
Logged

brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #604 on: January 13, 2011, 03:29:24 AM »

The volume bar does not have a border to contain it (unlike the seekbar). Bug or feature?  smiley

And these two bugs are still in the last version. Anyone else experiencing this?

Hmm... it seems in the latest version a 'feature' of a/the previous version got lost. When I start Trout, it now starts with a blank Seekbar and Titlebar - I loved that it used to display the file that it would play next at startup already, *before* hitting the play button. (Play Mode = Random)

Not a big deal, just a friendly request to bring this back. smiley
And another new bug, maybe related to this one (no idea):

When I let Trout run in the background (paused, while doing other stuff) for an hour or two, and then go back to Trout to resume, Trout - unsuccessfully - tries to go through the whole playlist in a quick succession, not being able to play a single file.

I then quit and restart Trout... and everything works fine again. Happened to me twice already.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2011, 07:16:44 AM by brotherS » Logged

Thank you.
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #605 on: January 13, 2011, 08:21:30 AM »

The volume bar does not have a border to contain it (unlike the seekbar). Bug or feature?  smiley

I don't know what you're referring to in this case.

Hmm... it seems in the latest version a 'feature' of a/the previous version got lost. When I start Trout, it now starts with a blank Seekbar and Titlebar - I loved that it used to display the file that it would play next at startup already, *before* hitting the play button. (Play Mode = Random)

I went back several versions but I don't see this feature you're describing.  At any rate, I can populate the seekbar text on startup but the titlebar doesn't get activated until a song is playing (it's always been this way, I believe).

When I let Trout run in the background (paused, while doing other stuff) for an hour or two, and then go back to Trout to resume, Trout - unsuccessfully - tries to go through the whole playlist in a quick succession, not being able to play a single file.

I have no idea what would be causing this.  I routinely leave Trout paused for long periods of time (overnight) and have no problems resuming playback.  Are your music files on a network drive that disconnects or a USB drive that has gone into standby, perhaps?
Logged

brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #606 on: January 13, 2011, 09:07:06 AM »

The volume bar does not have a border to contain it (unlike the seekbar). Bug or feature?  smiley

I don't know what you're referring to in this case.

Hard to describe... let me try with an image:




Hmm... it seems in the latest version a 'feature' of a/the previous version got lost. When I start Trout, it now starts with a blank Seekbar and Titlebar - I loved that it used to display the file that it would play next at startup already, *before* hitting the play button. (Play Mode = Random)

I went back several versions but I don't see this feature you're describing.  At any rate, I can populate the seekbar text on startup but the titlebar doesn't get activated until a song is playing (it's always been this way, I believe).

Just populating the seekbar with that text would be great!


When I let Trout run in the background (paused, while doing other stuff) for an hour or two, and then go back to Trout to resume, Trout - unsuccessfully - tries to go through the whole playlist in a quick succession, not being able to play a single file.

I have no idea what would be causing this.  I routinely leave Trout paused for long periods of time (overnight) and have no problems resuming playback.  Are your music files on a network drive that disconnects or a USB drive that has gone into standby, perhaps?

Hmm... I have external drives that go into standby, but the files in Trout are on a local TrueCrypt volume that's always 'connected'.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2011, 02:17:50 PM by brotherS » Logged

Thank you.
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #607 on: January 13, 2011, 10:24:56 AM »

Oh, I forgot: is it possible for you to make the "Random" play mode a tiny little bit less random? So that it would not play the same file twice in a row?
Cool
Logged

Thank you.
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #608 on: January 13, 2011, 11:30:15 AM »

Oh, I forgot: is it possible for you to make the "Random" play mode a tiny little bit less random? So that it would not play the same file twice in a row?
Cool

It should already do this check.
Logged

brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #609 on: January 13, 2011, 11:45:14 AM »

Oh, I forgot: is it possible for you to make the "Random" play mode a tiny little bit less random? So that it would not play the same file twice in a row?
Cool

It should already do this check.
Well, it doesn't here.  Wink

Did the image help to make clear what I meant?
Logged

Thank you.
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #610 on: January 13, 2011, 02:12:52 PM »

Well, it doesn't here.  Wink

Ah, I see where I broke it (funny enough, adding your request: http://www.donationcoder....16157.msg228354#msg228354).  I'll endeavour to fix.

Did the image help to make clear what I meant?

Yes...but I don't see this behaviour under XP, only Win7.  I've been trying to fix it but I have no idea what is causing it since the two bars are set up with exactly the same properties.  Frustrating...
Logged

brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #611 on: January 13, 2011, 02:17:00 PM »

Well, it doesn't here.  Wink

Ah, I see where I broke it (funny enough, adding your request: http://www.donationcoder....16157.msg228354#msg228354).  I'll endeavour to fix.

Hehe... that IS funny!  cheesy


Did the image help to make clear what I meant?

Yes...but I don't see this behaviour under XP, only Win7.  I've been trying to fix it but I have no idea what is causing it since the two bars are set up with exactly the same properties.  Frustrating...

No idea... but: one of the guys in the AHK forums might be able to give you the answer quickly.

By the way, Vista here.
Logged

Thank you.
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #612 on: January 16, 2011, 03:36:31 PM »

I request a way to *not* have the track # displayed in the title bar automatically. Even though the Titlebar is just set to show "$file_n", it displays the track # *and* the file name.
Logged

Thank you.
Lesmo16
Participant
*
Posts: 20


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #613 on: January 17, 2011, 12:40:12 AM »

That isn't the track number but the position number from Trout's list.
I also would like to see only the filename in title bar.
Logged
brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #614 on: January 17, 2011, 09:34:30 AM »

When I let Trout run in the background (paused, while doing other stuff) for an hour or two, and then go back to Trout to resume, Trout - unsuccessfully - tries to go through the whole playlist in a quick succession, not being able to play a single file.

I have no idea what would be causing this.  I routinely leave Trout paused for long periods of time (overnight) and have no problems resuming playback.

I just had an idea regarding the cause of it: my weird external USB soundcard sometimes acts up, for example when some application that consumes a lot of energy is turned on somewhere in the house. I then need to manually unplug USB and plug it back in (annoying - I'll try a different way to connect it/other cables soon). Some programs 'recover' (they become able again to output sound), but others need a restart to work again. I have no idea of the code relating to this, but this might be the reason for this problem showing up here.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2011, 09:52:21 AM by brotherS » Logged

Thank you.
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #615 on: January 17, 2011, 01:11:09 PM »

Website | Installer | Portable
v1.0.5 build 19 - 2011-01-17
    * Removed the mandatory playlist position from the titlebar formatting.
      Apologies to those poorly coded Winamp plugins that rely on this.  =]
    - Regressed the change made in v1.0.5.2.  To start off with a random
      song, press the next button instead of the play button.
Logged

tDJ
Participant
*
Posts: 4


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #616 on: January 17, 2011, 02:46:29 PM »

I want to see the Composer column between the Title and Year column. Can this be made possible?
Logged
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #617 on: January 17, 2011, 10:05:36 PM »

Website | Installer | Portable
v1.0.5 build 22 - 2011-01-18
    + Added Composer column.  You will initially see it as the last column.
      Simply drag it to the position you want.  For those that don't want it,
      you can hide it via the View menu.  (Thanks, tDJ)


I haven't added a new column in a long, long, long time so please let me know if I broke anything.  Thanks.
Logged

tDJ
Participant
*
Posts: 4


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #618 on: January 17, 2011, 11:35:57 PM »

It works great. Thanks for the quick fix.  Thmbsup
Logged
tDJ
Participant
*
Posts: 4


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #619 on: January 18, 2011, 11:35:22 AM »

Would like to see another feature: open cue files.
Logged
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #620 on: January 18, 2011, 11:37:00 AM »

Would like to see another feature: open cue files.

Probably not going to happen for a long while (if ever).
Logged

tDJ
Participant
*
Posts: 4


View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #621 on: January 18, 2011, 01:01:57 PM »

Would like to see another feature: open cue files.

Probably not going to happen for a long while (if ever).
Because you don't see any reason for it, or because it's to hard to implement? It's essential to show correct track info for (ape, flac, wv etc) album files.
Logged
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #622 on: January 18, 2011, 01:19:09 PM »

Because you don't see any reason for it, or because it's to hard to implement?

Oh, I know the reasons for cue files and writing a basic parser for them isn't all that hard.  However, I don't use cue files enough to justify the development time with all the little idiosyncrasies involved with them.

It's essential to show correct track info for (ape, flac, wv etc) album files.

I don't like storing albums all in one file so, when necessary, I just use foobar or Medieval CUE Splitter to split a cue'd album into separate tracks.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 01:27:41 PM by skwire » Logged

brotherS
Master of Good Ideas
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,105


To make a difference, be different.

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #623 on: January 18, 2011, 01:23:24 PM »

Website | Installer | Portable
v1.0.5 build 19 - 2011-01-17
    - Regressed the change made in v1.0.5.2.  To start off with a random
      song, press the next button instead of the play button.

Sad
Is there another way please? The way it's done now, (as a keyboard user) I have to TAB twice to the "next" button and then TAB back twice to the "pause" button (which is the button I use most, and I like to be able to only use the space bar for the most often used function/button) just to get the standard random behavior (the player starting with a random file in random mode).

I'd even prefer the "plays the same file twice in a row" random bug over having to press the next button for a random start.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 01:26:43 PM by brotherS » Logged

Thank you.
skwire
Charter Member
***
Posts: 3,911



Another Coding Snack request? Om nom nom...

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #624 on: January 18, 2011, 01:30:25 PM »

Is there another way please? The way it's done now, (as a keyboard user) I have to TAB twice to the "next" button and then TAB back twice to the "pause" button (which is the button I use most, and I like to be able to only use the space bar for the most often used function/button) just to get the standard random behavior (the player starting with a random file in random mode).

You can set local and global hotkeys for all these actions right within Trout.  Is that a workable solution?
Logged

Pages: Prev 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 ... 34 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.051s | Server load: 0.08 ]