Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site November 01, 2014, 01:19:45 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Learn about the DonationCoder.com microdonation system (DonationCredits).
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: error on start: "2.0 is not a valid floating point value" ?  (Read 14305 times)
manucoloma
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: November 21, 2005, 07:13:09 PM »

Hello mouser,
thank you for the program, its a great idea..
but I can´t make it work. when I start the program it shows this error:

'2.0' is not a valid floating point value

Then the program starts, but when I have selected the start frame and end frame, and press preview, the pages appear blank.

I have windows xp.
Do you know what might be the problem?

thank you!
Manu
« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 10:51:50 PM by mouser » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,614



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2005, 10:48:51 PM »

try deleting the flipbookprinter.ini file in the program directory and see if the error goes away -
or actually even better just rename it to something like flipbookprinter_old.ini so that if the error does go away you can send it to me so i can see if i can figure out what's wrong.

i will try to reproduce the error.
Logged
manucoloma
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2005, 12:39:23 AM »


Thank you
I renamed the file FlipbookPrinter.ini but the error persists

Could it be because I don´t have the printer connected right now? (It is being repaired)

here is the file anyway:

[FFM_MainForm.rsPropSaver]
acSplitterPanelMain.SplitterPos=258
CheckBoxOfferWizard.Checked="false"
ComboBoxCardStockTemplate.Text="AveryCards_8371_5x2"
ComboBoxPrinterList.ItemIndex=1
ComboBoxPrintQuality.ItemIndex=2
FormPlacement="2,3,0,769,-1,-1,232,40,1012,749"
GmPreview.Zoom=30
MemoCoverPage.Font.Charset=1
MemoCoverPage.Font.Color=-2147483640
MemoCoverPage.Font.Height=-24
MemoCoverPage.Font.Name="MS Sans Serif"
MemoCoverPage.Font.Pitch="fpDefault"
MemoCoverPage.Font.Size=18
MemoCoverPage.Font.Style="[]"
MemoEndPage.Font.Charset=1
MemoEndPage.Font.Color=-2147483640
MemoEndPage.Font.Height=-11
MemoEndPage.Font.Name="MS Sans Serif"
MemoEndPage.Font.Pitch="fpDefault"
MemoEndPage.Font.Size=8
MemoEndPage.Font.Style="[]"
OpenDialog.InitialDir=
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,614



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2005, 12:46:04 AM »

and the error occurs right at startup, before you even load any movie file, is that right?

i'll test it on a computer with no printer - i suppose it could be that but the error doesnt sound like it.

ps. if anyone else gets this error let me know.

ps2. is it an english version of windows?

ps3. another thing to try, go to the CardStockTemplates/ directory and temporarily move those files out of there, to see if its not somehow an error reading one of those files.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2005, 01:06:34 AM by mouser » Logged
manucoloma
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2005, 02:50:19 PM »

Yes, the error occurs right at startup. It is spanish Windows Xp.
I moved the CardStock Templates and the error doesn´t happen anymore :-)
but still the papers appear blank when I press preview.. It looks like its gonna be because of not having the printer connected...
thank you again.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,614



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2005, 03:02:54 PM »

im guessing the slider bars are having trouble with spanish floating point values.
do you use , for decimal point?

"2,0" instead of "2.0"

?


im afraid it might cause troubles. but maybe it just means you cant use the default label templates.. i'm not sure; after you get your printer installed give me another report. if it persists ill have to replace those components to a more international friendly thing.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,614



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2005, 03:06:40 PM »

just realized - im sure its not that you dont have a printer installed.

its that you dont have valid labels configured (because its having an error when you try to load a label).

try definiing your own label by entering some numbers into those values on the card stock labels page.
(you can open the avery .ini files in text editor to see some good values).

see if it gives you errors when trying to fill in values.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,614



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2005, 01:32:47 AM »

manucoloma ,
i've uploaded a new version which tries to fix this problem and may be able to read the card stock templates again; please try it and let me know.
Logged
manucoloma
Participant
*
Posts: 4

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2005, 10:48:06 AM »

Hi.
With the new version everything goes smooth in the spanish windows.
Well done!  Thmbsup
Thank you.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 33,614



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2005, 11:58:51 AM »

yay!
thanks very much for the report manucoloma.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.027s | Server load: 0.04 ]