Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 12:50:36 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: StopKa - desktop search tool  (Read 17623 times)

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #25 on: December 29, 2008, 07:42:16 AM »
muntealb, Darwin - you both wrote what StopKa was unstable - tell me please did you use latest version - or it was first version from [December 02, 2008]?

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #26 on: December 29, 2008, 08:07:49 AM »
Dormouse, you describe several problems here - http://www.donationc...x.php?topic=2434.525
ok i'm ready to write some instructions.
Problem 1 - main menu -> Index -> New index parameters - here you can config ALL parameters which you demand
after that - press Start to create index
Problem 2 - i should describe this - StopKa has a search project abstraction - search project includes (main menu -> Project -> Settings)
a) indexes (index files with *.idx extension) - Indexes tab - for index search;
b) folders and files - Folders tab - for direct search;
c) Classes tab for files classification - for example automatic language definition - i'll describe this latter;
so for direct search you should specify at least one folder (in folder tab or directly into toolbar[search project] combobox)
when you create index - it automatically added into search project - check this;
[Standard] toolbar Find combobox - type your search phrase here and press Enter - and then press Find - may be this is not a best start for search but direct search could be a long time operation - so i can't start search if you press enter.
[Standard] toolbar, [Search & Document] panels are for relevance search;
[File filter] panel is for direct file search;
Problem 3 - the same question as for muntealb and Darwin - tell me please which version do you use?

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,983
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #27 on: December 29, 2008, 09:30:59 AM »
muntealb, Darwin - you both wrote what StopKa was unstable - tell me please did you use latest version - or it was first version from [December 02, 2008]?

Hi vitali,

I used the latest version that was available the day I made the post (in the other thread). It was the release that you announced and linked to here, on Dec.23.
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #28 on: December 29, 2008, 10:46:08 AM »
from your comment i saw StopKa runs without crashes?

Quote
I can't stress this enough: the initial setup routine MUST be made more clear. For example: on trying to setup a new index it is not clear from the dialogues whether one is being asked to define the location of the index that will be created or folders to be indexed! After trial and error I realised that it is the latter...

i'll create installer for the program - i was hurry up to announce it. And i'll make some GUI changes - to simplify it.
but, please, is a new index dialog too complex to find where to setup folders for indexing & place where index file should be created?

Quote
Once indexing has completed, nothing I search for is found!
please read my upper answer to Dormouse -
firstly check - has your search project index file which was created after indexing
secondly - press Enter in the Find combobox - and then press Find (this is obvious bug - cause i want to combine similar file search here) in standard toolbar.
Also try to use "File filter" panel search.

muntealb

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #29 on: January 02, 2009, 04:26:42 AM »
I have used the latest version available from the site on the day I have posted the message. However, I have redownloaded it today and it seems more stable. But when it indexes the disks it consumes too much processor (60-70% of a Core2Duo E8200) and RAM (500 MB from a total of 2GB).

On a different note, you must provide a help file with the program or on the site. Without it the less advanced users will have no idea how to use your software.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2009, 04:29:38 AM by muntealb »

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #30 on: January 02, 2009, 10:40:42 AM »
hi, muntealb! thank you for feadback.
there are some problems with StopKa site caching - it doesn't provide last version immediately when i upload this - i note it sometimes happens...
Quote
when it indexes the disks it consumes too much processor (60-70% of a Core2Duo E8200) and RAM (500 MB from a total of 2GB).
i try to optimize it's speed as it possible - it is still possible to make it better - but as i think now it is the best among others.
currently 500 MB - is normal and i'll think howto decrease it.
Quote
you must provide a help file with the program or on the site. Without it the less advanced users will have no idea how to use your software.
i'll make this. If you have other suggestions - please write it.

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,983
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #31 on: January 02, 2009, 12:54:04 PM »
+1 on the call for documentation!
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

Zero3K

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #32 on: January 23, 2009, 01:04:50 AM »
v1.3 is now out. It has a better layout for its GUI.

muntealb

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #33 on: January 23, 2009, 11:18:11 AM »
Actually it is worse than the previous version, from my point of view. It crashes at start, so it is unusable. I have Vista SP1 32-bit. It needs a log file that would record the crashes and the possible cause.

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #34 on: January 23, 2009, 11:22:36 AM »
I have Vista SP1 32-bit. It works fine. Several people check it for Vista - they told it works excellent.

muntealb

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #35 on: January 23, 2009, 12:29:16 PM »
However, on my system it does not want to start. See the error message below. It's in romanian, but it says :

=========
The application could not start because its configuration is not correct. Check the log file of the application for more details.
=========

http://i40.tinypic.com/9qbsrb.jpg

Later Edit: It works now, after installing the Visual C++ 2008 SP1. I think StopKa should check for that and if it is not installed to prompt the user to download and install this MS package. Otherwise those that will download the setup file from any other place than the StopKa website will not know why the software does not work. And in the Readme file it should be mentioned that Visual C++ 2008 SP1 is a requirement for StopKa.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2009, 12:39:34 PM by muntealb »

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #36 on: January 23, 2009, 12:40:35 PM »
Thank you! Thank you for screenshot - it is very useful! I have one proposition why it happens -
please for vista use a different catalog - not the "Program Files"
I hear Vista has some restrictions here.

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #37 on: January 23, 2009, 12:42:53 PM »
I have a StopKa.msi - installation program for StopKa - but I decided use a zip file for public version currently.
Installation program for StopKa - should not produce such problem for Vista and it work correct.
But I still not ready to announce it.

muntealb

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #38 on: January 23, 2009, 01:12:27 PM »
The problem was not the folder, but the absence of Visual C++ 2008 SP1 runtime on my system. Once I have installed VC++, StopKa started normally. A "Readme" file with the system requirements could be included in the zip package of the portable installation.

It now indexes my files. CPU and memory consumption are a little better (<50% CPU and <400 MB RAM) compared to the previous version.

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #39 on: January 23, 2009, 01:19:00 PM »
do you know it is possible to use StopKa without indexing? It is possible use direct search - to locate files, folders, or even NTFS streams. Also it is possible use direct search - to search in the files.
Indexing is not obligatory.

muntealb

  • Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • gravatar avatar
  • Posts: 90
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #40 on: January 23, 2009, 01:51:19 PM »
Good, because it just crashed when indexing files. I post below the error log. It seems the cause is a problem with MSVCR90.dll.

 Semnătură problemă:
  Nume eveniment problemă:   APPCRASH
  Nume aplicație:   StopKa.exe
  Versiune aplicație:   1.3.0.1
  Marcaj temporal aplicație:   4977ced9
  Nume modul defect:   MSVCR90.dll
  Versiune modul defect:   9.0.30729.1
  Marcaj temporal modul defect:   488ef6c5
  Cod excepție:   c0000005
  Deplasare excepție:   0003b690
  Versiune SO:   6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1
  ID setări regionale:   1048
  Informații suplimentare 1:   16f2
  Informații suplimentare 2:   db36711f8bcf9e817b16b0258227e081
  Informații suplimentare 3:   5b52
  Informații suplimentare 4:   61dc0fe8de7f590534fdec73593733a5

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #41 on: January 23, 2009, 02:14:56 PM »
Buffer Overrun error... It is seems that you try to index some curious files. pdf or djvu or docs - isn't it?
I should find workaround for it... log file is really necessary to improve utility. Could you please post more information here?

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #42 on: January 23, 2009, 09:46:55 PM »
There is the error with indexing in the end of indexing process. Thank you muntealb. Sorry for this bug. I'll update it ASAP.

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #43 on: January 25, 2009, 04:50:11 PM »
The bug was fixed.

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #44 on: March 23, 2009, 05:49:14 AM »
new version 1.4 is available, it is possible to search duplicates, ms IFilter support, icons, pictures preview

vitali_y

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2008
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
    • StopKa Desktop search tool
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #45 on: May 10, 2010, 09:21:39 PM »
release version 1.5_100520, no comments for now. Ready for comments, answer questions, listen your opinions and suggestions.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 34,950
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Donate to Member
Re: StopKa - desktop search tool
« Reply #46 on: May 11, 2010, 03:42:19 PM »
I like the idea of indexing being optional  :up:
I'm going to have to give this program a try.