Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site August 28, 2014, 06:12:23 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2010! Download 24 custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: pb with shortcut drag/drop to circle dock  (Read 5900 times)
tatal107
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: November 23, 2008, 02:07:57 AM »

hi

sorry for my english but i'm french smiley

i have a pb with the shortcut i drag to circle dock
when i drag a shorcut to an application into circle dock (shortcut in the desktop for exemple)
when i open circle dock and click in this shortcut in circle dock
windows ask to me, with what application i want to open this shortcut (and the path, is to open a .LNK)
?????????

it work when i drag the .exe into circle dock
but not with the shortcut of this application .LNK
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 02:34:26 AM »

Hello, what version of Circle Dock are you using? If you have a version before Alpha 8, go to http://circledock.wikidot.com and download Alpha 8.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
tatal107
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2008, 02:42:07 AM »

hi

i use 0.9.2 Alpha 8

Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2008, 12:12:15 PM »

Hmm,
I'm assuming you have Windows XP and that when you normally double-click .LNK icons in Windows, they open up programs correctly. Some people had problems with this before Alpha 8 and using non-English operating systems but with Alpha 8, people said the problem was solved. Could you right-click on one of the icons in Circle Dock that is giving you the problem and go into the "Item Settings" panel for it and provide a screenshot? That way, we can see what path Circle Dock is trying to open up. Normally, Circle Dock should be able to find the target executable for a .LNK icon and not actually open the .LNK icon itself.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
tatal107
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2008, 04:17:54 PM »

here it is
the screenshot of Circle Dock
with the property of one shorcut
the link is good (to .exe)
but when i 2x clic
i have a question with what program i want to open this adsltv.lnk

« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 06:15:52 AM by tatal107 » Logged
tatal107
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2008, 08:28:34 AM »

hi
is my problem have a solution
please

thanks a lot
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2008, 11:15:16 AM »

Hello,
Can you right-click on the icon on Circle Dock itself and select the "Item Settings" option to see what the target link Circle Dock is trying to open? When you open the "Item Settings" window, you will see the path to the file Circle Dock is trying to execute. Circle Dock automatically finds the target of .lnk shortcuts so you should see the actual target file path and not something with .lnk. Please provide a screenshot if possible.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
tatal107
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2008, 11:37:21 AM »

???

do you see my screenshot below (with the Citroen C4 car)
it is the right clic on 'ADSL TV' icon from circledock
and the path is good to .exe
but not when i click on ADSLTV on circledock
he ask to open the .LNK

is the french OS version, may be the problem ???
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2008, 08:00:53 PM »

Hello,

The panel shown in your screenshot is not from Circle Dock itself. I need to see the Item Settings panel as shown in the screenshots below:

1
2

The problem may be because of the French language of your system but I have others who use French and don't have the error.

Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
tatal107
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2008, 03:06:39 AM »

ok, sorry

here it is

i try to change langage, but anything change ...  tellme

« Last Edit: November 29, 2008, 03:17:34 AM by tatal107 » Logged
haggle69
Participant
*
Posts: 1

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2008, 05:12:28 AM »

I don't think that it's a language problem, because I have just downloaded it in English and have exactly the same problem.  My screenshots would be exactly the same as those above, and I downloaded it (twice, to make sure) from the correct source.  I am also using 0.9.2 Alpha 8.  Any other ideas?

Haggle.
Logged
VideoInPicture
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 467



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2008, 08:26:15 PM »

I will try setting up a file structure with the file path in that screenshot and see what happens. From that screenshot, it shows Circle Dock is trying to open up the .lnk file and from the results it seems that is not happening. As a work around for now, couple you manually find the real file path for that executable and replace the .lnk link with the real path? That way, Circle Dock will try to directly open up the real file. For some reason, it appears that for that file, Circle Dock could not resolve the real file path from that .lnk.
Logged

Author of Circle Dock: http://circledock.wikidot.com
Author of Video In Picture: http://videoinpicture.wikidot.com
Author of Webcam Signature: http://webcamsignature.wikidot.com
Author of Easy Unicode Paster: http://easyunicodepaster.wikidot.com
tatal107
Participant
*
Posts: 7

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2008, 12:23:50 AM »

hi

of course, when i put the real path to the .exe, it works fine





« Last Edit: December 01, 2008, 12:25:58 AM by tatal107 » Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.027s | Server load: 0 ]