Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 08:18:06 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Add a computer to a cable  (Read 3808 times)

zridling

  • Friend of the Site
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,292
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Add a computer to a cable
« on: November 13, 2008, 10:31:37 AM »
One more reason I'm having a blast with Linux. (I will get one of these next year.)[via Glyn Moody]:
Here's a GNU/Linux-based computer the size of an RJ-45 jack:

digi_connectme9210.jpg

Specs listed for the Digi Connect ME 9210 are said to include:
* Processor -- 32-bit Digi NS9210 75MHz (ARM926EJ-S)
* Security -- On-chip 256-bit AES accelerator
* Memory -- 8MB SDRAM
* Flash -- 4MB or 8MB of NOR flash
* Networking -- 1 x 10/100 Ethernet
* Expansion -- Flexible Interface Modules (FIM) with 300MHz DRPIC165X CPU
* Interfaces:
ooo High-speed TTL serial
ooo Serial Peripheral Interface (SPI)
ooo I(2)C v1.0 bus with 7- and 10-bit address modes
ooo 10 x shared GPIO ports with up to 3 external IRQ options
* Power management -- modes for on-the-fly clock scaling, low power sleep, and configurable scaling/wake-up events (EIRQ, UART, Ethernet, etc.)
* Other features -- software watchdog
* Operating temperature -- -40 to 176 deg. F (-40 to 80 deg. C)
* Power -- 3.3VDC @ 346 mA; 1.14 W typical consumption
* Operating systems -- Digi Embedded Linux; NET+OS (ThreadX-based

Don't miss the pix -- they are almost literally incredible. (via Wind River blog.)

40hz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11,768
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Add a computer to a cable
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 01:04:22 PM »

gollum.jpg

We wants it we doess! Gives it to usss!
 :-* :-* :-*

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Add a computer to a cable
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 06:14:13 PM »
Cute - make one with two NICs, and it could be pretty cute for setting up your own home router with VPN support :) (I do wonder how much CPU grunt is necessary to handle 20mbit/sec of traffic, if you're also doing firewalling etc, though?)
- carpe noctem

zridling

  • Friend of the Site
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 3,292
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Add a computer to a cable
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2008, 09:06:51 PM »
I'm not sure, f0dder, but that's a good question.

40hz

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 11,768
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Add a computer to a cable
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2008, 09:38:50 PM »
A little more RAM would be nice too. I wonder how much of it is user space?