Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 03:42:00 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Just INstalled New Version. Doesn't Work!!!  (Read 3090 times)

bobholm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • DRACO DORMIENS NUNQUAM TITILLANDUS
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Just INstalled New Version. Doesn't Work!!!
« on: September 23, 2008, 08:23:03 PM »
I type in something like ICQ, it finds several things, I hit F1 for first item, FARR closes and starts nothing.

I type in ICQ, it finds several things, I hit Alt-1 (at top of notebook keyboard) for first item, FARR closes and starts nothing.

Yes, I did set FARR to use digit keys and not numpad.

How do I get this thing to work???
Have a great day!

Bob Holmstrom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Just INstalled New Version. Doesn't Work!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 08:28:24 PM »
try changing the launch mode as described on this thread:
http://www.donationc...ex.php?topic=13779.0

(let me know which method works for you!)

bobholm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • DRACO DORMIENS NUNQUAM TITILLANDUS
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Just INstalled New Version. Doesn't Work!!!
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 08:54:39 PM »
Hey, thanks, Mouser!

It turns out I was using the old launch method but somehow 'Always launch shortcuts directly instead of resolving links' got checked. I unchecked that, and FARR works quite nicely. Only problem is I can't remember the names of things very well -- I need a menu of things to pick from! So FARR is only useful for programs I use often that I know the names of quite well. For most of my stuff, I have to go hunt through the start menu to find the name. And how do I add my WORK folder to the folders searched through? And Sounds? And Graphics? These are not in Billy Gates's My Documents at all but on other HDDs. Not enough room on internal HDD for everything. :D
Have a great day!

Bob Holmstrom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Just INstalled New Version. Doesn't Work!!!
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2008, 10:06:41 PM »
you can add more folders to the list of directories searched.

as for your dilemna -- that's why many of us use both a keyboard launcher like farr, and a launchbar program (like Launchbar Commander).

bobholm

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • DRACO DORMIENS NUNQUAM TITILLANDUS
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Just INstalled New Version. Doesn't Work!!!
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2008, 10:54:18 PM »
Hey, Mouser!

I can't find any way to add folders to the searched folders list. What's the trick?
Have a great day!

Bob Holmstrom

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,405
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Just INstalled New Version. Doesn't Work!!!
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2008, 10:57:41 PM »
right click in list.