Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 31, 2014, 02:02:17 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2013! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: IDEA: Move Maximized Window to Other Dual Screen Monitor (Again Maximized)  (Read 11305 times)
Christian.Eitner
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 26


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« on: September 23, 2008, 11:21:31 AM »

Hi,

The task at hand to be solved is rather straightforward:

- I have a dual monitor system (laptop with external monitor as primary screen). The screen sizes are different.
- I have a window on one of the screens.
- I want to have the window maximized on the other screen.

Even though this sounds simple enough, I have often longed for an automated tool to do this. Especially if the window is maximized on the first screen, you have to un-maximize (i.e., restore) it, drag it to the other screen and then maximize it again. Those precious seconds that interrupt the workflow... :-)

I reckon that it might be nontrivial to figure out into which direction/to which coordinates to move the window before maximizing it again.

The user interface to this tool should be a (probably customizable) keyboard shortcut which applied the method to the currently active window.

Cheers,

Christian
Logged
Codebyte
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 160



"Premature Optimization is the root of all evil."

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2008, 11:52:29 AM »

While I cannot post a solution immediately, I am looking into this as I would be interested on coding something for you. I am going to speak with a few other DC members in the IRC channel after class as to what the best way to go about this would be. If anyone else can provide something that does the task better, please do... I'll keep you updated to my status on this prooject in the time coming.
Logged

CodeByter.com - http://www.codebyter.com
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2008, 11:57:32 AM »

Well, there's quite a few options for this task. Here's 2 that come to mind: UltraMon and my own GridMove.
Ultramon adds a button to send window to the other screen, and GridMove allows you to move the window more easily.
Doing exactly what you mentioned wouldn't be very hard, just check these and if none fit you, say something Wink
Logged

kreatorr
Participant
*
Posts: 15

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2008, 09:39:37 PM »

similarly, the Windowpad (search around these forums) autohotkey-based program allows you to press Appkey-Spacebar to move your maximized window from one monitor to another.
Logged
Christian.Eitner
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 26


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2008, 12:32:14 AM »

similarly, the Windowpad (search around these forums) autohotkey-based program allows you to press Appkey-Spacebar to move your maximized window from one monitor to another.

Windowpad is _exactly_ my cup of tea :-)

Thanks a lot!

Christian
Logged
Codebyte
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 160



"Premature Optimization is the root of all evil."

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2008, 01:23:21 AM »

I see how this is!!!?!

lol, kidding... I really am gonna get to learning this smiley
Logged

CodeByter.com - http://www.codebyter.com
jgpaiva
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 4,711



Artificial Idiocy

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2008, 03:30:12 AM »

Also, here's the link for windowpad.
Logged

Kamel
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 138


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2008, 01:47:13 PM »

i tried windowpad (it actually isn't from these forums http://www.autohotkey.com/forum/topic21703.html) and it did not do what i was hoping for.

i don't know if this is just a problem with me and my setup in particular or what, but while it's pretty decent (i prefer it to grid, actually), it doesn't do what the original person was asking. i'd really like to do that as well. a lot of multi-monitor programs don't work for me, this could be the same problem. the reason is, my "monitor 1" is on the right side, while my "monitor 2" is on the left side, even though i have it configured as "monitor 2" as my primary and windows understands it perfectly well.
Logged

I'm the guy you yell at when your DSL goes down...
OGroeger
Charter Member
***
Posts: 76


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2008, 11:52:22 PM »

If you like i can send you a program that i once wrote for me. Though it requires .Net 2.0.
Logged
Deozaan
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,438



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2008, 03:30:15 PM »

UltraMon works wonders for this. Any window (as long as it doesn't have custom skinning) will get an extra button to make it move to the exact same coordinates on the opposite monitor. So if it is maximized it will be maximized on the other monitor. If it's in the bottom right corner, that's where it will go on the other monitor.

UltraMon is a must-have for dual monitor setups. I especially like the ability to have a task bar on the second monitor set up so that each monitor's task bar shows only the applications that are displayed on their respective monitor. It's great for multitasking with several applications open without cluttering the task bar with tiny selection boxes or when XP stacks multiple instances of the same application.
Logged

skrommel
Fastest code in the west
Developer
***
Posts: 882



View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2008, 06:15:08 PM »

 smiley How about MaxMove?

Press F1 repeatedly to move a window to the next monitor.

Features:
- Moves maximized or restored windows to the same relative position on the other monitor
- Resizes resizable windows to the same relative size on the other monitor

Skrommel

[copy or print]
;MaxMove.ahk
; Press a hotkey repeatedly to move a window to the next monitor
;Skrommel @ 2008

#SingleInstance,Force
#NoEnv
SetWinDelay,0

movekey=F1
Hotkey,%movekey%,MOVE
Return


MOVE:
  active:=WinExist("A")
  SysGet,monitors,MonitorCount
  Loop,% monitors
    SysGet,monitor%A_Index%,Monitor,%A_index%

  WinGet,minmax,MinMax,ahk_id %active%
  If minmax=1
    WinRestore,ahk_id %active%
  WinGetPos,resx,resy,resw,resh,ahk_id %active%
  Loop,% monitors
  {
    current:=A_Index
    If (resx+resw/2<monitor%current%Left Or resx+resw/2>monitor%current%Right)
      Continue
    If (resy+resh/2<monitor%current%Top Or resy+resh/2>monitor%current%Bottom)
      Continue
    next:=current+1
    If (next>monitors)
      next:=1
    WinGet,style,Style,ahk_id %active%
    If (style & 0x40000)  ; WS_SIZEBOX=0x40000
      WinMove,ahk_id %active%,,% monitor%next%Left+(resx-monitor%current%Left)/(monitor%current%Right-monitor%current%Left)*(monitor%next%Right-monitor%next%Left),% monitor%next%Top+(resy-monitor%current%Top)/(monitor%current%Bottom-monitor%current%Top)*(monitor%next%Bottom-monitor%next%Top),% resw/(monitor%current%Right-monitor%current%Left)*(monitor%next%Right-monitor%next%Left),% resh/(monitor%current%Bottom-monitor%current%Top)*(monitor%next%Bottom-monitor%next%Top)
    Else     
      WinMove,ahk_id %active%,,% monitor%next%Left+(resx-monitor%current%Left)/(monitor%current%Right-monitor%current%Left)*(monitor%next%Right-monitor%next%Left),% monitor%next%Top+(resy-monitor%current%Top)/(monitor%current%Bottom-monitor%current%Top)*(monitor%next%Bottom-monitor%next%Top)
    If minmax=1
      WinMaximize,ahk_id %active%
    Break
  }
Return
« Last Edit: October 23, 2008, 06:20:38 PM by skrommel » Logged

Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.
Kamel
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 138


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2008, 02:08:47 AM »

Perfect, thank you so much Skrommel. I do use ultramon and love it btw, but nearly half of the windows I use have a custom right click menu so they cannot be moved to the other monitor via ultramon. The button also does not show up because it conflicts with a program I love even more than ultramon; filebox extender.

Thanks again for the script. Not only does it do exactly what I want hassle free with 1 single button, but it seems to override F1 being the "help" key, what a pleasant surprise! Who the heck ever thought about making F1 a help shortcut anyway? o_O
Logged

I'm the guy you yell at when your DSL goes down...
VzTa
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2008, 02:28:45 AM »

Read this article Thmbsup
Logged
Darwin
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,979



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2008, 05:04:00 PM »

An issue I have (caveat - haven't tried any of the solutions posted here) is that I have a 19" widescreen LCD external monitor attached to notebook with a 15.4" monitor. If I maximize my webbrowser on the external monitor it extends into my notebook monitor. I suspect that this is an issue with the browser (Maxthon 2) as the other software that I have tried maximize just fine on either monitor.

VzTa - I posted a link to the same article in a different thread earlier today: http://www.donationcoder....15688.msg137790#msg137790. Are you affiliated with Actual Tools?
Logged

"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin
bedfordn
Participant
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2009, 09:40:38 AM »

Just wanted to add a couple extra thoughts:

UltraMon ($40) also lets you drag a maximized window from one monitor to another, and the window will be appropriately maximized after the drag.  Very nice.  If you wanted to be able to do the same thing via the keyboard, WindowPad seems to be the way to go.

MultiMon (free or $28 for pro) lets you use CTRL+ALT+Arrow Keys to move a maximized window to another screen.

GridMove (donationcoder special) lets you segment your screens into grids that you can drag a window to, and that window will be resized to fill the grid box.  This can be set up to almost emulate the UltraMon drag-to-move feature.  Since it's open source, it would probably be easy to modify so it actually moves the maximized windows like UltraMon.

There are some good options out there!
Logged
Darwin
Charter Member
***
Posts: 6,979



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2009, 10:55:19 AM »

Update: I wound up purhcasing UltraMon a few months ago AND switched to Firefox 3. Life is good...  Thmbsup
Logged

"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin
yksyks
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 474


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2009, 11:10:15 AM »

So far nobody mentioned WinSplit Revolution. Works perfect and it's free. A must for keyboard maniacs like me.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.042s | Server load: 0.28 ]