Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 15, 2014, 11:15:40 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the Practical Guide to DonationCoder.com Forum Search Features
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: JustToDoIt - Fast ToDo lister  (Read 16284 times)
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: November 05, 2008, 08:33:24 AM »

I've always been looking for a better todo list manager and while I was working on Axem I realised the interface was very suitable for a todo list app.

so here's JustToDoIt: A fast todo lister for my own use that you might enjoy smiley
 * it creates two text files, Activetasks.txt and completedtasks.txt, each file has a list of tasks, one task per line (so should work well with your own programs)
 * you can check tasks to complete them and remove them from the list
 * no need to save

Download Latest Version



« Last Edit: March 05, 2009, 10:31:55 AM by justice » Logged

tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,049



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2008, 08:57:45 AM »

sounds + looks great.
 
... off to write a list
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,049



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 04:58:14 AM »

I like this a lot Justice
I can add an (e.g. daily) list to the text file from another app and just reload

Would it be easy to change it to one click on the tray icon to restore the window ? (I always think the tray icons should only need one click, like the Quick Launch icons)
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,049



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2008, 05:47:51 AM »

ooups

the Ctrl+R shortcut is a universal hotkey - great in the sense it also restores the window when closed ([edit] which sort of makes the single click request above irrelevant) but not so good that's it's stolen the key combo from my main work programme!

I was using the exe but searched the AHK file for Ctrl - this was the only line I found
[copy or print]
Menu, ViewMenu, Add, &Reload   `tCtrl+R, ButtonRescan

tried changing that Ctrl to Shift without success

was thinking Shift+R - is easy to type and not used else where - I think not at any rate ...
« Last Edit: November 06, 2008, 05:52:07 AM by tomos » Logged

Tom
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2008, 05:50:18 AM »

np give me a minute, i'll change it to F5 and only when the window is active, that should sort it.
Logged

tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,049



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2008, 05:52:45 AM »

np give me a minute, i'll change it to F5 and only when the window is active, that should sort it.

it is nice though having a hotkey to restore from tray undecided 

EDIT/ but maybe easier to do as you suggest
Logged

Tom
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2008, 04:56:35 AM »

Forgot to let you know Wink

Revision: 39
Date: 13:52:52, 06 November 2008
Message:
* Refresh the screen by pressing F5 instead of Ctrl-r (only works when window is open0
* added global hotkey Ctrl-Shift-J
* improved resizing
* smaller window
* report -> list listview mode

See what you think tomos smiley I was thinking of some kind of live filtering when entering tasks so you could quickly find tasks in a big list, and possibly have tasks belong to a project, but I quite like the simpleness too.
Logged

tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,049



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2008, 05:55:29 AM »

Great stuff !

I had been considering asking you about the sort and would have missed a hotkey to restore window so I'm very happy with the update :-)

I'm not making huge lists in it - I had the idea of having two panes with two different lists (or even to show the "Done" list) but agree with you that the simpleness is nice (and clean)

Actually the two pane idea would be nice from the "do it Today" "do it Tomorrow (or after)" lists perspective
With drap and drop for tasks but maybe I'm just getting carried away Wink
Logged

Tom
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2008, 08:05:28 AM »

Revision: 42
Date: 14:02:30, 12 November 2008
Message:
* improved hotkey implementation

I'm thinking about how to show multiple lists too or some way of being able to seperate multiple projects. Maybe it could recognise <project>: task formatted tasks and generate tabs or a menu of some kind, keeping the speedy input/overviews.

project a: example task
project b: some other task

this could result in a tasklist per project.
Logged

justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2008, 04:04:56 AM »

Another update, I'm using it quite a lot.

Version 1.00
Date: 10:01:51, 17 November 2008
Message:
* Improved handling of completed tasks, tasks get checked
* added icon
Logged

tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,049



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2008, 08:47:21 AM »

Another update, I'm using it quite a lot.

I'm glad! I'm using it every day
Like the icon too  smiley

what do you mean by
> * Improved handling of completed tasks, tasks get checked -
I dont see any difference here but then I have no problem with "handling of completed tasks"


This happen occasionally:-
  • Currently if theres too many items for the window to show it forms a double column list, but, if the text of an item in the left column is too long it gets cut off because she scollthingy at the bottom show one column or the other but doesnt actually allow you to view any text that goes off the window edge.
  • Obviously I can make the window wider or
  • could you get the text to wrap in the window at a certain width? or
  • get the scroll to show all text before going to next column.

Hope that all makes sense!
Logged

Tom
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2008, 03:40:22 AM »

Before when you double clicked a task it would immediately disappear, but now you see it getting checked before disappearing so the experience is a completion instead of a removal. Wink Ah I'll look into long tasks issues thanks for the report smiley Great to hear you find it useful.
Logged

justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2008, 09:32:17 AM »

This version should work around the problem you are having tomos.

Version 1.1
Date: 15:26:24, 26 November 2008
Message:
* new feature: Live taskfilter when entering tasks, you can use the 'add task' box to filter tasks as you type. for example add projects, priorities to tasks and afterwards filter for them.
* Escape hotkey to empty 'add tasks' box
* Added switching between view modes from View menu:
    - default is now Report view - 1 column view that shows the whole task but not horizontally efficient
    - alternative is the list view from recent releases - multi column view where tasks may not be completely visible but space efficient
* performance optimizations




« Last Edit: November 26, 2008, 09:37:23 AM by justice » Logged

mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,643



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2008, 09:45:54 AM »

very nice  thumbs up thumbs up
Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2008, 10:45:27 AM »

I might sometime convert you as a third user Mouser Wink
Logged

Trelligan
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2008, 05:20:35 PM »

Excellent little utility, just what I need to get my procrastination down to where I don't trip over it all the time.
Logged
Dormouse
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 982

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: December 20, 2008, 07:32:00 PM »

I'm thinking about how to show multiple lists too or some way of being able to seperate multiple projects. Maybe it could recognise <project>: task formatted tasks and generate tabs or a menu of some kind, keeping the speedy input/overviews.

project a: example task
project b: some other task

this could result in a tasklist per project.

Isn't this what we have, more or less. Multiple instances give multiple lists.

Simplicity is good, portability is good.
Showing more than one list at a time would also be good (ie potential for multiple panes); also potential to set background color for each list (so I know immediately which list is which).

I find multiple lists easier than setting projects.
Phone calls to make;
things I've just thought I must do in a minute;
letters to write;
etc
Anything complex and I would use a much more complex program, but I don't want a much more complex program for very simple things I expect to do very soon.

This can also be used as a simple checkbox template; one instance per task; at end, save completed tasks under the task name.

Also a very quick way of making a test list into a checkbox list.
Logged
Dormouse
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 982

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #17 on: December 20, 2008, 08:58:04 PM »

Also seems to me that putting items straight into the text file (either writing or cutting/pasting - especially from a clipboard manager) is the fastest way of doing this in bulk.
This is a major improvement over the tedious large boxes that need completion in most todo apps.
Logged
Dormouse
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 982

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #18 on: December 21, 2008, 04:55:19 AM »

Would also be cool if there were options for the CompletedTasks:-
  • them all to have a time/date stamp when completed
  • for them to be struck through when completed (makes it more obvious that it is the completed list being looked at, but possibly less easy to read)
Logged
justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #19 on: December 22, 2008, 04:12:29 AM »

Thanks for your comments Dormouse will be looked at in time for an update in the new year!
Logged

jabyrdtx
Participant
*
Posts: 2


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #20 on: December 27, 2008, 02:08:18 PM »

A-SQUARED Anti-Malware by EMSI Software detected a Trojan in this programs downloaded file - JustTodoIt.exe.  The specific Trojan identified was "Trojan-Spy.Win32.Agent.bqt'IK" listed as high risk.  This is just FYI for those who are interested.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,643



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #21 on: December 27, 2008, 02:12:07 PM »

Thanks for the info jabyrdtx -- it's no doubt another damn false positive alarm on programs made with autohotkey/autoit. 
See here for more info: http://www.donationcoder....m/index.php?topic=16057.0
I seethe with anger at these antivirus companies which are so damn lazy and incompetent that they keep doing this.
Logged
app103
That scary taskbar girl
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 5,017



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #22 on: December 27, 2008, 02:25:00 PM »

A-SQUARED Anti-Malware by EMSI Software detected a Trojan in this programs downloaded file - JustTodoIt.exe.  The specific Trojan identified was "Trojan-Spy.Win32.Agent.bqt'IK" listed as high risk.  This is just FYI for those who are interested.

Hi jabyrdtx...welcome to DonationCoder!

I understand your concern, and under normal circumstances you would be very right to be concerned. But this application was written in the AutoHotKey scripting language, which has been unfairly targeted by antivirus companies as trojans.

Just as mouser has said, it's a typical false positive. After reading the links he has provided, you might want to read my article about what is going on and why:  http://cranialsoup.blogspot.com/2008/12/autohotkey-is-not-virus-worm-or-trojan.html

If you are still unsure, you might want to delete the .exe file and use just the .ahk source instead, and install Autohotkey and run the source script by double clicking it. I am pretty sure if you scan that .ahk file , that it won't result in your antivirus calling it a trojan.

And you can open the .ahk file in notepad and see the actual code it contains, too. There is nothing hiding. Everything is in plain sight.
Logged

justice
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,885



Solve issues simply.

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #23 on: December 27, 2008, 05:06:13 PM »

The zip file includes the source, if you download the opensource AutoHotkey then you right click on the .ahk file and make your own .exe file.

Quote
Scan taken on 27 Dec 2008 23:06:51 (GMT)
A-Squared    
Found Trojan-Spy.Win32.Agent.bqt!IK
AntiVir    
Found nothing
ArcaVir    
Found Trojan.Agent.Aehd
Avast    
Found nothing
AVG Antivirus    
Found nothing
BitDefender    
Found nothing
ClamAV    
Found nothing
CPsecure    
Found Troj.Spy.W32.Agent.btl
Dr.Web    
Found nothing
F-Prot Antivirus    
Found nothing
F-Secure Anti-Virus    
Found nothing
G DATA    
Found nothing
Ikarus    
Found Trojan-Spy.Win32.Agent.bqt
Kaspersky Anti-Virus    
Found nothing
NOD32    
Found nothing
Norman Virus Control    
Found nothing
Panda Antivirus    
Found nothing
Sophos Antivirus    
Found nothing
VirusBuster    
Found nothing
VBA32    
Found nothing
« Last Edit: December 27, 2008, 05:41:06 PM by justice » Logged

Ryan_S
Participant
*
Posts: 6


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #24 on: January 17, 2009, 10:15:48 AM »

This script is doing what Axem used to do where it adds a separator after the 'Refresh' menu item every time it is opened. How did you fix it in Axem?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.055s | Server load: 0.06 ]